OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How-TO: Connet CF GPRS/GSM (AudioVox RTM8000) to internet
jrj
post Jul 23 2005, 09:08 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-May 05
Member No.: 7,041



Hi All,

I use the AudioVox RTM-8000D GPRS card on an Zaurus SL-5600 running OpenZaurus 3.5.3 with no problems. Getting it going was tricky. I've written a step by step howto covering the details. It's available here:

http://www.glugers.org/content.php?article.2

I'm now trying to get the RTM-8000D working on Fedora Core 4 with no success so far. It's plugged into my laptop via a CF-to-PCMCIA card. My dmesg output is simply:

cs: memory probe 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: excluding 0xa0000000-0xa00fffff
0.0: RequestIO: No more items

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
George
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 24 2005, 12:38 PM
Post #32





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(jrj @ Jul 24 2005, 06:08 AM)
I'm now trying to get the RTM-8000D working on Fedora Core 4 with no success so far. It's plugged into my laptop via a CF-to-PCMCIA card. My dmesg output is simply:

cs: memory probe 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: excluding 0xa0000000-0xa00fffff
0.0: RequestIO: No more items


It sounds like you need to add an identifier to the system so that it realises that this type of card is, basically, a serial device.

what does "cardctl status" and "cardctl info" tell you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jrj
post Jul 24 2005, 05:16 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-May 05
Member No.: 7,041



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jul 24 2005, 12:38 PM)
It sounds like you need to add an identifier to the system so that it realises that this type of card is, basically, a serial device.

what does "cardctl status" and "cardctl info" tell you?
*


Cheers for the reply. Below are the outputs. I've also included the entries in /var/log/messages when I insert the card:

[root@umbriel ~]# cardctl status
Socket 0:
3.3V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready]
Socket 1:
5V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready]
[root@umbriel ~]#


[root@umbriel ~]# cardctl info
PRODID_1="GPRS Modem"
PRODID_2=""
PRODID_3=""
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=0279,950b
FUNCID=2
PRODID_1="O2Micro"
PRODID_2="SmartCardBus Reader"
PRODID_3="V1.0"
PRODID_4=""
MANFID=ffff,0001
FUNCID=255
[root@umbriel ~]#

/var/log/messages entries when card is inserted:

Jul 25 11:14:48 umbriel cardmgr[1680]: socket 0: Serial or Modem
Jul 25 11:14:49 umbriel cardmgr[1680]: get dev info on socket 0 failed: No such device
Jul 25 11:14:49 umbriel kernel: 0.0: RequestIO: No more items
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gustav1888
post Aug 12 2005, 07:42 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 7,796



Hi all,
i have an audiovox rtm 8000 that works on zaurus 5500 with sharp rom 3.13, having followed the how-to on this thread.
Now i'm trying to install it on a laptop using the cf-pcmcia adapter.
I use 2.4.26 kernel and all seems to work... but there is a problem with routing.
The scripts (gprs, connectgprs...) are executed normally but when the server assigns my
IP, the network remain unreacheable. I cannot ping to any address except mine, even if
the route command outputs as usual. unsure.gif

Does someone has successfully configured the audiovox to use in a laptop?

thanks a lot

Michele
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Aug 12 2005, 07:55 AM
Post #35





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



basically, the gsm/gprs modem behaves like any other CF serial device - it emulates a modem.
just ensure there's a mapping for the device name to make sure hotplug assigns it serial or modem identity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gustav1888
post Aug 13 2005, 12:49 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 7,796



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Aug 12 2005, 04:55 PM)
basically, the gsm/gprs modem behaves like any other CF serial device - it emulates a modem.
just ensure there's a mapping for the device name to make sure hotplug assigns it serial or modem identity.
*


I think the problem is about routing. The kernel recognizes correctly the device and assigns to it the /dev/ttyS1 serial port. Then i use the same scripts (gpr, connectgprs, disconnectgprs) that i do for zaurus and the modem connects. i receive from my provider an IP address and a local address, as well as two DNS nameserver. But i'm unable to ping them, so i can't browse.
Even route and ifconfig commands give the same results as on zaurus but i'm still unable to ping any other IP except from my and remote address.

Somebody knows?

Michele

P.S. I'm not using any distribution. I compiled all with linuxfromscratch 5.1.1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gustav1888
post Aug 14 2005, 04:10 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 7,796



Solved!
For some reason, when connecting using the zaurus, it automagically write the /etc/resolv.conf file. Instead using my laptop this file remained empty.
I need to manually insert the my provider's DNS address and all works well.

Michele
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lancillotto
post Nov 23 2005, 02:07 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 2-November 05
Member No.: 8,440



Hello to everybody!

I solved all my past problems posted on this forum!!!

Now I'm trying to activate my Audiovox RTM 800 on a SL-C3100 with original Zaurus OS and kernel 2.4.20.

In the dmesg I get the bad vcc error and non serial port assignment.

I tryed to replace the serial_cs with various versions on the net but without luck!

Can anybody help me?

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Nov 24 2005, 02:34 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(Lancillotto @ Nov 23 2005, 11:07 AM)
Hello to everybody!

I solved all my past problems posted on this forum!!!

Now I'm trying to activate my Audiovox RTM 800 on a SL-C3100 with original Zaurus OS and kernel 2.4.20.

In the dmesg I get the bad vcc error and non serial port assignment.

I tryed to replace the serial_cs with various versions on the net but without luck!

Can anybody help me?

