OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tomotko And Japanese Input Method
hannes
post Aug 31 2009, 01:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-December 06
Member No.: 13,443



I'm using Cacko lite 1.23 with japanese-support-C1k installed for the japanese input methods. I seem to have a problem creating flashcards in toMOTko with one side in japanese and the other side in english - after inserting japanese text I close the virtual keyboard to input english via the real keyboard and the japanese text disappears. I guess I must be doing something wrong...
Also, is there some documentation about the japanese input methods? I'm still in the early stage of learning hiragana and katakana, but I would to know how to use them better.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederic Bergero...
post Aug 31 2009, 04:17 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Nagoya, Japan
Member No.: 9,232



I doubt that this problem is really related to toMOTko.

Are you able to use the japanese input method successfully with other applications? I don't know how it works on Cacko but on Sharp's ROM, I have at least two ways to enter japanese text. Either, I type the sounds (like k-a for ka, and r-a for ra, then t-e for te), then, I hit space to choose the proper kanjis (for karate, in this case) and enter to confirm. Either I draw the kanjis using the pen on the screen. Then the word appears in a temporary text field which I can transfer clickling a special arrow button in the field that had the focus before I invoked the japanese input method.

I hope it helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hannes
post Aug 31 2009, 04:53 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-December 06
Member No.: 13,443



Thanks for the quick answer. I experimented a little more and the solution was so simple it almost makes me blush... After inserting the japanese text I just clicked in the next input field, which, as soon as I was writing, made the japanese text disappear. I found out that this doesnt't happen if I press Enter before switching input fields.... Merci quand-même de la réponse et un grand merci pour votre logiciel excellent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurochka
post Aug 31 2009, 05:05 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 6-February 04
Member No.: 1,740



QUOTE(hannes @ Aug 31 2009, 04:53 PM) *
I press Enter


You have to press "enter" after typing the text when using the CJK input not only on Zaurus. It's the only way for the software to figure out the boundary between characters (kanji or kana), given that what you are entering is the representations of sounds not the actual characters. At least this is how I understand it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 09:52 PM