OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New C3200 Owner
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 11:37 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



Well, my conics.net C3200 just came in, I'm downloading pdaXii13 as we speak, and copying all my own little tweaks and configurations from my 860 to a SD card. This will be my third Zaurus (the fist being a 5500 that ran OZ), I know enough to admit I know nothing about this model, and ask for advice and warnings.

My planned setup is to keep my 1 GB SD card and use the CF slot exclusively for wireless. I think 7 gigs should be more than enough storage. However, this is where the performance questions come up. Should I install packages to internal flash, the internal drive, or SD? It's a SanDisk Ultra II, if the Zaurus bus can actually utilize the increased speed.

Basically, for those of you short in attention span or patience: what should I install (and how/where), what should I avoid doing, and what do I need to know about the 3200?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 11 2007, 12:07 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I'm not going to tell you to do this my way, but you can probably try a variation of my method.
On my C3200, I installed pdaxii13-akita on NAND
First you must install pdaxrom beta 3 to get pdaxii13 working, I think it needs the pdaxrom kernel from beta 3. (I don't know if this has changed recently, but when pdaxii13 first came out, it was only for the C3000, and users of other models needed to install pdaxrom beta 3 first)
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/pdaxii13.html
Once pdaxrom beta 3 is installed, you don't have to setup anything, just use the pdaxii13 files and reflash to pdaxii13

OK, this is the way I'm running pdaxii13-akita on NAND
What I did, was install small apps and utilities to flash, and I installed large apps, (like Firefox) onto the microdrive.
This gives me an OS and utilities that runs entirely from flash. This has a quicker response than installing everything to the hard drive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 12:25 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



That sounds a lot like what I was doing on my 860. The small, important apps ran from flash, and the larger, less critical ones from SD.

If I Ihave to install beta 3 first that might explain the error I've been getting trying to simply install pdaXii through the normal pdaX manner (booting from the Japanese flash new ROM menu into the pdaX installeer and running the NAND fix utility, followed by Install new ROM).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Apr 11 2007, 12:34 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



What I would do, partitioning-wise, is have a smallish partition for installing stuff to, a smallish swap partition, and have the rest be for data. Format the data and install partitions as EXT2 (data can be FAT, but I like EXT2, install MUST be EXT2 for symlinks).

I'd also follow Jon_J's basic idea and put smaller stuff on flash and larger stuff on the MD.

I would avoid installing stuff to SD, as it is relatively slow.

----------------

In short/extra stuff:

Suggestions/DO:

-Use MRXVT 0.5.2 as your terminal instead of the default; it's fast, configurable, and has easy-to-use tabs.
-Try a different WM (Match/Open box is quite heavy IMO)
-Use swap on MD
-Have separate install and data partitions on MD
-Install big stuff to MD

DON'T DO:

-Install EVERYTHING to microdrive (slower than flash, eats battery)
-Install stuff to SD (slow)

NEED TO KNOW:

-It's ridiculously addictive...you'll probably spend more time using it than you'd like...like me. biggrin.gif


Sorry for a messy post...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 12:49 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



Well, I succesfully installed pdaXii (I fixed the NAND partition size limit, but forgot to change the size!), but now I'm getting an error when trying to start X.

CODE
Starting X
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority

Exiting X


I assume this has to do with pdaXii linking the hard drive and NAND, and my configuring it wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 11 2007, 12:55 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(conundrum @ Apr 11 2007, 03:49 PM)
Well, I succesfully installed pdaXii (I fixed the NAND partition size limit, but forgot to change the size!), but now I'm getting an error when trying to start X.