Thank you!
*


Please try the RTM8000-Enabler which contains a tested serial_cs for the 2.4.20 kernel:

http://www.handheld-linux.com/wiki.php?page=RTM8000-Enabler

-- hns

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lancillotto
post Nov 24 2005, 02:41 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 2-November 05
Member No.: 8,440



Thanks for your answer.

I tried It but with no success. I read on another forum that QTopia newer than 1.2 has a serial_cs driver built-in, so I cannot replace it.

Any other idea? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Nov 24 2005, 04:03 AM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(Lancillotto @ Nov 24 2005, 11:41 AM)
Thanks for your answer.

I tried It but with no success. I read on another forum that QTopia newer than 1.2 has a serial_cs driver built-in, so I cannot replace it.

Any other idea? sad.gif
*

The driver is never built into Qtopia - it is part of the Linux kernel. And the one in the enabler replaces the builtin one. Can you
1. install the enabler
2. insert the card
3. post
a) the dmesg log
cool.gif results of cartctl status and cardctl ident
c) result of lsmod

And, do you use the original Sharp ROM or a different kernel?

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lancillotto
post Nov 29 2005, 01:41 AM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 2-November 05
Member No.: 8,440



QUOTE(dhns @ Nov 24 2005, 04:03 AM)
QUOTE(Lancillotto @ Nov 24 2005, 11:41 AM)
Thanks for your answer.

I tried It but with no success. I read on another forum that QTopia newer than 1.2 has a serial_cs driver built-in, so I cannot replace it.

Any other idea? sad.gif
*

The driver is never built into Qtopia - it is part of the Linux kernel. And the one in the enabler replaces the builtin one. Can you
1. install the enabler
2. insert the card
3. post
a) the dmesg log
cool.gif results of cartctl status and cardctl ident
c) result of lsmod

And, do you use the original Sharp ROM or a different kernel?

-- hns
*



I did all you posted me:

1) The ROM is the Original with Kernel 2.4.20

2) DMESG -> "serial_cs: RequestConfiguration: Bad Vcc"

3) cardctl status ->

Socket 0:
3.3V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready]

Socket 1:
3.3V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready], [bat dead], [bat-low]

4) cardctl ident ->

Socket 0:
product info: "GPRS modem", "", "", ""
manfid: 0x0279, 0x950b
function: 2 (serial)

Socket 1:
product info: "Hitachi", "microdrive", "", ""
manfid: 0x0319, 0x0000
function: 4 (fixed disk)

5) lsmod ->

Module Size Used by
pxa_bi 24912 0 (unused)
net_fd 25216 0 (unused)
usbdcore 35504 0 [pxa_bi net_fd]
usbdmonitor 5488 0
usb-monitor 6496 0
sharp_mmcsd_m 41008 1

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Nov 29 2005, 12:04 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(Lancillotto @ Nov 29 2005, 10:41 AM)
I did all you posted me:

1) The ROM is the Original with Kernel 2.4.20

2) DMESG -> "serial_cs: RequestConfiguration: Bad Vcc"

3) cardctl status ->

        Socket 0:
          3.3V 16-bit PC Card
          function 0: [ready]

        Socket 1:
          3.3V 16-bit PC Card
          function 0: [ready], [bat dead], [bat-low]

4) cardctl ident ->

        Socket 0:
          product info: "GPRS modem", "", "", ""
          manfid: 0x0279, 0x950b
          function: 2 (serial)

        Socket 1:
          product info: "Hitachi", "microdrive", "", ""
          manfid: 0x0319, 0x0000
          function: 4 (fixed disk)
       
  5) lsmod ->

        Module              Size     Used by
        pxa_bi               24912  0 (unused)
        net_fd                25216  0 (unused)
        usbdcore            35504   0 [pxa_bi net_fd]
        usbdmonitor       5488    0
        usb-monitor        6496    0
        sharp_mmcsd_m 41008  1

Thanks a lot!
*

Looks pretty ok - besides that it did not load the serial_cs...

Some more things to try/report:
1) uname -a
2) find / -name "serial_cs.o" -print

and try if it shows a serial_cs after
3) depmod -a; lsmod
4) modprobe serial_cs; lsmod

finally, try
insmod path of serial_cs.o found by 2)

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 3 2006, 02:00 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



hmmm. . . I'm uing the Ambicom card (Actually identical to the Chi Mei card (Actually identical to the audiovox card. . I think))

Basically, I'm getting something really wierd. .. Whenever I insert or resume the card (e.g. using zedialler or bash) It seems to be autoconnecting. . The amber light flashes for a bit, then it goes green. I think this may in fact be a product of using the o2 online chip, because under a mobile phone, the o2 online always sends off a few SMS when you irst activate it, to install settings. . because the Z can't download those SMS, maybe it's holding up the line. . . ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 3 2006, 02:13 PM
Post #45





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 3 2006, 11:00 PM)
Basically, I'm getting something really wierd. ..  Whenever I insert or resume the card (e.g. using zedialler or bash) It seems to be autoconnecting. . The amber light flashes for a bit, then it goes green. I think this may in fact be a product of using the o2 online chip, because under a mobile phone, the o2 online always sends off a few SMS when you irst activate it, to install settings. . because the Z can't download those SMS, maybe it's holding up the line. . .
*



as far as I understand it, this is merely the card registering with the network. If your sim has a pin, you'll need to enter AT+CPIN=1234 before it can register. There's an AT code to ask what network the device is registered to, and this will get set after successfully registering.


so, this is perfectly normal!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th July 2014 - 09:19 PM