OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Has Anyone Loaded Qtopia 2.1.2?, I just flashed it.
harvell
post Feb 16 2007, 11:13 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



So far it looks sweet. I got the lead from Axim on the following thread

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...08&#entry154408

I flashed it with out any hiccups. How many other people? have this loaded? I couldn't find any other threads about this for 5500/5600 Z's.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HoloVector
post Feb 16 2007, 12:03 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 22-March 06
From: Winnipeg, Canada
Member No.: 9,420



QUOTE(harvell @ Feb 16 2007, 01:13 PM)
So far it looks sweet.  I got the lead from Axim on the following thread

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...08&#entry154408

I flashed it with out any hiccups.  How many other people? have this loaded?  I couldn't find any other threads about this for 5500/5600 Z's.
*

I'd like to try it but, I don't have 5500 and the models I own aren't supported. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 16 2007, 12:33 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I saw that yesterday on the Spanish forums.
It would be very interesting if this was ported to later clamshells and "slipstreamed" into Cacko, but I'm probably just dreaming. wink.gif
Besides, I think Cacko is already at it's last release (1.23)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zaurick
post Feb 16 2007, 12:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 2-October 06
Member No.: 11,617



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 16 2007, 09:33 PM)
I saw that yesterday on the Spanish forums.
It would be very interesting if this was ported to later clamshells and "slipstreamed" into Cacko, but I'm probably just dreaming.  wink.gif
Besides, I think Cacko is already at it's last release (1.23)
*


There are some other models here :

http://www.qtopia.net/modules/mydownloads/viewcat.php?cid=6

Are they OK ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Feb 16 2007, 01:08 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Aren't these two years old?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 16 2007, 01:14 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps wink.gif

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Feb 16 2007, 01:20 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 16 2007, 01:21 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(jfv @ Feb 16 2007, 03:08 PM)
Aren't these two years old?
*

From website:
------------------------------
Category: ROM flash images
Download Now! Zaurus c3000 flash rom Popular Version: Submitted Date 2006/11/5
Description : This is the ROM flash image for the Sharp Zaurus c3000, containing Qtopia 2.1.2
------------------------------
The current Cacko 1.23 uses qtopia 1.5.4

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Feb 16 2007, 01:24 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 16 2007, 02:19 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 17 2007, 07:14 AM)
I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps  wink.gif
*



ironically, i had been waiting for this c3000 release for ages and it got released after the c3000 was EOPed (end of production) and i given up on it and had to make my own custom distro....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 16 2007, 02:26 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 16 2007, 04:19 PM)
QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 17 2007, 07:14 AM)
I looked at the one for the C3000
It's 27mb, and when you extract the hdimage1.tgz, it's 21.8mb
How does this fit on a C3000's flash when it is only 16mb?

nevermind, hdimage1 goes onto the hard drive. opps  wink.gif
*



ironically, i had been waiting for this c3000 release for ages and it got released after the c3000 was EOPed (end of production) and i given up on it and had to make my own custom distro....
*


Ok, here comes a really off the cuff question...
could this C3000 qtopia version somehow be "merged" into Cacko and be run on a C3100/C3200 or a C1000?
Or would this be pointless?

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Feb 16 2007, 02:27 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 16 2007, 02:49 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I noticed there are some different programs and games in this archive. (hdimage1.tgz)
I extracted the game "fifteen" and it's .desktop, and *.png file and copied this to my cacko C3100
When I tried to run fifteen in a console, it complained about missing libqtopia2.so

This must be a newer library, so I gave up on this idea, since the dependencies could "snowball" if I pursued this. dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Feb 16 2007, 07:15 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



I just flashed my 5500 with it. My take on it ... it works ... but the built-in apps is kinda like a throw back to the dark ages ...

The Notes, Pictures and possibly other apps all do one *stupid* thing: They scan the internal and I think external media for the supported documents and present a "protected" view of available files. I think it may seem like a way to be user friendly, but when you think of how many files one can squeeze into a 1gb sd card (or 4gb sdcard ... I've not tested this yet), then you know it's going to take a long time!

Besides, users who choose a linux device, should at least know about directory structure to be comfortable in navigating through a browse dialog right? I mean, even Windows have that!

I might install some of the apps from the oz/sharp feed and see if they work. Post back later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Feb 16 2007, 09:48 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(jfv @ Feb 16 2007, 03:08 PM)
Aren't these two years old?
*

But even the 80's are coming back in style. rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 16 2007, 09:52 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Antikx @ Feb 17 2007, 03:48 PM)
QUOTE(jfv @ Feb 16 2007, 03:08 PM)
Aren't these two years old?
*

But even the 80's are coming back in style. rolleyes.gif
*



unless it can run netfront and/or opera, i don't think it would be worth upgrading to. besides, the same reason why some people are staying on SharpROM/Cacko and not moving to OPIE applies to this new ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Feb 16 2007, 11:58 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



QUOTE(Snappy @ Feb 16 2007, 07:15 PM)
I just flashed my 5500 with it. My take on it ... it works ... but the built-in apps is kinda like a throw back to the dark ages ...

The Notes, Pictures and possibly other apps all do one *stupid* thing: They scan the internal and I think external media for the supported documents and present a "protected" view of available files. I think it may seem like a way to be user friendly, but when you think of how many files one can squeeze into a 1gb sd card (or 4gb sdcard ... I've not tested this yet), then you know it's going to take a long time!

Besides, users who choose a linux device, should at least know about directory structure to be comfortable in navigating through a browse dialog right? I mean, even Windows have that!

I might install some of the apps from the oz/sharp feed and see if they work. Post back later.
*



I do agree with you on that. However I'm giving it the wife test.... If it's friendly enough for her to use it than it would be a victory for me. I'm tired of her asking me to check my "palm thingy" for phone numbers and addresses. I'm still testing it myself. I'll try to post some screenshots.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 17 2007, 12:50 PM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



long ago I asked Maslovsky about making a qtopia2 rom with qtopia1 libraries for backward compatibility, so that we could have the best of both worlds. He seemed to think it was quite a difficult thing to do, and at the time there wasn't a compelling reason to do so maybe.

one of the snags is that sharp/cacko is based on qtopia 1.5.4 which was never fully opened under GPL, and sharp apps are of course not opensource, but fortunately they run with qtopia1.7 libraries which if (if I understand correctly) what most developers for sharp/cacko use.

I think that trying to have both q2 and q1 apps running at same time will be too demanding on memory since two fairly large s/w libraries will be in use at the same time.

OZ with opieII & qtopia2 might be the way forward for those who want everything really up to date.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 12:36 PM