OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Compiling on the Zaurus under Cacko
omega
post Jul 6 2004, 03:34 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



Okay, this may seem a slightly reoccuring theme of mine. I would like to be able to compile files directly on my Zaurus... I have found zgcc, installed it and have it working.

What other stuff do i need? The following files were mentioned to me, but where do i get them? Well i have the zports version of SDL installed, so that should do. Can someone write a couple of files (links too?) that are needed for example to compile X stuff, SDL stuff, Qtopia stuff so that people can look here (including me!) and see exactly what they need to get.

Suggested to me where: libSDL, qte (qt/embedded), qpe (qtopia)

Thanks all. blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakeyez
post Jul 6 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 5-June 04
Member No.: 3,580



If you already have pre-built binaries for sdl, qte and qpe (which you should have for the last two at least if you're running cacko), you will only need the headers. These can be obtained from the source packages at libsdl.org (for SDL), and trolltech.com (for qte/qpe). Other useful libraries are zlib and libpng.

My advice, however, is to setup an appropriate cross-compiling environment, as all these libraries can consume a LOT of space, and the actual compilation process can be memory/cpu intensive.

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashitaka
post Jul 6 2004, 08:26 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-June 04
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 3,599



Big programs can take hours to compile on correct computers, this means days on the Zaurus. And ususally you have a problem at the end of the compilation and find out that you have to run it all over again...
It is true that on-zaurus compilation can be tempting, but it really isn't that practical...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 8 2004, 06:10 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



QUOTE(Ashitaka @ Jul 7 2004, 04:26 AM)
Big programs can take hours to compile on correct computers, this means days on the Zaurus. And ususally you have a problem at the end of the compilation and find out that you have to run it all over again...
It is true that on-zaurus compilation can be tempting, but it really isn't that practical...

I disagree, compiling large programs maybe strategically done better on a fast desktop machine (I ssh into my debian from my Z in that case) but otherwise, unless you are in some kind of hurry, do it. This is a 400MHz ARM based machine we are talking about, I ran a BSD/RISCOS RISC PC for ages as a development platform and that was only a 233 StrongARM, before that I was running GCC on an Acorn A7000, and before that an Acorn A3010, all ARM based and compared to the Z, only a fraction of the power.

When compiling, for playing (ahem!) and stuff I use my Z, if it's a beefy program or a port of something I scp the files to my Debian, ssh into it, compile (using a cross-compiler), scp it back and run.

I find the dev-img works very well on the Z, it's a pleasure to use and I find myself compiling in the strangest of places wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Jul 8 2004, 06:29 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



the dev-img link from sourceforge doesn't work at the moment from prdownloads?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 8 2004, 06:37 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...q=getit&lid=207

Try that and get back to me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Jul 8 2004, 06:53 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



thanks, that link works...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 8 2004, 07:34 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



It was oh too easy to faff the install, by passing the wrong parameters, but once you get it working, it's not too bad. You can build QT apps on it, which is quite nifty. That with a cross compiler on the desktop and you're away! If you do faff it the first few times, be sure to remove the superflous (spell check) entries from /etc/fstab. The image needs to be on a ext2 fs, I use a 64MB MMC, and it doesn't automount it after a reboot, so su to root and mount it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Jul 8 2004, 07:39 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



padish while you're at it, did you find any instructions anywhere?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashitaka
post Jul 8 2004, 07:42 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 7-June 04
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 3,599



Well you got a point, but I'm used to compiling some programs which really take a lot of time to compile on my desktop computer (P4 3GHz). And I had too many problems when trying to use the developpment image, maybe I should try again... But it also really does take some place on the Zaurus when you need to have many libraries and headers installed for compilation smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 9 2004, 05:36 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...Developer_Image

Setup instructions:
1. Unzip and copy contents of the file onto CF or SD card.
2. Run image_setup.sh script as root: image_setup.sh full_path_to_dev_image mount_point where "mount_point" is any folder, for exmaple /mnt/dev
3. When script finishes, relogin as zaurus

wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 9 2004, 06:05 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



QUOTE(Ashitaka @ Jul 9 2004, 03:42 AM)
Well you got a point, but I'm used to compiling some programs which really take a lot of time to compile on my desktop computer (P4 3GHz). And I had too many problems when trying to use the developpment image, maybe I should try again... But it also really does take some place on the Zaurus when you need to have many libraries and headers installed for compilation smile.gif

Yes but as I tried to explain, small programs, experimentation - the kind of things you may want to try when you suddenly get an idea on the toilet or in bed at 2AM, that's when the Z can be used, but if you're compiling something the size of GNOME's source, you'd want a big machine for that, with a cross compiler. It's like anything, you can use the appropriate tool for the appropriate job. It's ALL good biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Jul 9 2004, 07:53 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



The simplest and fastest compile to set up on the zaurus that I've found is zzgcc (http://s91215199.onlinehome.us/zaurus/)

Only 2 files and they are cramfs so you can mount them on the Z rather than install anything, you only have to mount the zgcc cramfs manually once - after that use the mnt script provided to mount it.

I had problems with dev_img 1.3 , found zgcc and have never seen found anything better than it (although I haven't tried dev_img 1.5)

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
padishah_emperor
post Jul 9 2004, 08:35 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 849
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,180



QUOTE(Stubear @ Jul 9 2004, 03:53 PM)
The simplest and fastest compile to set up on the zaurus that I've found is zzgcc (http://s91215199.onlinehome.us/zaurus/)

Only 2 files and they are cramfs so you can mount them on the Z rather than install anything, you only have to mount the zgcc cramfs manually once - after that use the mnt script provided to mount it.

I had problems with dev_img 1.3 , found zgcc and have never seen found anything better than it (although I haven't tried dev_img 1.5)

Stu

Hi Stu, can you compile QT apps on it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Jul 9 2004, 11:18 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Yep, has all the qt includes included smile.gif

I just finished compiling tkcTrump on it as there were a couple of minor things I wanted to try - worked a charm.

Generally I use my cross-compiler set-up or the OE set-up I'm trying to get to compile with gcc-2.95 but its good to be able to test something on the Z - although it takes ages sometimes

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 12:44 AM