OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Angstrom Status On Tosa, Updated March 12, 2008
xjqian
post Mar 12 2008, 01:15 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(xjqian @ Mar 12 2008, 12:56 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Mar 10 2008, 08:03 AM) *
thanks, I will dig out my Tosa and see how far I get . When Angstrom is good enough and I can use my Tosa more, I will get a new battery. I'd like to use it as an in-car media player (with a wireless hard drive) and to run tomtom,!


Please skip r8 and test r9 with 2.6.24 kernel.


sorry r9 with 2.6.24 kernel is not bootable right now. please test r8 instead.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 12 2008, 01:25 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(adf @ Mar 12 2008, 01:07 AM) *
is there a decent browser working in Angstrom on 6k?


in opie, bluelightening is working with konqueror-embedded upstream to get qt2 patches upstream.
in x11, there are couple of options: links-x11, netsurf, minimo, gpe-mini-browser and openmoko-browser2

I've used minimo which works very well on tosa (except the FN key is borken), I've heard netfurf is also a good alternative. personally, I don't like gpe-mini-browser. no experience with openmoko-browser (there is demo on youtube though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 17 2008, 03:01 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



I tried the r17, and got an error right at start-up. The backlight went off, and I got a line of text <something I can't remember> then ->no info.

have any info? Is this the same problem that r9 had with the 2.6.24 kernel?

-AeroSigma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jun 18 2008, 03:11 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(AeroSigma @ Jun 17 2008, 06:01 PM) *
I tried the r17, and got an error right at start-up. The backlight went off, and I got a line of text <something I can't remember> then ->no info.

have any info? Is this the same problem that r9 had with the 2.6.24 kernel?

-AeroSigma


Yeah. Still the same problem with r9. The one built from dev branch boots fine fore. I'm trying to figure out what's the difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 18 2008, 10:58 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



I can't seem to get insternal WiFi to work (out of the box,) I select the "Wifi device" in the wlan0 tab under network settings, but next time I open network settings, it has unchecked itself. I also don't seem to have the tools like ifconfig ifup etc. to work with. What image are you using? I'm using the x11-image which gives me GPE.

Edit: Well I've installed the console edition and I have the networking tools. Could they have gotten overlooked in the x11-istall package? Also, do you know what are the "relevant packages" to install GPE and x11 from the base console flash?

-AeroSigma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jun 18 2008, 01:24 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(AeroSigma @ Jun 18 2008, 01:58 PM) *
I can't seem to get insternal WiFi to work (out of the box,) I select the "Wifi device" in the wlan0 tab under network settings, but next time I open network settings, it has unchecked itself. I also don't seem to have the tools like ifconfig ifup etc. to work with. What image are you using? I'm using the x11-image which gives me GPE.

Edit: Well I've installed the console edition and I have the networking tools. Could they have gotten overlooked in the x11-istall package? Also, do you know what are the "relevant packages" to install GPE and x11 from the base console flash?

-AeroSigma


The wlan0 network setting gui is known broken. Try to manually edit /etc/wlan instead. There is a nice tutorial in the openzaurus wiki which works the same for Angstrom.

The /sbin directory is not in the normal users' path.
CODE
su -
to get root access (just enter for password) for ifconfig, ifup etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 18 2008, 03:29 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



I felt like a fish out of water without my internet config tools. I tried root
CODE
su
but not
CODE
su -
but with the latter, I get more in my PATH. what does the
CODE
-
do?

I've got usb ethernet and wireless working now.

Thanks

-AeroSigma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jun 18 2008, 11:16 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(AeroSigma @ Jun 18 2008, 06:29 PM) *
but with the latter, I get more in my PATH. what does the
CODE
-
do?


I think it's a convention (busybox?). su is what debian/ubuntu uses for root including all PATH, while su is what Fedora uses for limited root, you need su - in Fedora for root with /sbin. I have no insight or historical knowledge about why it is so, although Angstrom is closer to debian than Fedora in lineage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 19 2008, 01:10 AM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



su makes you become root but keeps most of your existing environment, "su -" replaces your environment so is equivalent to logging in afresh as the new user.

you can also do "su fred" and "su - fred"

and you can run a command with su too

of course all this depends on what's been built into busybox.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 23 2008, 01:42 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



I've searched around for a way to sync my Angstrom w/GPE (installed gpe-todo, gpe-calendar etc. as well) with Outlook in windows(no choice, it's used at my company) and I can't seem to be able to get it to work. This is really the only holding point for me to switch to Angstrom. Am I overlooking something? Is there a way to sync my Tosa loaded with Angstrom w/GPE to Outlook in Windows?

-AeroSigma

PS-it dosen't have to be easy to set up, I can handle the terminal and vi etc. It just has to work once it's been set up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jun 23 2008, 03:22 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



AeroSigma,

Which install of Angstrom are you using? I've tried a few and get the blank screen as well (has a bug for the latest version been filed?).

In terms of syncing, there was some activity when OpenZaurus was active...had something to do with passwordless ssh and some file conversions on the fly IIRC. I may be confusing that with sync w/ Evolution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 24 2008, 08:10 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



Use r8 (release 8) to get by the blank screen problem. All of the newer releases have the 2.6.24 kernel, which won't boot on the tosa yet. You can find r8 here. You can find the rest of the Tosa imagese here.

xjgian mentioned that he got the current release (17?) booting on the Tosa when he self-complied from the dev build, so I'm trying that out. I'll let you know how it goes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AeroSigma
post Jun 25 2008, 09:16 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 12-November 07
Member No.: 20,937



QUOTE(AeroSigma)
xjgian mentioned that he got the current release (17?) booting on the Tosa when he self-complied from the dev build, so I'm trying that out. I'll let you know how it goes.


SO how does it go you ask? Not well. I compiled r18 from the Dev build (took an entire day running on Ubuntu through VMWare) but when I flashed my Tosa, I still get the "tmio-fb: null info->mode" at the top of the screen instead of booting up, which I beileve is the 2.6.24 kernel problem.

xjgian, did you get a bootable build with the 2.6.24 kernel? Could you send my your local.conf or your x11 image?

-AeroSIgma
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jun 26 2008, 08:37 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Let me also ask you; have you gotten around the suspend bug? I don't believe that's been fixed in any of the releases.

I keep forgetting about this...and it's a show stopper for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LeTic
post Nov 21 2008, 05:24 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 4-July 05
From: Dublin, Ireland
Member No.: 7,521



Sorry to post on a dead post but I just wanted to let you know that after lots of debugging from Dmitry he finally manage to solve the 2.6.24 bug on the tosa kernel.

It is available here : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/uploads/tosa-stable-images/debug/

So now Angström is booting back with the r19 image. But with that image the backlight doesn't seems to work on my tosa. I haven't tried other images yet though to check.

Discussion on the topic can be found here : http://lists.linuxtogo.org/pipermail/angst...ber/002737.html

More information on Dmitry's tosa page : http://tosa.lumag.spb.ru/news/17/55/Status-update.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 05:01 AM