OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Make A Ranking ?!, Hardware Ranking; what is important ?
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 26 2006, 11:53 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Believe it or not, I prefer the User Interface of Minimo. . . Toolbars annoy me. . . Minimo leaves alot more of my screen for browsing than say Opera, Firefox, or PocketIE. . . And also, It's one of very few good browsers for PocketPC. . I mean realistically, it's Minimo, Opera, or PokcetIE. . . Opera is commercial, PocketIE sucks. . Minimo is the only one left.

I have to say, I wouldn't mind a GPS at all, it's less to carry, And I know I'd use it. But on the other hand, Bluetooth GPS's cost about £40. . ($70? I dunno.) and can be powered off Nokia batteries, so it'd last longer. Although with 3 Nokia batteries at 2550mAh in the PocketPenguin, or a Universal 3200mAh battery, I'd still get a pretty good runtime. . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 26 2006, 04:37 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



yeah thats the problem with hdmi is that its all digital, no analog so there is no hdmi to vga adaptor. its a real pain but i am looking into routing the vga outputs that go to the hdmi chip off board for a vga adaptor, looks like it will need a buffer chip sad.gif

gps wise there is nothing really for linux that would live up to what you are looking for.

if we did have gps softwore a 1G SD card would be more than what would be needed for quite a few maps, not an entire country but perhaps a state or two
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 26 2006, 07:41 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 27 2006, 12:37 AM)
yeah thats the problem with hdmi is that its all digital, no analog so there is no hdmi to vga adaptor. its a real pain but i am looking into routing the vga outputs that go to the hdmi chip off board for a vga adaptor, looks like it will need a buffer chip sad.gif

gps wise there is nothing really for linux that would live up to what you are looking for.

if we did have gps softwore a 1G SD card would be more than what would be needed for quite a few maps, not an entire country but perhaps a state or two
*

unless it could be made to work wth google maps, maybe?
my point was really that i'm more interested in the main functions being amazing than in a billion kinda cool sideshow features. if gps is cheap'n'easy and we might see some use..then do it, by all means.

hmm.... any hope for hdmi >> dvi >> vga via one o those adapters that come with geforce boards? they are fairly small, and easy to come by.. The reason I care is that more of the monitors I see are vga than dvi. I'm hoping to plugin everywhere I go smile.gif

along the same lines.... rca adapter? video presentations on older tv, etc

I see the point of using hdmi, but maybe we will need a little adapter brick?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 27 2006, 02:39 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



The DVI connector contains Analog lines, which are just routed straight through to the VGA pins on a VGA-DVI connector. That's why there's no adaptor to let you plug a DVI monitor into a VGA socketed computer. A HDMI-DVI adaptor has no Analogue lines connected, as it's a Pure Digital Signal, so sadly that wouldn't work. You'd need one of those converter boxes that can translate between DVI, VGA, RF and Composite Signals. . etc etc etc. Yeah, Big, Ugly, Expensive, Mains powered.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 27 2006, 04:04 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Aug 27 2006, 10:39 PM)
The DVI connector contains Analog lines, which are just routed straight through to the VGA pins on a VGA-DVI connector. That's why there's no adaptor to let you plug a DVI monitor into a VGA socketed computer. A HDMI-DVI adaptor has no Analogue lines connected, as it's a Pure Digital Signal, so sadly that wouldn't work. You'd need one of those converter boxes that can translate between DVI, VGA, RF and Composite Signals. .  etc etc etc. Yeah, Big, Ugly, Expensive, Mains powered.
*


blech. still... i could output to my hdtv smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Aug 28 2006, 03:10 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Which is the point of HDMI, isn't it? XD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 28 2006, 03:42 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



hdmi is great until you look at the drm stuff in it, as it is we may have to "clone" an hdmi applince or two to get the keys in the negotiation

if i can o it perhaps it would be better to just use the hdmi plug for the vga signals? it means we still have to have an external buffer chipset and we will have to build our own adaptors. as long as there are enough pins then it should be doable i will just have to do extra work to get it going.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 28 2006, 06:50 PM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Aug 28 2006, 11:10 AM)
Which is the point of HDMI, isn't it? XD
*

yeah... but not really such a good portability solution without an adapter. One is far more likely to see vga and rca connectors while travelling and working. While i might not sit down in a hotel and do a spreadsheet on the tv, I might watch a movie. and of courseat work hijacking an old monitor would be fun.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 28 2006, 06:53 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 28 2006, 11:42 AM)
hdmi is great until you look at the drm stuff in it, as it is we may have to "clone" an hdmi applince or two to get the keys in the negotiation

if i can o it perhaps it would be better to just use the hdmi plug for the vga signals? it means we still have to have an external buffer chipset and we will have to build our own adaptors. as long as there are enough pins then it should be doable i will just have to do extra work to get it going.
*

to haunt you with external cf slots, didn't some of this start with you looking into cf video output for the Z?
What are the realistic options here?
hdmi drm? hard to adapt?
vga --too big?
dvi --too big
rca --low res?
component --low res? hard to adapt?

what else?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 28 2006, 07:06 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



vga on a hdmi plug sooms to be the way to go, its a shame that we wont have enogh for carrying the audio as well

video out on CF is doable, all you need is a fpga and a DAC. the problem is finding the CF casing and connectors, then all you would have to do is make the board, anyway one thing at a time
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 03:19 PM