OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reformat Microdrive After Mucking Up Pdaxrom, Need to reformat the microdrive
davidspitzer
post Jan 27 2007, 05:53 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



I was trying to uninstall Uboot so i used the nand restore file from the german site - i also donwloaded th hd images but the errored out halfway through so i am doing a clear hd from the service menu -- will this get my microdrive working again and how do i get the directory structure back?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 27 2007, 06:09 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



i got cacko reinstalled but i still get a hdd1 error -- how do i restore / format the hard drive
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 27 2007, 07:11 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



i can get all the way into cacko by cntrl c ing pat the harddrive error but i have no idea how to reformat the microdrive now


help!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jan 27 2007, 09:25 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Might help if you mentioned what Z you have....

But assume it's a 3xxx, right??

One thing I recall is that there's one or two files that are needed....been too long for me to give you details...but I went through this sometime ago...

Do a search on forums here on my posts...you might find it that way...

HTH,

Mark

QUOTE(davidspitzer @ Jan 27 2007, 08:11 PM)
i  can get all the way into cacko by cntrl c ing pat the harddrive error but i have no idea how to reformat the microdrive now


help!!!!!!!!!!!
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 27 2007, 09:28 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



sorry yes - 3200

i searched the forums for over two hours and can not seem to find the method

anyone who has any insight would be greatly appreciated
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fushnchupsh
post Jan 27 2007, 09:45 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 9-October 05
Member No.: 8,282



hey there. I went through the same thing some time ago so, let me help. You are going to need the HD files that can be found on trisoft's site. ONce you download that, unzip/tar the file to a cf/ sd card. You are going to need to then, repartition your HD to the original scheme. After you have accomplished that pop the files in the right partitions and you're good to go. So, I hear you saying "what is the partition scheme? where do the files go? Well, trisoft packaged an awsome readme with it. Read that, if you have anymore questions post here or pm me.

--Fish


QUOTE(davidspitzer @ Jan 27 2007, 09:28 PM)
sorry yes - 3200

i searched the forums for over two hours and can not seem to find the method

anyone who has any insight would be greatly appreciated
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 27 2007, 09:58 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



how do you copy the files one you do all the fdisk stuff?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 27 2007, 11:05 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Download this zip file from Trisoft. I attached it here.
Basically what you will need to do is to partition and format the first 2 partitions (hda1 and hda2) just as they were when Sharp sent your Zaurus out.
These two partitions also contain some specific files and directories which are necessary to enable your Zaurus to operate just as it did when new.
The below instructions also show you how to partition the 3rd partition. This is also necessary. But the first 2 partitions are what usually "stumps" most people, as they are basically an area to store small backup scripts/files and are not usually used in everyday operation.
I'm pasting the "Readme" that is included in this zip file on here. Read it, download the files and follow the readme. Make sure you preserve the directory structure as the readme tells you to do.

Contents of the system-partitions for the SL-C3200
TRIsoft / Marc Stephan / April 11th, 2006

Use the information in this document at your own risk.
TRIsoft is not liable for any damages that may result from
these informations.

SL-C3200 HDD-Partition table:
/dev/hda1 Start 1 End 20 Blocks 10048+ id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda2 Start 21 End 40 Blocks 10080 id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda3 Start 41 End 11905 Blocks 5979960 id c System Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

Note:
While using the fdisk on the Zaurus, double check that you set the
correct parameters for the drive. They have to be:
16 heads / 63 sectors/track / 11905 cylinders

Format the partitions with:
mke2fs -j /dev/hda1
mke2fs -j /dev/hda2
mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/hda3

/hda1 and /hda2 are 9.5 MB partitions. Each one contains a ".sys" and
a "lost+found" directory. The contents of the .sys-directories are
in this file.

Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz (2149 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

Files in /hdd2/.sys :
contlist.dat (74327 Bytes)
hdlist2.dat (1264 Bytes)
hdlist3.dat (1519 Bytes)

The Zaurus will display an error like "HDD not initialized" if the
directories and files are missing. Just restoring the partition table
won't make an SL-C3200 happy.


For using fdisk, read the OESF page, Formatting for newbies.
http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Step-b...ing_for_newbies

To copy the files over, just put them on a SD or CF card and use the Linux copy command. "cp"
I'll paste the cp -help below.
cp --help
Usage: cp [OPTION]... SOURCE DEST

Copies SOURCE to DEST, or multiple SOURCE(s) to DIRECTORY.
-a Same as -dpR
-d Preserves links
-p Preserves file attributes if possible
-f force (implied; ignored) - always set
-R Copies directories recursively

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Jan 27 2007, 11:35 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  SLC3200SYSPART.zip ( 68.42K ) Number of downloads: 29
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 28 2007, 12:01 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



sorry this is super lame but how do you mount the sd card
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 28 2007, 12:27 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



ok got cf card mounted - how do you make the .sys directory it says hdd1 is read only
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 28 2007, 12:40 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



ok got the files in hdd2 but hdd1 is read only and i cant seem to chmod it any ideas???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 28 2007, 01:00 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz (2149 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

thid is the step i am stuck on

tall three partitions are formated as intructed but hdd1 is ready only and i can not create .sys directory and install the 2 files

tried reformatting it with no luck still read only
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 28 2007, 08:00 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Try this.
to remount the partition rw
----------------------
mount -o remount,rw /dev/hda1 /hdd1
----------------------
Then when your'e done placing the files and folders on it, it needs to be remounted as ReadOnly

To remount the partition ro
----------------------
mount -o remount,ro /dev/hda1 /hdd1
----------------------

Also be sure to remove and unmount any CF cards before doing this because the external CF card slot changes the hard drive mount points when a card is inserted and mounted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 28 2007, 01:55 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



I usually use the console utility that comes with the cacko reflash tools. That way nothing is read only. I've got pdax running mostly the way I want it to now, so I'm probably not going back to cacko. I don't really use it as a pda anymore though. I have all the contact info I need on my phone, or laptop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davidspitzer
post Jan 29 2007, 05:48 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 13-September 04
Member No.: 4,569



wow! finally got that was very com-pli-mi-cated

thanks for all the help guys
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 01:14 AM