OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Localization Problem
JimR
post Aug 5 2008, 04:40 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-July 08
From: Japan
Member No.: 22,048



Hi there, I just got my 3200 and I'm having some trouble localizing it.
I've been following the wikipedia instructions (http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Localising/Converting_to_English)
but when I get to the 5th line,
"mv .hide/libjpn* ."
I get the message
"Usage: mv SOURCE DEST
or: mv SOURCE...DIRECTORY
Rename SOURCE to DEST, or move SOURCE to DIRECTORY"

What am I supposed to do next?
I'm totally lost now...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Aug 5 2008, 07:36 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Hmm....Those instructions look funny to me. You just made the directory .hide, so there shouldn't be any libs in it. My guess is that the instructions are either missing a step or miswritten.

I'd wait for somebody who knows what they're doing to come along and give some advice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Aug 5 2008, 05:57 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Looks like a typo. Maybe try the package c3000-custom-jaen_0.2_arm.ipk mentioned below those instructions. It is here:

http://zaurus.daemons.gr/menaie/feed/c3000...aen_0.2_arm.ipk

EDIT: Did you type the dot at the end of line 5? In step 4 you moved all files (in the /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja directory) that have .qm in them to the .hide directory. Maybe one of them has libjpn as well as .qm in the filename. if so, then the dot in line 5 is the destination directory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JimR
post Aug 5 2008, 06:25 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-July 08
From: Japan
Member No.: 22,048



Thanks guys.
While I was messing around with it, I went ahead and used an english transfer pak I found somewhere on here; but I've decided that I really want to keep Japanese support for dictionaries and whatnot.
SOOOO...I guess that means I need to revert to a clean Sharp rom install, and then try the pak that the_Oak posted (I really appreciate that link, too).
So, in order to start from scratch, do I need to reformat or what?
I checked the wiki, but the guide to restoring is a bit spotty in the details department.
There were directions on doing a factory reset for the C3000, is the procedure the same for the 3200?
Sorry to ask so many questions, but I will fully admit I am a total noob with Liunx--but learning is fun!

Thanks,
Jim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JimR
post Aug 6 2008, 06:29 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 12-July 08
From: Japan
Member No.: 22,048



Hey! I did it all by meself!
Thanks to the package you posted, the_oak.
Cheers!

Now, does anyone know of a good .png viewer?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Aug 6 2008, 04:31 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Cloverpaint opens and saves as png and jpg.

http://homepage1.nifty.com/fluorit/pda/clo...ntmanual_e.html

EDIT: There is a newer version (1.1b7) somewhere, but i can't remember where. Also this program supports VGA, but only in portrait mode.

EDIT 2: Here's the newer one:

http://pda-paint.cocolog-nifty.com/clover/...rpaint_11_.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Aug 6 2008, 09:34 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



QUOTE(the_oak @ Aug 6 2008, 10:57 AM) *
EDIT: Did you type the dot at the end of line 5? In step 4 you moved all files (in the /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/ja directory) that have .qm in them to the .hide directory. Maybe one of them has libjpn as well as .qm in the filename. if so, then the dot in line 5 is the destination directory.


I think the last dot must have been missing otherwise mv would not have given that message.

This wiki page is about keeping the Japanese locale but inserting English in the menus. Someone has obviously copied and pasted it from somewhere and not added links for the files the script needs in the later steps.

QPE supports Japanese even if you change the locale so I'm not really sure what the point of this is. If your Japanese is competent enough to handle QPE then you can choose Japanese, otherwise stick to what you know. I will try to fix the wiki page.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 08:30 AM