OESF Portal | OESF Forum | OESF Wiki | LinuxPDA | ELSI (coming soon) | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

44 Pages V  « < 25 26 27 28 29 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Htc Universal, ... running Debian EABI
ShiroiKuma
post May 26 2008, 11:59 PM
Post #391





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(datathief @ May 27 2008, 01:42 AM) *
Should be fixed now (you'll still need to replace the font though).

It works, displays fine now.

It seems, however, that the mute via loudness button while a call is ringing is not working with it.

EDIT 1: My bad, I guess it's working, let me test again...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 28 2008, 05:16 AM
Post #392





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



Your titchy-phoneui-shiny in the current update is really an elegant interface, very nice and impressive.

There is a nasty bug in the scripts, which just inflicted me, so will describe the situation how it happened to me.

I was making a test call to the Uni from another phone, right around the time when I accepted it by pressing the accept button, don't know if it was a fraction of a second before accept or after, I received an unexpected SMS. This resulted in the phone vibrating, without stopping. I could hit the OK button to dismiss the SMS info, but then the Accept Call? info screen was on top and couldn't be dismissed, the vibration couldn't be killed, I couldn't switch into any other VT, and couldn't kill it with Ctrl-C, had to reboot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datathief
post May 28 2008, 05:25 AM
Post #393





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,231



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 27 2008, 07:59 AM) *
QUOTE(datathief @ May 27 2008, 01:42 AM) *
Should be fixed now (you'll still need to replace the font though).

It works, displays fine now.

It seems, however, that the mute via loudness button while a call is ringing is not working with it.

EDIT 1: My bad, I guess it's working, let me test again...

This is due to some sort of bug in titchy-button-daemon, where the front panel buttons (backlight, volume, etc.) sometimes stop working after resume. I think I've fixed it (it works for me) in the newest version.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datathief
post May 28 2008, 05:31 AM
Post #394





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,231



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 28 2008, 01:16 PM) *
Your titchy-phoneui-shiny in the current update is really an elegant interface, very nice and impressive.

There is a nasty bug in the scripts, which just inflicted me, so will describe the situation how it happened to me.

I was making a test call to the Uni from another phone, right around the time when I accepted it by pressing the accept button, don't know if it was a fraction of a second before accept or after, I received an unexpected SMS. This resulted in the phone vibrating, without stopping. I could hit the OK button to dismiss the SMS info, but then the Accept Call? info screen was on top and couldn't be dismissed, the vibration couldn't be killed, I couldn't switch into any other VT, and couldn't kill it with Ctrl-C, had to reboot.

I'm not sure how this could happen. I'll look into it.

I will add the ability to close a screen with Ctrl-C, though, because that's caught me a couple of times while developing it. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakkinen
post May 29 2008, 09:39 AM
Post #395





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 21,846



How can I install Debian on my Uni without a Linux PC??? Anyone can tell me??? I created 3 partitions on my SD card: 1st FAT, 2nd Ext2 and 3rd Swamp space. I unpacked the tar file (Debian) to the 2nd partition by using RAMDISK.cab on my Uni (I saw 4 file in directory dev/mmc/blk0: part1, part2, part5, part6, and I mounted vfat with part1, ext2 with part5). But when I used haret.exe, it warned Failed to load file \zImage. How can I boot in Linux??? I have to edit default.txt and zImage.txt???
Thanks in advance!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datathief
post May 29 2008, 10:38 AM
Post #396





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,231



QUOTE(hakkinen @ May 29 2008, 05:39 PM) *
How can I install Debian on my Uni without a Linux PC??? Anyone can tell me??? I created 3 partitions on my SD card: 1st FAT, 2nd Ext2 and 3rd Swamp space. I unpacked the tar file (Debian) to the 2nd partition by using RAMDISK.cab on my Uni (I saw 4 file in directory dev/mmc/blk0: part1, part2, part5, part6, and I mounted vfat with part1, ext2 with part5). But when I used haret.exe, it warned Failed to load file \zImage. How can I boot in Linux??? I have to edit default.txt and zImage.txt???
Thanks in advance!!!

