OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxrom Beta4 - "overclocking/cpu Config" Fixed, cpuoverclock.py
anunakin
post May 15 2006, 06:03 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



This new cpuoverclock.py works only for PXA270 machines with pdaXrom beta4 (SL-Cxx00) biggrin.gif

OK I need more info about others machines (PXA255) todo a new version compatible with that... any can post the result of this comand on a PXA255 machine(SL-Cx00):
CODE
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies



This is beta4-r1 version, next I go release a more complete version with turbo, bus mode and mem clock options.... wink.gif

Howto use it:
Uncompress and copy cpuoverclock.py to /usr/bin
Attached File(s)
Attached File  cpuoverclock_beta4_r1.tar.gz ( 2.98K ) Number of downloads: 152
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emip
post May 15 2006, 08:26 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 26-April 06
Member No.: 9,707



Awesome, I really need those 200 extra MHz!
Does this require the newer kernel?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post May 15 2006, 09:03 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(emip @ May 15 2006, 12:26 PM)
Awesome, I really need those 200 extra MHz!
Does this require the newer kernel?
*



You can use cpu config in Beta3 and do the same thing... with ouf this fix...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post May 15 2006, 09:18 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



QUOTE(InSearchOf @ May 15 2006, 05:03 PM)
QUOTE(emip @ May 15 2006, 12:26 PM)
Awesome, I really need those 200 extra MHz!
Does this require the newer kernel?
*



You can use cpu config in Beta3 and do the same thing... with ouf this fix...
*



I didt tested on beta3 with kernel 2.4.... I never looked before on /sys tree... ph34r.gif
I need some info about SL-Cx00 for do this compatible....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emip
post May 15 2006, 02:09 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 26-April 06
Member No.: 9,707



QUOTE(anunakin @ May 15 2006, 06:18 PM)
QUOTE(InSearchOf @ May 15 2006, 05:03 PM)
QUOTE(emip @ May 15 2006, 12:26 PM)
Awesome, I really need those 200 extra MHz!
Does this require the newer kernel?
*



You can use cpu config in Beta3 and do the same thing... with ouf this fix...
*



I didt tested on beta3 with kernel 2.4.... I never looked before on /sys tree... ph34r.gif
I need some info about SL-Cx00 for do this compatible....
*



Sorry, I was not clear. I know this is for beta 4, and for 2.6 kernels, but does this require sashz's new beta4 kernel? (with the voltage addon)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post May 16 2006, 04:08 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



I not tested over first release of kernel 2.6, but I think this must works .... I sugest you upgrade to new kernel...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zodttd
post May 23 2006, 11:27 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 14-January 06
Member No.: 8,925



It seems a slight change might be needed to this patch Anunakin...

For 624MHz to work on most Z's you need 1600mv for voltage instead of the default 1500mv

To get 624MHz working with the current beta 4 using this patch:
Goto the following file and edit " 1500mv " to " 1600mv ":
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpu_voltage

I imagine this should be reset back to 1500 after removing the overclock.

A quick fix for the patch could be to replace the default voltage with 1600mv if 624 is selected.

Thanks for this patch Anunakin! smile.gif

Enjoy 624MHz,
ZodTTD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post May 23 2006, 11:35 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



Is it that easy to change vcore? I thought this file is to show the current voltage.

But that's nice because overclocking is much easier (as every Zaurus needs slightly different voltages).

Also one could try to set the voltage as low as possible (for overclocking, standard-clock and underclocking) so that the system still remains stable and saving battery power is also possible. It would take some time to find the perfect values but it would be nice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post May 23 2006, 11:39 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



by the way: I cannot save modified files like fstab and others. It says in mc "cannot save file" and in leafpad "can't open file to write".

I also tried the sudo command but still no difference. Whats going on here?

Oh and another thing zodttd: try editing the "show_frequency_and_voltage" which is located in the same directory. Give it a 1600 for Vol for 624 MHz. I would give it a try myself but cannot save the file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stuffman
post Jun 11 2006, 09:44 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 27-May 04
From: State College, Pa.
Member No.: 3,471



OK I need more info about others machines (PXA255) todo a new version compatible with that... any can post the result of this comand on a PXA255 machine(SL-Cx00):
CODE
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies



With beta4 on SL-C860, the output is as follows:

CODE
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
99532 199065 298598 398131
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dima202
post Jun 11 2006, 01:39 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 68
Joined: 6-November 05
Member No.: 8,479



QUOTE(stuffman @ Jun 11 2006, 09:44 AM)
OK I need more info about others machines (PXA255) todo a new version compatible with that... any can post the result of this comand on a PXA255 machine(SL-Cx00):
CODE
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies



With beta4 on SL-C860, the output is as follows:

CODE
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
99532 199065 298598 398131

*

Hey, just out of curiosity, has anyone successfully overclocked C860, c7x0 to 620mhz? huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 12:09 PM