OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 2 Or 4gb Sd - Somebody Tried Them?, have heared better not to try SD > 1GB
gsgmx
post Nov 11 2005, 12:20 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 8,188



Hi,

my 512MB SD died a few days ago and i wonder what replacement would be optimal.

1GB are affordable but
2GBs are also getting cheaper nowdays. Problem is - i have been told they don't work (reliable?) in the Z. 1GBs are fine.

Has somebody some experience?


regards
George
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jbruno
post Nov 11 2005, 12:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 2,351



QUOTE(gsgmx @ Nov 11 2005, 12:20 PM)
Hi,

my 512MB SD died a few days ago and i wonder what replacement would be optimal.

1GB are affordable but
2GBs are also getting cheaper nowdays.  Problem is - i have been told they don't work (reliable?) in the Z. 1GBs are fine.

Has somebody some experience?


regards
George
*


Yes, I know that a Patriot Memory 2GB SD card won't work in my SL6000. I haven't tried a 1GB, but I think they work.

My built in SD reader on my WinXP machine wouldn't read the 2GB card either (as soon as I wrote a 4-byte file on it, it showed as half full.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Nov 11 2005, 12:41 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



QUOTE(gsgmx @ Nov 11 2005, 03:20 PM)
Hi,

my 512MB SD died a few days ago and i wonder what replacement would be optimal.

1GB are affordable but
2GBs are also getting cheaper nowdays.  Problem is - i have been told they don't work (reliable?) in the Z. 1GBs are fine.

Has somebody some experience?


regards
George
*


I have not heard of anybody using SD cards over 1 GB. 1 GB is good, but nothing larger works (at all), as far as I know...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Nov 11 2005, 02:12 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



My 1Gb Dane-Elec SD Card works perfectly in my SL-C750, formatted as ext2. Don't know about the 2Gb version to be honest
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 11 2005, 08:31 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



i just recently saw a 4GB card for sale, so ia m wondering if they will work as well
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 17 2005, 05:30 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



The stock ROMs will not handle any SD above 1GB. However, you might get 2GB working with a patched 2.6 kernel either with OpenZaurus or OpenBSD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post Nov 18 2005, 12:13 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



Is there any possibility to backport SD driver from 2.6 kernel to 2.4.20 sharp or tetsu or cacko?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Nov 18 2005, 04:41 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



QUOTE(Meanie @ Nov 17 2005, 08:30 PM)
you might get 2GB working with a patched 2.6 kernel either with OpenZaurus or OpenBSD


Since when OpenBSD started to support MMC/SD cards?
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alfinfrance
post Nov 21 2005, 03:29 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 24-October 05
Member No.: 8,389



I've bought a 1 Go SD Card and it works fine in my 5500. Waiting for my C3100 ( in few days ). Are all the > 1Go SD cards SDIO? If yes, it won't work sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Nov 22 2005, 11:09 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



QUOTE(Alfinfrance @ Nov 21 2005, 06:29 PM)
I've bought a 1 Go SD Card and it works fine in my 5500. Waiting for my C3100 ( in few days ). Are all the > 1Go SD cards SDIO? If yes, it won't work sad.gif
*


There is no SDIO support on the C3100. And the SD memory cards are not SDIO as far as I know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 05:34 PM