OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Comparison R1.1.0r121 Vs Beta4, Improvements and bugs
Sorearse
post Nov 5 2006, 05:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 05
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 6,496



Hi All,

Since upgrading to r121, I would like to summarise what has improved since beta4 (for me), and any outstanding issues....

I hope this post will be useful reference point for those deciding whether to upgrade to r121

Improvements...
1. The "double tap" issue that required a second screen tap, or key press on beta 4 in order to be recognised has been fixed in r121.
2. Auto recognition and config of Ambicom wifi card
3. Seems faster, but this may be my imagination !
4. When suspend and resume works (see below), wifi connection is re-established upon resume.
5. When exiting X, now I can key "a" without having to hold "Fn"

Issues
1. APM - suspend/resume works intermittently.
On my C760 (Husky), apm almost always refuses to suspend correctly, leaving just a flashing white cursor in the top left of the otherwise black screen. After this, the only way to bring the system back to life is by pulling out the power and battery and rebooting. I say almost always, because very occasionally it works perfectly. Could this be related to the amount of charge in the battery ? Or the flashed AD value for battery charge (currently 220).
I noticed that if the last output line after booting is
CODE
Starting switchevd     [OK]
/usr/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1236 - No soundcards found...
pdaXrom 1.1.0r121 "Kathrin"
zaurus login:

then APM fails to suspend. On the rare occasions when I can suspend, the boot messages have no errors relating to sound cards. It seems as if there is something not loading correctly which prevents alsa and apm working.
Another observation is that if I boot to the emergency system, then I can reliably suspend and resume every time - this suggests no hardware issue.

This is the most major issue I have with r121 - any help would be very welcome !

2. wpa_supplicant script [solved - as below]. Anyone trying to connect to WPA access points will need this.
Line 26 of /etc/rc.d/init.d/wpa_supplicant file. There is a double hyphen -- in the middle of the line that calls wpa_supplicant in daemon mode. This causes the wpa_supplicant not to load. Remove the -- and add the appropriate options at the top of the file, depending upon your driver. Then it works well. In my case, I added
CODE
OPTIONS="-iwlan0 -Dwext"



3. Want to bring up network at boot, then set date/time
[OK - not really an issue, more of a request tongue.gif ]
Installed ntp and ntpdate, which gets called during the init scripts, but this is before the network is started. Want to be able to bring up network (and wpa_supplicant) first, then start the ntp daemon.

4. JFFS2 Errors
When booting, the following message occurs...
CODE
JFFS2 notice: (1) check_node_data: wrong data CRC in data node at 0x062b1000: read 0x82f7b3cf, calculated 0x3c09ce76
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended

Is this anything to worry about ? I ran e2fsck on /dev/mmcblk0p1, and fixed some errors, but the errors above still occur. How can I fix this ?

5. X-Term font issue
When using xterm, each character output is followed by a square. I use rxvt instead.

6. Distorted Text at prompt after exiting X
After exiting X, once the cursor is at the bottom of the screen, the screen output doesn't properly scroll up as desired. Remnants of text from previous lines remain.

7. Keyboard mapping [Fixed in this forum]
Certain keys, like Fn for Right Click, don't work "out of the box". Fn +1, Fn+2 (Zoom in and out), and Fn+3 and Fn+4 are not working, but can be fixed - search the forum.

That's all for now. Please add any other comments.
All of the above are observations on the C760.


Regards

Sorearse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Nov 6 2006, 10:01 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



since you mention improvements in this rc, maybe you could fill me in on a few nagging questiosn?

How is video playback? will mplayer do ok with qvga?

Audio playback?

any impovements in hd swap performance over the 2.4 based system? ( I realize beta4 was 2.6 based, just curious)

are there working gui config scripts? The old network config suited me quite well--same with usb, I'd hate to give 'em up

native compiling, as well as a working bild system (apparently the build system works, judging from other posts today)?

Can ya play quake? I almost never actually do, yet somehow it seems important...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Civil
post Nov 6 2006, 12:07 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 22-August 05
From: Moscow, Russia.
Member No.: 7,924



QUOTE
How is video playback? will mplayer do ok with qvga?

I've got around 2fps under both beta 4 and r121 (beta 5)

QUOTE
native compiling, as well as a working bild system (apparently the build system works, judging from other posts today)

Working, but zgcc-3.4.6 has so crapy structure (as always), thats why most programs can't find some headers (but they are in zgcc)

QUOTE
Can ya play quake? I almost never actually do, yet somehow it seems important...

Q1 and Q2 almost same performance as in b3. (I think they didn't use bvdd or it doesn't give noticable gameplay improvement)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sorearse
post Nov 9 2006, 04:44 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 05
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE(adf @ Nov 7 2006, 03:01 AM)
since you mention improvements in this rc, maybe you could fill me in on a few nagging questiosn?

How is video playback?  will mplayer do ok with qvga?

Audio playback?

any impovements in hd swap performance over the 2.4 based system? ( I realize beta4 was 2.6 based, just curious)

are there working gui config scripts?  The old network config suited me quite well--same with usb, I'd hate to give 'em up

native compiling, as well as a working bild system (apparently the build system works, judging from other posts today)?

Can ya play quake?  I almost never actually do, yet somehow it seems important...
*


Sorry - haven't tried any of these things yet, mainly because of the apm suspend issue - once it goes to sleep, it needs a battery pull to reboot. I'm still having issues with charging. My 760 loses charge very quickly - so in order to do anything useful it has to be connected to mains pretty much all the time. Due to a dodgy connection of the power supply to the board, the cable has to be positioned "just right" in order just to get it charging and switched on. Any slight movement when the charge is low causes a restart. I need to get the soldering iron and perform repair works again (third time this problem occured).

The alsactl issue at boot prevents me from starting alsamixer, with a device not found error. This worked with beta4.

Will report back once the repair is done.

Sorearse.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sorearse
post Nov 28 2006, 02:18 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 05
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE
Will report back once the repair is done.
*


Soldering job done, fixed charging and battery issue !

1. APM - suspend/resume works intermittently
APM is still intermittent, and rarely works (e.g. one in 20-30 times). After receiving the alsactl error mentioned above, I figured out that if I unload the module snd_soc_corgi, then I am able to suspend and resume without issue. It seems as if this module, or one of its dependencies, was somehow preventing the Z760 from suspending. Now the sound issue remains - which leads me to think that I have an intermittent hardware issue. Perhaps my soldering job blew something on the board unsure.gif

2. No soundcards found
I will attempt to downgrade in order to test whether the sound issue is hardware related - and report back progress. Before I do so, does anyone else with a 760 have sound working on r121 ?

Sorearse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iczer3
post Nov 28 2006, 07:49 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,059



Dear Sorearse,

I have a c860. I also have APM problem.
However, my problem is slightly different.
The problem I have is that battery level is reported wrong.
I always have less than 10% charge.
Sometimes, the charge is reported correctly. If I suspend at that
time the machine can suspend.

BR,

Felix.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sorearse
post Dec 3 2006, 08:43 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-February 05
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 6,496



QUOTE(Sorearse @ Nov 29 2006, 07:18 AM)
I will attempt to downgrade in order to test whether the sound issue is hardware related - and report back progress.

My 256MB SD card is also playing up so I haven't been able to revert to the SHARP Japanese rom. Instead I tried the various sound buzzer checks in the D+M menu, but the Z crashes at each test. I am now certain that my sound issues (and the related apm issue) are related to a hardware problem. I will return my unit to Sharp for repair. It has now also become impossible to charge the battery, so this is in need of repair too. Hopefully I'll get it back in time for the next upgrade !

Sorearse
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 08:18 AM