OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Killed My 5600?
iits
post Mar 27 2006, 01:40 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,057



Hi,
because i wanted to erasy ALL data from my 5600 and the Format option didn't work I make a mkfs.ext2 /dev/mtdblock3
and
mkfs.ext2 /dev/mtdblock1

after a reboot nothing works. The Mail-LED blinks and if i connect the power suply the other LED also just blinks.

I think tha on mdblocks1 was the root system an am mtdblocks3 the home files.
What have I done and is there hope for my Zauri?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rrnwexec
post Mar 27 2006, 02:43 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 1-April 04
Member No.: 2,608



QUOTE(iits @ Mar 27 2006, 02:40 PM)
Hi,
because i wanted to erasy ALL data from my 5600 and the Format option didn't work I make a  mkfs.ext2 /dev/mtdblock3
and
mkfs.ext2 /dev/mtdblock1

after a reboot nothing works. The Mail-LED blinks and if i connect the power suply the other LED also just blinks.

I think tha on mdblocks1 was the root system an am mtdblocks3 the home files.
What have I done and is there hope for my Zauri?
*



Sounds like you just reformatted your filesystem sad.gif

I suggest that you try to restore the Sharp ROM. Instructions are here:

http://www.myzaurus.com/ROMupdate6.asp

Cheers,
Randall.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iits
post Mar 27 2006, 03:29 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,057



that didn't work
i think i broke the filesystem where the update script is on.
is there a possibility to renew it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rrnwexec
post Mar 27 2006, 03:41 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 1-April 04
Member No.: 2,608



QUOTE(iits @ Mar 27 2006, 04:29 PM)
that didn't work
i think  i broke the filesystem where the update script is on.
is there a possibility to renew it?
*


There is a possibility to do what is called a NAND Restore. Search these forums for NAND Restore or Google it, and read all the posts carefully. An unsuccessful restore can "brick" (kill) your 5600 even further. A successful restore can bring it back to life, but is a rather intricate process. Also beware that there are two versions of the 5600 depending on the processor that is inside. Make sure you get the correct image for your specific machine.

I've done NAND restores on the 6000, but not on the 5600. Perhaps there's an expert on 5600's in the forums that can offer more specific pointers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Mar 27 2006, 04:35 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(iits @ Mar 27 2006, 04:40 PM)
and
mkfs.ext2 /dev/mtdblock1

This is not good. If you want us to help you we need a bit more info.

Can you get to the maintenance menu... with a reset then holding down the 'OK' key and pressing the On/Off/'Cancel' key?

If you can't get to the maintenance menu, can you get to the service menu... with holding down the 'D' and 'M' keys and doing a hard reset in the battery compartment?

If you can, please follow my instructions in this thread:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=4784&st=15

Let us know if you have any questions, or if you can't get into the service menu.

Good luck

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iits
post Mar 28 2006, 01:11 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,057



QUOTE(Greg2 @ Mar 27 2006, 04:35 PM)
Can you get to the maintenance menu... with a reset then holding down the 'OK' key and pressing the On/Off/'Cancel' key?

If you can't get to the maintenance menu, can you get to the service menu... with holding down the 'D' and 'M' keys and doing a hard reset in the battery compartment?


Let us know if you have any questions, or if you can't get into the service menu.


I can't get into the maintenance menu and also pressing D+M and doing a hard reset has no effect :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Mar 28 2006, 07:12 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(iits @ Mar 28 2006, 04:11 AM)
I can't get into the  maintenance menu and also pressing D+M and doing a hard reset has no effect :-(

I'm sorry to tell you (to the best of my knowledge) that you have removed the diagnostic menus, bootloader and a 'small' linux system used to flash the unit.

You could have fixed mtdblock2 and mtdblock3 with the tools in mtdblock1 and mtdblock0. Without those tools you have two options; search for and try to use Jtag on your own to restore your unit, or send it to Sharp for repair.

I'm sorry I can't offer any more help.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Mar 29 2006, 02:28 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



@iits

I've just noticed that you are looking for a broken 5600. Before you buy one you should check one last thing. There is a 'small' possibility that you have another diagnostic menu on mtdblock0... please try to open it by pressing 'D'+'P' keys and doing a hard reset. I can not remember what all is on that menu... it 'may' have a restore option?

Let us know if you can access it?

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 09:38 PM