OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Porting M5rc14 To Real Hardware
Mrflying
post Feb 18 2008, 07:38 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 08
Member No.: 21,256



Hi everyone:
Does anyone can help me? Thanks in advance.
I'm now working on porting m5rc14 to our platform.
I meet 2 problems:

1) when system starts, console seem almost hangs. and process
system_server
occupies 99% of CPU time.

This is my logcat:
W/AudioFlinger( 557): Using stubbed audio hardware. No sound will be
produced.
I/AudioFlinger( 557): AudioFlinger's main thread ready to run.
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: addService(AudioFlinger,
0x133f8)
I/sysproc ( 557): System server: starting Android runtime.
I/sysproc ( 557): System server: starting Android services.
I/SystemServer( 557): Entered the Android system server!
I/sysproc ( 557): System server: entering thread pool.
D/TouchDex( 557): TouchDex parent waiting for pid=580 (timeout=36.4s)
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
D/AudioFlinger( 557): Audio hardware entering standby
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: unable to find service
activity
I/runtime ( 539): Still waiting for activity manager...
I/ServiceManager( 539): ServiceManager: waiting for service activity
E/TouchDex( 557): timed out waiting for 580; kill(0) returns 0

It seems services don't respond to SeviceManager, it doesn't happen on
previous version

2). There's nothing appear on the screen. (screen is turned to black,
it doesn't happen on previous version, too)

m3rc37 system runs well on our platform with new released kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Feb 19 2008, 12:32 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Did you create a new kernel with latest Google patches applied?
If not, then don't bother to try, it won't work on the kernel used in the previous release, since they made some major changes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Feb 19 2008, 07:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 19 2008, 09:32 AM) *
Did you create a new kernel with latest Google patches applied?
If not, then don't bother to try, it won't work on the kernel used in the previous release, since they made some major changes.


is there the same for kernel 2.6.24 ? i cannot find it...
would someone (2orO ? wink.gif compile it for us please ? tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Feb 19 2008, 06:47 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



QUOTE(Mrflying @ Feb 19 2008, 12:38 PM) *
2). There's nothing appear on the screen. (screen is turned to black,
it doesn't happen on previous version, too)


Same for Angstrom Zaurus. Just blank screen, nothing displayed.

I don't think this would work though, give a try to copy /dev/fb0 to /dev/graphics/fb0 and chmod 666. The emulator is working like that.

Android Zaurus: Confusing issue of Android m5_rc14
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/84934031.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mrflying
post Feb 21 2008, 01:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 08
Member No.: 21,256



QUOTE(Android Zaurus @ Feb 19 2008, 06:47 PM) *
QUOTE(Mrflying @ Feb 19 2008, 12:38 PM) *
2). There's nothing appear on the screen. (screen is turned to black,
it doesn't happen on previous version, too)


Same for Angstrom Zaurus. Just blank screen, nothing displayed.

I don't think this would work though, give a try to copy /dev/fb0 to /dev/graphics/fb0 and chmod 666. The emulator is working like that.

Android Zaurus: Confusing issue of Android m5_rc14
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/84934031.html



I've tried copy a binary to /dev/graphics/fb0, and it can work. My framebuffer driver works well
But Android still not print something on the screem. It semms google make some modification on
SufaceFlinger serives.
As I trace the system bootup, it uses mmap to map /dev/graphics/fb0 to memory.

BTW, the boot very slow problem is solved, it's because my flash driver I/O thread's priority is too low.
Now system can boot successfully, but still have nothing on screen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 21 2008, 02:57 PM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Mrflying @ Feb 21 2008, 09:15 AM) *
I've tried copy a binary to /dev/graphics/fb0, and it can work. My framebuffer driver works well
But Android still not print something on the screem. It semms google make some modification on
SufaceFlinger serives.
As I trace the system bootup, it uses mmap to map /dev/graphics/fb0 to memory.


how did you copy it?

you need to do "cp -prd /dev/XXX /dev/graphics/" to copy the device, or, better yet, use "mknod" instead!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mrflying
post Feb 21 2008, 07:04 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 08
Member No.: 21,256



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 21 2008, 02:57 PM) *
QUOTE(Mrflying @ Feb 21 2008, 09:15 AM) *
I've tried copy a binary to /dev/graphics/fb0, and it can work. My framebuffer driver works well
But Android still not print something on the screem. It semms google make some modification on
SufaceFlinger serives.
As I trace the system bootup, it uses mmap to map /dev/graphics/fb0 to memory.


how did you copy it?

you need to do "cp -prd /dev/XXX /dev/graphics/" to copy the device, or, better yet, use "mknod" instead!


