OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

11 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Kernel For Sl-5500/5000d
dougeeebear
post May 9 2005, 05:35 AM
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



miskinis,

Check here http://www.zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+...ad-sid-22.phtml
You might find what you are looking for.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miskinis
post May 10 2005, 07:27 AM
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 8-January 05
From: North East, USA Today
Member No.: 6,159



Hi!

Yes, I found the apps there, and I just (last night) started to check
out the cacko ROM. So far, I really, really like it. Unfortunately I've
been running into problems with the version of Opera in that is in
that .zip file. I don't remember the exact errors, but it would not
install, and complained about the tar format...

I was able to install jeode, and the jeode demos, but have not tried
to use them yet.

If anyone else knows what's going on with the Opera in that .zip, or
has a pointer to another one, that would be cool.

Many thanks,

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post May 10 2005, 08:42 AM
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



There is Opera 7.30 on page 3 where you got your cacko apps.

Also, if you have a Yahoo account, you can find Opera 7.55 in the SL5500 group at Yahoo Groups http://groups.yahoo.com/

Also, make sure the files you are installing are in the ROOT of your card, not in a directory.
Otherwise, you will usually get an error message.

*EDIT*
This thread is getting off its intended topic.
Let's try to keep it on-topic (meaning me too) smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post May 24 2005, 02:39 AM
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



I had problem with Opera 7.55 on my 5500. It didnt display some pages and waited with message "waiting for user-confirmation of cool" I'm back to 6.0 from sharp rom 3.13

merli

----------------------
SL-5500
Merlin ROM :-) cross between Hybrid Cacko and TKC ROM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Jun 6 2005, 06:36 AM
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



Well..... I have good news and not so good news.

The good news is: I saved a bunch of money.... And got another 5500.

The not so good news is: after flashing the ROM and then the kernel I DON'T have the blinking battery light.

I have tried killing the battery and putting it in the charger, charging from various battery levels reseating the z in the charger about 50 times. And last but not least my 4.5v car adapter as it used to kick off the blinking light.

Here is the process I went through:

Step 1. Flash this: http://www.zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+...it-lid-53.phtml

Step 2. Boot the Z and setup a fresh SD card

Step 3. Flash This: http://www.zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+...t-lid-223.phtml

Step 4. Install the battery applet

If anybody would like to test this and see if they still get the blinking light I would appreciate it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jun 6 2005, 11:02 AM
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



@technojunkie:

Sorry, that doesn't help me. I am using standard sharp rom 3.13.
The 32-30 kernel always gives me the flashing battery light.

Thanks anyway.

Doug

EDIT
I also do not use the cradle to charge my z.
I always use the power supply directly connected.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Jun 6 2005, 06:17 PM
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



Well Phooey...

Ummm... question, When you flash the 32-30 kernel do you do kernel only or FileSystem+kernel?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jun 7 2005, 03:58 AM
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I flash the kernel only.
I tried to flash Ospack+kernel together, and the kernel does not get flashed that way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Jun 15 2005, 10:53 AM
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jun 7 2005, 11:58 AM)
I flash the kernel only.
I tried to flash Ospack+kernel together, and the kernel does not get flashed that way.
*



OK so you're using Sharp's filesystem with the cacko kernel. Well that narrows things down a bit (I think) I have been away from this for a while working on homework (both work and school) I hope to get back into it again soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpetroni
post Jun 22 2005, 06:45 PM
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 5-June 05
Member No.: 7,271



Hi gang,
Any good news about the battery blinking problem?

I've just got from Qtopia v2.1.1 back to SharpROM 3.1.3 and would really like to try the 32-30 Cacko Kernel sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nothing
post Jun 26 2005, 09:54 PM
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 17-June 05
From: St.Petersburg
Member No.: 7,371



I am using Sharp ROM 3.13 with Cacko Kernel 32-30.

Battery flashing (blinking)... I found software (ZLed - aka Zaurus Led Signilizer) and disabled Battery blinking in it... It helps!!!

Memory (Installd memory applet gives 8Mb Swap from RAM, wich more faster than my SD)

Questions:
Should I install mmcsd.0 driver insted of Sharp_mmcsd.0? How can i do it? Only replace and rename?
Should I enable assync mode for SD? (how?)

Can anyone fixed bug with memory in Cacko Advanced ROM/Crow Rom, when Installing Cacko Kernel 64-0, system memory 48Mb insted of 64?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jun 27 2005, 04:55 AM
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(nothing @ Jun 27 2005, 12:54 AM)
I am using Sharp ROM 3.13 with Cacko Kernel 32-30.

Battery flashing (blinking)... I found software (ZLed - aka Zaurus Led Signilizer) and disabled Battery blinking in it... It helps!!!
*

I tried your suggestion.
True, the light doesn't blink, but the actions are the same.
In other words, when you plug it in and the light doesn't come on, it's only because the program is controlling the light.
The problem is not actually fixed.

It was worth a try though smile.gif

I can't help you with your other questions.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpetroni
post Jun 27 2005, 05:16 AM
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 5-June 05
Member No.: 7,271



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jun 27 2005, 10:55 AM)
I tried your suggestion.
True, the light doesn't blink, but the actions are the same...
*


Hi Doug,

Do you know if there is any option to install the kernel and disable or uninstall only the battery applet? This could be a provisory solution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jun 27 2005, 06:02 AM
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(lpetroni @ Jun 27 2005, 08:16 AM)
QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jun 27 2005, 10:55 AM)
I tried your suggestion.
True, the light doesn't blink, but the actions are the same...
*

Do you know if there is any option to install the kernel and disable or uninstall only the battery applet? This could be a provisory solution.
*


AFAIK, whether or not a battery applet is installed or disabled has nothing to do with the blinking light problem.

The problem is with the kernel.

QUOTE(maslovsky @ Oct 25 2004, 04:47 AM)
This is a known problem with this kernel version. Try to reinsert the connector a few times, or try plugging it with zaurus suspended, etc. I know it may be annoying, but I wasn't able to figure out the problem...
*

So, I think your answer would be no.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Jun 27 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jun 27 2005, 02:02 PM)
QUOTE(lpetroni @ Jun 27 2005, 08:16 AM)
QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jun 27 2005, 10:55 AM)
I tried your suggestion.
True, the light doesn't blink, but the actions are the same...
*

Do you know if there is any option to install the kernel and disable or uninstall only the battery applet? This could be a provisory solution.
*


AFAIK, whether or not a battery applet is installed or disabled has nothing to do with the blinking light problem.

The problem is with the kernel.

QUOTE(maslovsky @ Oct 25 2004, 04:47 AM)
This is a known problem with this kernel version. Try to reinsert the connector a few times, or try plugging it with zaurus suspended, etc. I know it may be annoying, but I wasn't able to figure out the problem...
*

So, I think your answer would be no.
*




I'm pretty sure it's the kernel as well partly due to th eabove commants but mostly due to the fact that the 64/0 image wipes the contents of /var on reboot incidently causing the new battery applet to 'uninstall' leaving you with the original applet ans a blinking light.

Dougee I'm still poking away at this so hopefully I can find a workaround or solution.

Are you one of the folks whose z won't even charge because of the blinking light or are you in the 'inconvenience' club?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

11 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 01:33 AM