The file called zImage is the Linux kernel. If yours is named zImage.txt and you can't rename it to zImage, then try editing default.txt - change the first line to:
CODE
set kernel "zImage.txt"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakkinen
post May 29 2008, 11:12 AM
Post #397





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 21,846



Thanks very much. Now I can boot in Linux, but it warned Cannot open root device "mmc/blk0/part5" or unknown-block(0,0)...
Please append a correct "root=" boot option... Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0). How can I boot in Linux? I mounted ext2 with part5 and unpacked the tar file here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datathief
post May 29 2008, 12:09 PM
Post #398





Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,231



QUOTE(hakkinen @ May 29 2008, 07:12 PM) *
Thanks very much. Now I can boot in Linux, but it warned Cannot open root device "mmc/blk0/part5" or unknown-block(0,0)...
Please append a correct "root=" boot option... Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0). How can I boot in Linux? I mounted ext2 with part5 and unpacked the tar file here

This is probably due to the kernel using a different naming convention for the device - /dev/mmcblk0p* instead of /dev/mmc/blk0/part*. Try changing the "root=..." option in default.txt to root=/dev/mmcblk0p5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom_A
post May 30 2008, 01:36 AM
Post #399





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-May 08
Member No.: 21,850



QUOTE(datathief @ Apr 4 2008, 01:03 AM) *
I've been using an HTC Universal for a month now, and I've all but forgotten about my poor Zaurus. ohmy.gif



Wow, I _love_ it. I think a distro for the Universal would be great. I just need to get WLAN working ( with WPA ) to be able to use it. But installing was really easy. Very well done. Could you point me in the direction of some howtos on how to get the UI, the phoneUI and WLAN working?

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aku-aku
post May 30 2008, 03:00 AM
Post #400





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-May 08
Member No.: 21,852



QUOTE(Tom_A @ May 30 2008, 10:36 AM) *
Wow, I _love_ it. I think a distro for the Universal would be great. I just need to get WLAN working ( with WPA ) to be able to use it. But installing was really easy. Very well done. Could you point me in the direction of some howtos on how to get the UI, the phoneUI and WLAN working?


I've just started using Titchy Mobile too. There are some packages listed on the Titchy Mobile homepage that aren't installed by default. These can be installed by running "apt-get install package-name" (having first set up the USB network per the instructions on the Titchy Mobile homepage).

To get WPA working, you'll need to apt-get install wpasupplicant, then follow one of the many howtos (I used this one as a rough guide, though it's not targeted at Debian). I've got problems with mine at the moment, which look like they're due to the fact that I hide my SSID - it seems the scan setting in the config file may need to be commented out or removed. You'll also find (I think) that you need to set -Dmadwifi rather than -Dndiswrapper in the wpa_supplicant command line.

I was testing out my wpa_supplicant config by running "wpa_supplicant -dd -Dmadwifi -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf" - that'll spew debug to the console and allow you to see what's going on.

If you get your WPA connection working before I fix mine, do let me know how!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakkinen
post May 30 2008, 07:45 AM
Post #401





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 21,846



ShiroiKuma, your image needs about 800Mb of space on my SD card (not 600Mb). Thanks for your work. Can u tell me again how to make USB port work with my Windows PC??? I read introduction but can't make USB work

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 30 2008, 12:44 PM
Post #402





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(hakkinen @ May 30 2008, 05:45 PM) *
ShiroiKuma, your image needs about 800Mb of space on my SD card (not 600Mb). Thanks for your work. Can u tell me again how to make USB port work with my Windows PC??? I read introduction but can't make USB work

http://wiki.neilandtheresa.co.uk/Titchy_Mo.../Networking/USB

Don't know if this works, man. I don't use Windows.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post May 31 2008, 09:08 AM
Post #403





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



I just upgraded packages on my universal, install titchy-phoneui-shiny and apt-get autoremove
and now I've lost my X server

mojo:~# /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc: line 5: /usr/bin/X11/X: No such file or directory
/etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc: line 5: exec: /usr/bin/X11/X: cannot execute: No such file or directory
xinit: Server error.

Sumuo, I was using your image, which package provided the Xserver?

EDIT:
Never mind;

# ln -s /etc/X11/X /usr/bin/X11/X

fixed it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sam Liddicott
post May 31 2008, 09:28 AM
Post #404





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 7-May 08
Member No.: 21,745



How do I make phoneui shiny go away?

I can't make the missed-call screen go away.
even "chvt" from an SSH session doesn't return:
strace tail:

open("/dev/tty0", O_RDWR) = 3
ioctl(3, KDGKBTYPE, 0xbef24c4f) = 0
ioctl(3, VIDIOC_G_COMP or VT_ACTIVATE, 0x1) = 0
ioctl(3, VIDIOC_S_COMP or VT_WAITACTIVE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hakkinen
post Jun 1 2008, 10:23 AM
Post #405





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 21,846



My USB port works ok now. But after 10 minutes, it disconnects automatically so I can't connect to Internet anymore. I had to unplug USB and plug in again, it worked. How can I solve this problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

44 Pages V  « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2017 - 05:47 AM