OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 32mb Ramfs On C3000, ... and how to get rid of it
Blake
post Jan 29 2008, 03:35 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 28-January 08
From: Arizona
Member No.: 21,290



First, I apologize if there is a better forum for this question, unsure.gif but I've googled this a bit and found little discussion on the topic.

I got a c3000 recently and put Angstrom on it. It creates a 32Mb ramfs on startup, just like my old 5500 did. sad.gif

I remember from my 5500 days that OZ would build a selection of kernels with different sized ramdisks.

I want the other half of my memory available. Will I need to build my own kernel for that? Is there a way to simply unmount that ramfs and free that memory?

Who out there has 64Mb available on his/her Z (with an EABI 2.6 kernel)?

Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 29 2008, 04:39 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Would that be the "tempfs" mounted on /media/ram? free claims I have 60MB RAM (on a C3100), or which 49MB is free (minus buffers/cache). If I am indeed losing 32MB to this ramfs, I too would be interested in getting rid of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnX
post Jan 29 2008, 04:53 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 4-May 05
From: Lynnwood, WA, US
Member No.: 7,070



This is a much more flexible "ramdisk" than the one that was enabled on the Sharp ROM (and some OZ releases) for the 5500. This newer type of "ramdisk" (tmpfs) only takes up as much RAM as whatever is stored on it. It helps performance and makes your flash live longer to have /tmp and /dev be stored in RAM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 29 2008, 06:25 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Awesome. So even though it says the "tmpfs" is 30MB, it will only be taking up a fraction of that in RAM?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnX
post Jan 30 2008, 12:13 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 4-May 05
From: Lynnwood, WA, US
Member No.: 7,070



If you run df -h and it shows the tmpfs has 60KB of files stored on it then 60KB of RAM is taken up. Also if you use swap, the contents of the tmpfs can be swapped as well (when needed).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 30 2008, 04:28 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Thanks for the information!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 30 2008, 01:24 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I agree, ramfs is a potentially very useful tool, and relatively harmless provided you remember that you shouldn't overflow it, and that its contents will disappear when you reboot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 02:44 AM