I use android's original init, and it creates device node automatically; /dev/graphics/fb0 (29, 0) is alreadly there
when system boot-up.
I mean I copy a binary image into the fb device, and there's something shown on screen
And I also use mmap() to map the fb device, write something, and it works.
My framebuffer driver seems works fine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mrflying
post Feb 21 2008, 07:12 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-January 08
Member No.: 21,256



QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 19 2008, 12:32 AM) *
Did you create a new kernel with latest Google patches applied?
If not, then don't bother to try, it won't work on the kernel used in the previous release, since they made some major changes.


Ya. I've updated to newest kernel. Google do minor modify on new kernel. The major change is the binder driver.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Feb 22 2008, 11:35 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(Mrflying @ Feb 22 2008, 04:12 AM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 19 2008, 12:32 AM) *
Did you create a new kernel with latest Google patches applied?
If not, then don't bother to try, it won't work on the kernel used in the previous release, since they made some major changes.


Ya. I've updated to newest kernel. Google do minor modify on new kernel. The major change is the binder driver.


so is it working now?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 25 2008, 02:51 PM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



very much please to have even a partial version working!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM) *
very much please to have even a partial version working!!!

You mean you don't even care that the screen is black all the time? tongue.gif
I've created an installable image from the new SDK. From what I see in the traces Android starts normally. It's just that there's nothing displayed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 26 2008, 04:37 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 26 2008, 07:51 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM) *
very much please to have even a partial version working!!!

You mean you don't even care that the screen is black all the time? tongue.gif
I've created an installable image from the new SDK. From what I see in the traces Android starts normally. It's just that there's nothing displayed...


if you tap around on the screen, can you tell if something's happening by looking at debug output and any processes/threads running?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zaurick
post Feb 26 2008, 08:48 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 2-October 06
Member No.: 11,617



QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 26 2008, 07:51 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM) *
very much please to have even a partial version working!!!

You mean you don't even care that the screen is black all the time? tongue.gif
I've created an installable image from the new SDK. From what I see in the traces Android starts normally. It's just that there's nothing displayed...


Hi,

Have you got some IOCTL errors about /dev/fb or /dev/graphics in the debug output.
The last time i've got a black screen problem when porting an appli, it was because of the use of a double framebuffer.
The framebuffer was mmaped in ram with the size of two screens and it started with the second screen !!!
and then tried to switch the base address of the visible window with "FBIOPAN" IOCTL (don't work with our driver).
Maybe It's not our actual problem, but i have no other idea.

All of you make a great work about porting android !!!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Feb 26 2008, 09:36 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(zaurick @ Feb 26 2008, 05:48 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Feb 26 2008, 07:51 AM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 25 2008, 11:51 PM) *
very much please to have even a partial version working!!!

You mean you don't even care that the screen is black all the time? tongue.gif
I've created an installable image from the new SDK. From what I see in the traces Android starts normally. It's just that there's nothing displayed...


Hi,

Have you got some IOCTL errors about /dev/fb or /dev/graphics in the debug output.
The last time i've got a black screen problem when porting an appli, it was because of the use of a double framebuffer.
The framebuffer was mmaped in ram with the size of two screens and it started with the second screen !!!
and then tried to switch the base address of the visible window with "FBIOPAN" IOCTL (don't work with our driver).
Maybe It's not our actual problem, but i have no other idea.

All of you make a great work about porting android !!!


I see no IOCTL errors of significance. All devices are created nicely when running the /init executable, including /dev/graphics/fb0. This is no double framebuffer as far as I can tell. All services start successfully (I don't see the errors as described in the first post).

The main difference between Qemu emulator and Zaurus seems to be the supported OpenGL options. From what I remember, the Zaurus doesn't support page flipping.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Feb 26 2008, 05:32 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



My guess for now. Let the Android use drivers/video/pxafb.c not platform driver in arch/arm/mach-pxa. I'm working on another project for now and my Zaurus is configured for m3 Android. Later I'd like to try to build the kernel with CONFIG_FB_PXA=m and see what happens.

By the way, I found this wiki is very informational.

Android on OMAP - Embeddedlinux
http://elinux.org/Android_on_OMAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 08:01 AM