OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Google Android M5-rc14 Installable Image Available!, Full distro for SL-C3x00
cortez
post Mar 3 2008, 01:39 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Sorry for the delay, but I had some trouble uploading the files to my site.
The image files and installation instructions can be obtained from my website
Have fun!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Mar 3 2008, 04:54 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



Thank you!! Testing now!

**EDIT: I'd like a bit of help. I didn't want to format my whole microdrive so I just used gnu-tar to untar the image to the first partition of my microdrive (ext3). I then flashed the provided kernel renaming it zImage and with the standard updater.sh from Sharp. So far, everything is good, android boots!

BUT, when running /start, I get stuck at the red thingy moving wink.gif
Is there something to do, or is my way of installing wrong in the first place? Is there something to do with alboot at the beginning?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 3 2008, 10:39 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Press Fn+Left cursor to see if there are any errors shown on the console, or else change the last line in /home/root/android-root/start from /init to

CODE
strace -ff -F -tt -s 200 -o /data/logs/log-init /init

Then run /start, be patient, press Fn+Left to see the console, then press Ctrl+Alt, and while keeping these pressed press Menu (release), Home (release), Menu(release)... until you see a line with all sorts off options. This is while keeping Ctrl+Alt pressed all the time. When you see this line, keep Ctrl+Alt pressed and then press I to exit Android gracefully. Now look at the logfiles in /home/root/android-root/data/logs to see what the problem is.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zogs
post Mar 4 2008, 05:32 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 17-December 04
Member No.: 5,953



just red line but don't start window

error:
sh: can't access tty: job control turned off
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 4 2008, 06:43 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(zogs @ Mar 4 2008, 02:32 PM) *
just red line but don't start window

error:
sh: can't access tty: job control turned off


I see the same message on my working system, so that's "normal" wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zogs
post Mar 4 2008, 07:55 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 17-December 04
Member No.: 5,953



ok it's normal but don't start , I'm waiting for a long time...I'm can see just the red line
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dproldan
post Mar 4 2008, 08:35 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 1-May 06
From: Málaga, Spain
Member No.: 9,746



QUOTE(zogs @ Mar 4 2008, 04:55 PM) *
ok it's normal but don't start , I'm waiting for a long time...I'm can see just the red line


Same thing here.
I'm getting this errors on the console:

PANIC: handle_group_exit: xxxx leader xxxx

repeated, where xxxx are different everytime.

attached is the log-init file with the lowest number. there are many after a while.


Attached File(s)
Attached File  log_init.1668.txt ( 208.31K ) Number of downloads: 378
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Mar 4 2008, 09:58 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Yea, it scrolls errors faster than I can read. It does install nicely though. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 4 2008, 10:43 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I'll re-check the complete installation to see what's going on, and come back to you asap with the results.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 4 2008, 11:23 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I see that Google released a new version of the SDK yesterday, which resolves the issue of the incorrect handling of BMP images (wasn't even aware of that being an issue). I'll try to incorporate that as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 5 2008, 12:09 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I have an updated image ready, but I'm currently unable to upload it. It will have to wait until tonight I'm afraid.
I have yet to find out what the problem was with the previous image. Really strange
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zogs
post Mar 5 2008, 12:59 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 17-December 04
Member No.: 5,953



Thanks cortez, I'm waiting
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 5 2008, 09:42 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



New image is uploaded here (android-root.tar.gz). Please give it another try. Strange thing for me was after startup the screen stays black. When pressing any key the boot process continues. I don't know why this is. When time permits I'll try to fix this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 5 2008, 01:41 PM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



woohoo, thanks cortez, I'll try it on my c3100 within the next day and report back.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Mar 5 2008, 02:20 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



just installed on my c3000 ! it works !!!

-i had the black screen bug, solved by pressing the return key
-new interface, which seems much much faster than first version !!!
-no touchscreen working (perhaps it needs some conf file tweaking)
-screen is rotated (is androidzaurus' rotage apk working? i'm trying !)

so far i'm very impressed by the speed, once it boots smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 07:57 PM