OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Another Stupid Question, I'm Sure., Installing Packages? Eh?
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 26 2006, 03:18 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Well, I'm flashed, I'm running, My network is working, (Tested in the Browser, plus I've been MUCKing. smile.gif ) But when I go into the Package Manager, the package list is blank (I've set it to show only uninstalled packages) I've updated the lists, it SEEMS to download the packages.gz files from the feeds, but doesn't show any packages. How can I fix this? I really could do with some software on here.

Cheers, Ferret.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mimeca
post Aug 26 2006, 09:10 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 12-February 05
From: Valencia
Member No.: 6,460



What's your GPE version?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 26 2006, 01:04 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Good Question. I'm on 3.5.4.2

Aha! GPE 2.7

I tried doing "ipkg install xmms" from the CLI, just as a gueess, but couldn't find any packages. That one I think WAS my stupidity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Aug 26 2006, 01:39 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



did you do an 'ipkg update' before trying to install anything?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 28 2006, 03:12 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Yep.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 31 2006, 07:05 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Basically, no-one knows, do they? XD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Aug 31 2006, 08:05 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Using the GUI package manager is not recommended as it doesn't work (very well?). This is probably why you have few replies.

To start ruling things out, what does 'ipkg list' show you from the command line? This should indicate whether there are any package lists available locally (the ones that have been downloaded after an 'ipkg update')


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 31 2006, 11:28 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Hundreds of packages. Let me guess. Here's where I do this pkg_add style, right? Does installing a package install all Deps for it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Aug 31 2006, 11:56 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Aug 31 2006, 07:28 PM)
Hundreds of packages. Let me guess. Here's where I do this pkg_add style, right? Does installing a package install all Deps for it?
*


Yes it will install all needed deps, this isn't pdaX wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 31 2006, 02:09 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Ok. . . "ipkg install xmms_1.2.10-r2"

Cannot find package.

What am I doing wrong NOW?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 31 2006, 03:46 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



I've just found the problem.

Interestingly, It's the problem that drove me from Solaris.


...

I HATE DNS!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wildherb
post Oct 9 2006, 06:13 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,887



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Aug 26 2006, 12:18 PM)
Well, I'm flashed, I'm running, My network is working, (Tested in the Browser, plus I've been MUCKing.  smile.gif ) But when I go into the Package Manager, the package list is blank (I've set it to show only uninstalled packages) I've updated the lists, it SEEMS to download the packages.gz files from the feeds, but doesn't show any packages. How can I fix this? I really could do with some software on here.

Cheers, Ferret.
*


Hi Ferret

Try
CODE
ipkg list | grep xmms
. This will show if your Z could see the feeds when you did the update.

I have successfully installed several packages but I'd make the following obesrvations:
Do everything from command line
There is not much space on root so you might want to get an SD card (formatted as ext2) to put your apps on. Oh, and you must remember to do
CODE
ipkg-link add <pkg>
afterwards
The installs can be very slow so be patient! I often leave a terminal window open just PINGing openzaurus.org to reassure myself that the comms are still up.

Best of luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 09:59 AM