OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting There But:-, General questions
Mjolinor
post Oct 30 2005, 04:18 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



I have now tried several ROMs and sort of settled (at least for now) on the Guylhem.

I haven't found any feeds but for what I need local install after downloading packages via wget or Opera will do for now.

Being an old git I needed some bigger fonts, got that sorted thanks to Meanie and put verdana on, had to do it manually as the IPK wouldn't work for whatever reason. These fonts work fine in opie-reader and most of the aps but console doesn't see them at all. It did once just after I had installed them but I messed some more (I forgot to make one of them executable) and since then they just do not appear in console. This means I have to use the zoom console which is pretty untidy.

Anyone know how to make them available to the console?

I find the backlight too bright, when I am reading in the dark, on the minimum setting, I can't believe there is only a 3 bit A/D on the 6000 and even if it is why are there only 5 settings on the brightness? Anyone know a way round this?

On my ipaq you could get battery information from the LiIon chip in the battery from /proc/asic/battery is there a similar one in the 6000?

The really annoying one smile.gif
When rebooted either from the start menu or the reset button it runs "Set System Time" once into the GUI, how do I stop it doing that? It wouldn't be a problem as I don't reset it usually but for some reason if I set an alarm then put it in standby, when the alarm goes off it seems to restart the GUI when it wakes up and the alarm doesn't beep as it's waiting for input to the Set System Time app, I assume. The alarm works fine if I leave the PDA on all the time.

I installed the file manager for the 5500 off the sharpusa site and it works OK but it's not 640X480, is there a file manager that will work at the full resolution of the 6000, I looked but couldn't find anything.

I think the 6000 would be much improved with a mini USB plug on, I hate manufacturer specific connectors. Are there any good pics of a disassembled 6000 so I don't have to take it to bits to see if there is room for one?

It took me a while to get my vfat SD card to automount, the solution is to edit "/etc/sdcontrol" as well as "/etc/fstab"

Probably more questions to follow but these are what I'm stuck on at the moment.
Thanks for any input.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drnick
post Oct 30 2005, 08:39 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 6-November 04
Member No.: 5,361



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Oct 30 2005, 12:18 PM)
I installed the file manager for the 5500 off the sharpusa site and it works OK but it's not 640X480, is there a file manager that will work at the full resolution of the 6000, I looked but couldn't find anything.

*


Get 'Explorer' from the ZUG feed or Cacko feed, Its a filemanager and ftp client. Theres also Tree! Explorer but it comes with a lame text editor and its not free, and some parts are in japanese. Theres also the AdvanceFM, or FileLaunch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 30 2005, 09:42 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



Tree explorer looks good apart from the missing fonts so I couldn't read the menus. The only version of "explorer" I can find is version 1.0 and it is not full resolution

I'll keep looking but if you can give me a link to it I would appreciate it.

I found a lot of versions of tree explorer that wouldn't install.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Nov 1 2005, 01:58 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



You can set the brightness between 0 (off) and 255 (full) by entering the number manually in qpe.conf. The preset values using the "power" utility are 0, 50, 100 etc and if you set it manually then run the power utilty it gets reset to one of the predefined values.

I find 9 to be good for reading in the dark. It's probably good for battery life too though I haven't checked it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Nov 1 2005, 03:25 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
On my ipaq you could get battery information from the LiIon chip in the battery from /proc/asic/battery is there a similar one in the 6000?


This is kernel depenent, the info is available, but just may not be exported for you to look at.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 1 2005, 06:31 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



There are 2 versions of TreeExplorer. One has extra features and costs money, the other is free. When you install it, it defaults to the Japanese language, (which appears as a series of boxes if Japenese fonts are not installed) but you can easily change it to English by clicking on the "V" button, which brings down a menu with the word "Language" in it. Just click on "English". TreeExplorer is my favorite file manager!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th September 2014 - 08:08 PM