OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Upgrading to OZ?
boggsml
post Dec 10 2003, 03:23 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,122



Hi,

Very new to Zaurus still. Trying to flash my new C860 with OZ 3.3.5.

Went here: http://www.openzaurus.org/official/testing/3.3.5/C860/

placed the updater.sh, zimage, and initrd onto a SD card and went into the flash menu.

However, I'm not sure that OZ 3.3.5 "took"? I think I saw one error message about modprobe or something during the update. When the machine finally pulled back into the OS, it looked the same as before?

Anyway to officially tell if I am running OZ?

Thanks!

-matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
allyrfriends
post Dec 10 2003, 03:40 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,094



Have a look at the System Info application in the Settings tab. Or just look at the launcher-type menu in the bottom left: if it looks like a little O rather than a Qt symbol, you're using OZ. But you would probably notice the difference between the two anyway.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 10 2003, 03:48 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



The look of OZ is way different than the sharp rom. You'd notice right away. Also f you can still see the hancom apps then you're still in the sharp rom.

I also have an 860 and I've been trying to set it up for the past few days. The problem I had was that I got the image and stuff from the wrong place try http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstabl...ble/3.3.5/C860/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
boggsml
post Dec 10 2003, 07:18 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,122



Hum... this is the error that I get with Oz 3.3.5 flash from either the unstable or the testing directories at the FTP site.

modprobe: can't locate module devinfo

Any ideas? This pops up after the white screen with SHARP in red and some Japanese text.

Any help much appreciated.

-matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
boggsml
post Dec 10 2003, 07:35 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,122



biggrin.gif I had to rename the image and kernel files I downloaded. I need to cap the I in zImage and also remove the gcc3 from the bin file.

Cool.... now I seem to have OZ 3.3.5 installed on the C860.

Now I have to figure out what to do. ;-)

Thanks for the help.... I'm sure I will need more. laugh.gif

-matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 05:58 PM