CODE
Starting X
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority
xauth:  error in locking authority file /home/root/.Xauthority

Exiting X


I assume this has to do with pdaXii linking the hard drive and NAND, and my configuring it wrong?
*

Did you install pdaxrom beta 3 first?
If you forgot to change the size of the partition after using the "fix nand partition", go back and start over, do the fix nand and change it to 121MB, then reflash pdaxii13 (install rom)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 12:57 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



Initially I couldn't finish the ROM install because I hadn't resized the NAND partition. So, while I searched the forums and retraced my steps vs the install guide I copied the hdimage over to save time. However, I'm thinking now it might be eaiser to simply start from scratch, wipe out everything and redo them in the proper order?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 11 2007, 01:07 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



That's what I would do, start over and install pdaxrom and fix nand partition, then resize the nand to 121MB, install rom, and reboot. (I may have a step out of order, just follow the directions).
See if you can boot to the pdaxrom desktop.
If so, then install pdaxii13.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 11 2007, 02:01 PM
Post #9





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



hI!

i run the pdaxii3 on the cacko by mounted images. I can honestly say it is slow but still awsome i can have ftp, gaim, at a descent speed. abiword is okay but i still would prefvfer more speed.

anyway, i recently installed the pdaxii3 meanie slapt together for the c1000 which installs into the internal flash. i highly recommend this. it is soooo fast and stable. i played with the operating system and it feels complete. it also works for the c3200 as stated in the html. it gives you an option to format the internal drive which is a big bonus especially if you want to restore to cacko or original rom. it has tools for restoring the z which i like. im going to take advantage of this in creating some themes for this as well.

when i installed, i used flash tools to uo the recommended size which is around 50 something and the rebooted and then installed rom and then formated user partition but not my internal drive just because i havent backed up my life. anyway, i bototed and all was fine. one thing was that i couldnt see my hdd3 or id3. most likely it needed mounting but i was very happy with the stability.

right now, using cacko thumb typing this while on bluetooth on cellphone being driven around.......sorry for my bad grammer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 04:14 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



Well, I wiped out the hard drive, reinstalled the ROM, reinstalled the hdimage and everything is working fine now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 11 2007, 05:29 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Apr 12 2007, 06:07 AM)
I'm not going to tell you to do this my way, but you can probably try a variation of my method.
On my C3200, I installed pdaxii13-akita on NAND
First you must install pdaxrom beta 3 to get pdaxii13 working, I think it needs the pdaxrom kernel from beta 3. (I don't know if this has changed recently, but when pdaxii13 first came out, it was only for the C3000, and users of other models needed to install pdaxrom beta 3 first)
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/pdaxii13.html
Once pdaxrom beta 3 is installed, you don't have to setup anything, just use the pdaxii13 files and reflash to pdaxii13

OK, this is the way I'm running pdaxii13-akita on NAND
What I did, was install small apps and utilities to flash, and I installed large apps, (like Firefox) onto the microdrive.
This gives me an OS and utilities that runs entirely from flash. This has a quicker response than installing everything to the hard drive.
*


You do not need to install beta3 prior to installing pdaXii13 Akita. This was only a requirement for hacking pdaXii13 Spitz on a non C3000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kkazakov13
post Apr 11 2007, 09:06 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 3-December 06
Member No.: 13,063



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Apr 11 2007, 11:34 PM)
DON'T DO:

-Install EVERYTHING to microdrive (slower than flash, eats battery)
-Install stuff to SD (slow)



Uhm ... I could not understand where to install everything?

P.P. I've about 300-400 mb currently installed to partition of HDD. Where I had to do this in your opinion?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 11:11 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



EDIT: Editing config files at 2am leads to stupid questions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 11 2007, 11:21 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(conundrum @ Apr 12 2007, 05:11 PM)
Meanie I edited the PS1 value in /etc/profile, but your smiley face is quite presistant...where else do I need to change it?
*


that's the only place it is defined. you need to source the profile ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
conundrum
post Apr 11 2007, 11:29 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-December 04
From: Connecticut, USA
Member No.: 5,891



I was hoping nobody would notice this post so late! I got sidetracked doing something else after the edit and forgot to restart instead of just restarting X. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th July 2014 - 04:16 PM