OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Syncing - Effort To Create A Definitive Doc, What does/doesn't work with Win & Linux
sibble-comp-oesf
post Sep 8 2005, 10:38 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 8-August 05
Member No.: 7,814



Well after a lot of searching of this forum, and pm'ing with several members, googling etc, I have it working nicely except for a few quirks.

The short story, I use Act as my primary database. I used the full version of Intellisync to sync my palm 3xe against act. To accomplish the same thing with the Z is a multi-part strategy.

- Install the version of intellisync that comes with the 2.xx sharp roms.
- Set it up to sync against Palm Desktop or Outlook
- get companionlink to sync between ACT and PD/Outlook
- configure security on your Z (usually have to select Qtopia Desktop as your application otherwise you'll get a zillion security popups on the Z)

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...thorized+system

- use the zsync.bat method to run the sync easily (from this thread)
- have you rbeverage of choice and toast your success.

Now, to the non working stuff. Using Palm Desktop, changes made on the Z are not synched. Changes made on PD always make it to the Z. I'm told that 2 way synching works fine with Outlook but haven't tested it myself yet.

So basically if I make a calendar entry on the PD, sync, I look in the Z and there is the calendar item. Now I delete this item from the Z and sync, well intellisync now shows 1 item to sync from PD to the Z, it's the item I just deleted. I've had another forum member confirm the same thing.

Any ways around this?

Also, any way to NOT have to run intellisync with admin rights on Win2k? It will not synchronize otherwise, nor can you adjust many settings.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
larrycow
post Oct 9 2005, 01:47 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-October 05
Member No.: 8,280



Handheld:

* Zaurus SL5500
* OZ 3.5.3
* OPIE 1.2
* Standard OPIE PIM (no Kopi/Kapi)
* Connected through USB craddle, IP is 192.168.129.201

Desktop:

* Gentoo Linux
* KDE 3.4
* usb0's IP is 192.168.129.1

Results:

* TCP/IP communication is OK between hosts (ssh to and from the zaurus, ...).

* I can sync with QtopiaDesktop 1.7.0.

* Badly, I can't get to do it with Kontact/KDE. I configure it as stated in another post of this thread, and MultiSynk tells me that it managed to read local data (both addressbook's and calendar's, but that's nothing too impressive), and that it managed to get connected, and then nothing more. Obviously, no data has changed, neither on the Z nor on the PC.

Any idea, someone?

Edit: At last, I managed to synchronize with Kontact. Only that it doesn't want my root password, but some weird synchronization-specific password (Qtopia + random chars). I wasn't aware of this until I monitored qtopiadesktop's traffic with ethereal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
microsoft/linux
post Oct 13 2005, 04:35 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 238
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Sebec, ME, USA
Member No.: 7,225



what are peoples /etc/network/interfaces files saying for usb networking(through the cradle)? I'm trying to get mine to work, but something's not right. Thoughts?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gpinkham
post Oct 21 2005, 06:28 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-September 05
Member No.: 8,169



QUOTE(microsoft/linux @ Oct 13 2005, 08:35 PM)
what are peoples /etc/network/interfaces files saying for usb networking(through the cradle)? I'm trying to get mine to work, but something's not right. Thoughts?
*



I recently switched over to the OZ rom.. Since then I haven't been able to connect to it thru the USB cradle either... If I try to run ifup usbd0 I get
SIOCSIFNETMASK: no such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: no such device
route: SIOC[ADD|DEL]RT: no such device

This was with a stock flash of 3.5.3...

Have you had any luck??? I'd flash again but I have no way of getting the image onto the CF card.. Guess I need a CF reader for my laptop.. :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gpinkham
post Oct 21 2005, 06:53 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-September 05
Member No.: 8,169



QUOTE(gpinkham @ Oct 21 2005, 10:28 AM)
I recently switched over to the OZ rom..  Since then I haven't been able to connect to it thru the USB cradle either...      If I try to run ifup usbd0 I get
SIOCSIFNETMASK: no such device
SIOCGIFFLAGS: no such device
route: SIOC[ADD|DEL]RT: no such device


Ok so I'm stupid.. I didn't have the usb cable plugged into the PC.. BUT I still have an issue enabling the USBD0 device (always have since upgrading to OZ.. (2 months I think)..

So as of now.. The device is "up" but not assigned an IP address.. I can not run ifdown or ifup against it...

ifdown responds with:
route: SIOC[ADD|DEL]RT: no such device

lsmod does show usbdcode and usbdmonitor if that helps... (also begining to think this was the wrong thread for this) (sorry bout that)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
microsoft/linux
post Oct 29 2005, 03:07 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 238
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Sebec, ME, USA
Member No.: 7,225



mines working. I upgraded to 3.13(Sharp) and it just started working. my /etc/network/interfaces reads
CODE
#Zaurus(USB) interface
iface usb0 inet dhcp

My Z is set to run a dhcp server, otherwise you'd have to set both computers(Z and laptop) to use a static IP address
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tirant
post Mar 12 2006, 09:31 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 8-March 06
Member No.: 9,317



My Opinion is that syncing should work out-of-the-box, not with these ugly hacks. Yes, I know they are trivial things for some of us, but OZ should work for people without Linux Knowledge!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Mar 12 2006, 11:03 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(tirant @ Mar 12 2006, 05:31 PM)
My Opinion is that syncing should work out-of-the-box, not with these ugly hacks. Yes, I know they are trivial things for some of us, but OZ should work for people without Linux Knowledge!
*


This is not a distribution (OZ), but a environment (Opie) problem. Syncing GPE with opensync works flawless in OpenZaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tirant
post Mar 12 2006, 12:39 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 8-March 06
Member No.: 9,317



QUOTE(koen @ Mar 12 2006, 08:03 PM)
QUOTE(tirant @ Mar 12 2006, 05:31 PM)
My Opinion is that syncing should work out-of-the-box, not with these ugly hacks. Yes, I know they are trivial things for some of us, but OZ should work for people without Linux Knowledge!
*


This is not a distribution (OZ), but a environment (Opie) problem. Syncing GPE with opensync works flawless in OpenZaurus.
*



Oops, correct. Wrong forum wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 04:55 AM