OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Flashing 5500 First Time
PrOtOn
post May 22 2005, 07:43 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



Ok I followed the instructions right, the lights were fine but for about 3 min or less(when I started worrying). Then I did a full reset again and when I press the ON/OFF button I get stuck with the SHARP screen and my zaurus turns off after a couple of min in that screen.

Any help would be really appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post May 22 2005, 11:35 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(PrOtOn @ May 23 2005, 01:43 PM)
Ok I followed the instructions right, the lights were fine but for about 3 min or less(when I started worrying). Then I did a full reset again and when I press the ON/OFF button I get stuck with the SHARP screen and my zaurus turns off after a couple of min in that screen.

Any help would be really appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
*


Make sure you are flashing with the correct image. There are 5000d models and 5500 models and the rom images are easy to get confused. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 23 2005, 05:24 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



I'm pretty sure I got the right ones, but I will download them again just for sake.
I can't do it right now because I don't have a card reader. Hopefully by the end of this week they should shipped it already.
Thanks brow.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post May 23 2005, 08:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



Also you should check the MD5Sum of the ROM image. My first flash went wrong so I downloaded the ROM again and hey presto all started working. Also If you are using WinDoze with your CF card dont forget to eject before you remove the card after writing the image to it otherwise you may have a corrupt CF card and only part of the image file on the card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
V-Man
post May 24 2005, 03:30 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Edmond, OK
Member No.: 21



Keep us posted on your Z adventures. I have a very similiar setup to you, so I will help with whatever you need. Just email or pm me if you need anything. It may take a day or two before I get back to you (work keeps interfering with stuff I really want to do cool.gif )

I am using the stock Sharp ROM. I also have an iPaq (HP2210) so can compare them if you want. Another item I have found to be extremely useful is an external keyboard. I got a pockettop one. I think there are better ones out there now, but back in the dark ages, it was the only one available.

Just another suggestion, add a signature to your posts detailing your hardware/ROM/software setup. It really helps when asking specific questions so you don't have to remember to list all the particulars each time you need help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 24 2005, 12:32 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



Thanks V-Man, however I'm still not able to flash my zaurus.
I will make a signature as soon as I get this working.

I redownloaded the Opie initrd and ZImage 64-0. I put them both on my CF card renamed and followed the installation instructions. I keep getting that Sharp screen with a blank cursor flashing at the lower right corner, then the zaurus turns off.

When I check the MD5, the Opie file says it's empty and the ZImage says there is an error. However if I try to generate a MD5, then ZImage matches with the MD5 on openzaurus page, but not Opie file.

So, I don't know what is going on neither how to fix this.
I will try with GPE just for the sake.

By the way, I'm flashing with OZ 3.5.3

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Teletubbie
post May 24 2005, 12:54 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 252
Joined: 25-April 04
Member No.: 3,006



QUOTE(PrOtOn @ May 24 2005, 09:32 PM)
I keep getting that Sharp screen with a blank cursor flashing at the lower right corner, then the zaurus turns off.
*

This means that the kernel did'nt flashed correctly.
Cheers,
Sam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 24 2005, 03:28 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



Ok, everytime I read the installation instructions, I get something new to do it.
Should I remove the CF card after the green and yellow lights turn off or not?
And when I press C+D+Reset Button(back) should the lights go on, or only when I release the Keys combo?

Thanks again....so frustrating...I know I'm not stupid... that is why.

UPDATE: Definately the lights only go on after I release the key combo, when I'm pressing the keys combo nothing happens... only after.
UPDATE: I found out that my CF card if formatted as FAT, and through windows, I can only format to either FAT or FAT32.
I guess that is my problem, because I need my CF card formatted as FAT16, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 25 2005, 06:32 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



I just boot my Linux CD and checked the format of my CF card... and it's FAT16, so the problem is not the format.
How do I check the MD5 of the file? I have a program, but I think it's not doing right.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
berkenb
post May 25 2005, 07:21 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 5-May 04
Member No.: 3,154



Maybe you already checked this, but it sometimes Windows adds the extension ".bin" to binary files without telling you. Make sure that the kernel is named "zimage", not "zimage.bin"...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 25 2005, 07:24 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



And the initdr the same way. Yes I checked that. When I open my CF card I only see "initdr" and "zImage" no extensions added to them.
I just redownload the files and re-flashed my Zaurus. The lights remain on for about 2min and 10 sec. After that I take the CF card out of my Zaurus, press the reset button, slide the normal operation button and turn my Zaurus on. And I still get the Sharp screen with a blank cursor on the lower right side, then the Zaurus turns off.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jcroto1
post May 25 2005, 07:49 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



QUOTE(PrOtOn @ May 25 2005, 11:24 PM)
And the initdr the same way. Yes I checked that. When I open my CF card I only see "initdr" and "zImage" no extensions added to them.
I just redownload the files and re-flashed my Zaurus. The lights remain on for about 2min and 10 sec. After that I take the CF card out of my Zaurus, press the reset button, slide the normal operation button and turn my Zaurus on. And I still get the Sharp screen with a blank cursor on the lower right side, then the Zaurus turns off.
*



Make sure its initrd.bin not just initrd (im assuming the initdr was a typo). Also keep in mind that Windows sometimes hide extentions if you are looking at them with the default file browser, you may not see extentions that are there. Maybe try looking at them from the command line?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrOtOn
post May 25 2005, 08:16 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 5-May 05
Member No.: 7,080



Ok, thanks for the tip. And yes, it was a typo.
So, zImage should not have an extension and initdr should be "initrd.bin".
When I look at those files using windows explorer I don't see extensions at all, however the files are shown as BIN files.

I will try one more time.

EDIT: this is what I get looking at the files using CMD:

QUOTE
Directory of H:\

05/25/2005  11:26 PM        14,680,064 initrd.bin
05/25/2005  11:25 PM          911,388 zImage.bin
              2 File(s)    15,591,452 bytes
              0 Dir(s)    112,439,296 bytes free


Update: If I try to rename zImage.bin file through CMD, it says "The system cannot find the file specified." and the file on my CF card turns to be 0KB instantly after the issued command: ren h:\>zImage.bin zImage

Update: WOHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! I f***ing got it working. I had the zImage with bin extension and issuing the wrong command on CMD to rename it. Once I renamed it correctly (command: ren namefile1 namefile2 {in the right directory}) all worked it out.
Gazilion thanks to everyone.
I'm so freaking happy...wohooooooo!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnX
post May 25 2005, 08:54 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 4-May 05
From: Lynnwood, WA, US
Member No.: 7,070



You can change your settings in Windows Explorer, so that it doesn't hide the file extensions and so you're able to change them. There's instructions here:
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial62.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 08:31 AM