OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Who has a 6000?, Just wondering how many people have one
pirlouit
post Sep 25 2004, 04:12 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 1-August 04
Member No.: 4,177



Got mine beginning august; it came with me to Spain on vacation; too bad they don't have too many hot spots in Barcelona and Madrid. I used it nonetheless to cary my PDFs, directions and crucial vacation data. Since I have the Z, I have less use for my thinkpad T40...Good stuff.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lojack
post Sep 25 2004, 07:45 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-July 04
From: Newark, DE (USA)
Member No.: 4,118



I've had my 6000L for two months now but I still can't seem to get wifi working; and I've read all the how-tos I can find. I think my problem is that I've never used a wireless device before so the config files are a little strange to me. I tried using kismet but no luck.
The screen is amazing though!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
angst
post Sep 26 2004, 07:06 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-February 04
From: Oak Harbor, WA
Member No.: 2,077



QUOTE(lojack @ Sep 25 2004, 07:45 PM)
I've had my 6000L for two months now but I still can't seem to get wifi working; and I've read all the how-tos I can find. I think my problem is that I've never used a wireless device before so the config files are a little strange to me. I tried using kismet but no luck.

Did you try the How to run Kismet on the SL-6000L How-To?

I have also noted that installing dev-img 1.5 will break libstdc++ link in /usr/lib and cause Kismet not to connect. It is easily relinked though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Sep 26 2004, 10:12 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Kismet doesn't connect you, it just listens.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
angst
post Sep 27 2004, 07:00 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 28-February 04
From: Oak Harbor, WA
Member No.: 2,077



QUOTE(BarryW @ Sep 26 2004, 10:12 AM)
Kismet doesn't connect you, it just listens.

I was refering to this this adhoc service from the How-to.

QUOTE
7) To prevent the Wireless Interface from timing out (and killing the kismet session) a Ad-Hoc Network Service is created. In the network app create a new service (I call mine “war-walk”). “any” for ssid. Ad-hoc type and then setup a bogus static IP address scheme with a class A mask. (IP – 10.1.0.2 Mask - 255.0.0.0 Gateway 10.1.0.1) DNS 10.1.0.1

8) Connect to this service.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satch
post Sep 27 2004, 09:04 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 3-July 04
Member No.: 3,901



Got mine is august. Can't imagine not having one now.

I just spent a day with my 5500 installing the new OZ 3.5.1, and I felt like I had a toy in my hands.

Everything works fine. WiFi connects to my home lan without problem. I can Kismet, surf, email, etc...

I just love it...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Sep 27 2004, 09:52 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(smammon @ Sep 25 2004, 09:19 AM)
QUOTE(cvmiller @ Sep 24 2004, 09:42 AM)
I am very fond of a wireless signal strength monitoring tool called wavemon. It is just a terminal based program, but it reads signal strenght in DB (which is more precise).

Where might one find Wavemon?

I have uploaded Wavemon (you have to supply your own child) to the download area under "Cool Stuff"

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Sep 27 2004, 09:56 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(angst @ Sep 27 2004, 07:00 AM)
QUOTE(BarryW @ Sep 26 2004, 10:12 AM)
Kismet doesn't connect you, it just listens.

I was refering to this this adhoc service from the How-to.

QUOTE
7) To prevent the Wireless Interface from timing out (and killing the kismet session) a Ad-Hoc Network Service is created. In the network app create a new service (I call mine “war-walk”). “any” for ssid. Ad-hoc type and then setup a bogus static IP address scheme with a class A mask. (IP – 10.1.0.2 Mask - 255.0.0.0 Gateway 10.1.0.1) DNS 10.1.0.1

8) Connect to this service.

Yes, Kismet just listens, but you have to "bring up" the ethernet interface first! And this is what the How-to refers to. By setting up a adhoc config it will "allow" you to bring up the interface, so then Kismet can listen to the interface.

Don't forget to bring down the adhoc connection once you are done with Kismet.

BTW, you can set the ip addressing info to anything you want (that is legal for IPv4) for the adhoc interface.

I hope this helps, clearifys things,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Oct 17 2004, 01:58 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



I ordered mine from Amazon last week. Hope to see it by this Friday (Oct 22).

Pdagal and Iwong:

Are you using the 5x00 version of Dr Z Video Player, or the Cxx0 version? Also, are you using the Sharp's rom that comes installed on the 6K?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fierywater
post Oct 17 2004, 04:36 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,037



Just ordered it from Amazon. Paid for two-day shipping, got a 256mb SD card with it. They guarantee that it'll be here by Wednesday the 20th. smile.gif

Should be a great replacement for my rx3115, which I got as a replacement from Best Buy for a broken Ipaq 2215 (IMO, a far superior PDA to the former).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aki
post Oct 17 2004, 06:47 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,061



Just got one.
Ordered it from Amazon on Tue (late) with 2-day delivery and got it on Fri.
Ooohh soooo sexy...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GoLinux
post Oct 17 2004, 06:59 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-January 04
From: Boston, USA
Member No.: 1,531



Ordered one from Amazon last week, should get it October 21th. And to think I had almost decided to buy an iPAQ h4355 hoping to be able to get a Linux distribution on it (Can't live without a keyboard...).

I have never owned a Zaurus , but having used Psion machines for as long as I have been interested in pocket computers, the Zaurus + Linux "universe" has intrigued me from day one as the only viable alternative.

Can't wait, can't wait, can't wait.................
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
simlai
post Oct 17 2004, 07:13 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 12-October 04
Member No.: 4,968



Just got my SL-6000W from Japan, geez just figure out the package comes with NO cradle NO usb cable NO CD, just an ac adapter and main unit, and ALOT more expensive than Amazon's price... but, I still love it!


Sim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hubcapboy
post Oct 17 2004, 07:55 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 14-October 04
Member No.: 5,019



Me.

University of Washington, Seattle... already tired of responding to "why didn't you get an ipaq?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GoLinux
post Oct 19 2004, 11:06 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-January 04
From: Boston, USA
Member No.: 1,531



Hubcapboy,

if they only knew.......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 05:34 AM