OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HELP! C700 does not display anything anymore
jchung
post Feb 25 2004, 06:57 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



Ok, last night I decided to swap out the G2 screen protector. I always carefully unscrew the panel and insert hte screen protector from there, and there have been no problems.

After swaping out the screen protector the C700 doesnt want to start anymore! :cry:

I think I killed the display.. but how?? I've done this procedure before without problems...

please help!! sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post Feb 25 2004, 12:28 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



I bought this off of ebay from someone that went to japan to get it. Can I send it to sharp to get it fixed? do you think the warranty is still available?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post Feb 25 2004, 08:20 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



OK

I looked at it again and it seems like some sort of connection is loose. I can barely see the display but it's still there..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Feb 26 2004, 12:15 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



It sounds like the screen is working but you have no backlight. I have never taken a clamshell apart, and by the sounds of it I don't want to.

The obvious things to check are the wires going to/from the light unit.

Do you have a multimeter?

Peter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post Feb 26 2004, 07:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



I could get my hands on one..

what should I be looking for?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Feb 27 2004, 01:26 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



Not really sure, as I don't want to dimantle mine to test a working one.

A simple continuity test to check that there is a connection through the wire to the backlight would be helpfull.

Unless it's been subjected to shock, I think it's unlikely that the light has gone, it's more likely that the wires have come loose, this could be :-

1) dry joint,
2) wire detached (should be obvious),
3) wire broken inside the insulation.

You could also check the resistance of the backlight itself to see if it is "open circuit".

If it can be powered on with the backligh exposed you could check vor a voltage across the backlight to see if the z is supplying a voltage to it.

I am not an trained in eltronic repairs, but I have fixed several devices using the above method.

The other common problems with things not working after they have been dismantled is trapping a wire in the case, putting a screw through a wire, some have mini switches that need to be closed when the case is closed.

Somebody who has dismantled one wil have more of an idea as to what check for.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post Mar 1 2004, 08:52 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



I didnt get a multimeter but I did open it back up. I checked all the wires and they look solid. The unit will turn on if the cover and screw are not on..

there is this one part that I'm a little concerned about. One of the screw threading got stripped so the screw doesnt really hold tight. There is a small PCB board with solder dots aligned in a ring around the screw hole. This looks like it's supposed to contact with a metal piece of the swivel screen. The solder on this is kinda worn out. Would this affect anything?

I'm gonna buy a product called plastex that is supposed to fix threading on plastic products. Hopefully that will work on this stripped thread problem. Should I try to re-solder those dots??

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post Mar 1 2004, 04:22 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



QUOTE
there is this one part that I'm a little concerned about. One of the screw threading got stripped so the screw doesnt really hold tight. There is a small PCB board with solder dots aligned in a ring around the screw hole. This looks like it's supposed to contact with a metal piece of the swivel screen. The solder on this is kinda worn out. Would this affect anything?  


If it turns on when it's dismantled, then it can't be relying on a ground from a screw as an anti tamper mechanism, as it wouldnt work when it's in bits when the contact is disconnected.
At least you know there is no major problem as all the bits work. It still could be a dry joint/broken wire that works when it's in some postions but not others.

Or it could be that when the screws are in place it is shorting out something that shouldn't be.

Without knowing what should be connected (if anything) when the case is closed it is hard to say. I would tend to favor a dodgy wire based on what you have said.

Case point: My mouse worked sometimes but not others. I found it would work if I bent the wire in a certain way while using it. The copper inside the insulation had broken and bending the wire made it connect.

Solution: cut the wire 2 inches from the mouse, and reconect the wires. This resulted with a shorter cable, and a fully working mouse. This was on an Ataris st, when a new mouse cost over £30 ($40 us).

You don't really want to keep taking it to bits as this will probably only make things worse, but if it is still in bits, try and bend the wires into the same position it would be when fully assembled, or waggle the wires one at a time (gently). if the screen goes off you have found your culprit and will need to replace that wire.

What's your soldering like? Replacing a wire is fairly simple, but if you are not used to soldering then you could end up making things worse either by bridging across two components, or "cooking" the joints and damaging the board or other components.

You may find that if you put it back together it will work fine. Once it's all screwed in place things aren't gong to move anymore.

I would offer to help, but I doubt you are local to me.

Peter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post May 4 2004, 05:43 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



I have no idea what I can do w/ my C700 now.. I still dont know what's causing the problem..

I dont know of any places that sell spare parts otherwise I could buy replacement parts if necessary..


:cry:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbones
post May 5 2004, 12:20 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 459
Joined: 9-December 03
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 1,114



Do you have a local friendly repair shop?

If it is only the baklight that is screwed it may be a simple repair.

The main problems with repairing modern electronic devices is getting hold of custom ic's and manuals.

If the backlight has gone south, then they may be able to substitute it with a simillar unit.

My local friendly repair shop does not charge if they cannot fix something within a reasonable cost, if they can fix it it is a minimum of £25 (about $40)

From what I have read, the sharp repair service is pretty good, but will not ship to/from places outside of Japan.

Sharp USA will not get involved or offer to help you, fortunately faults on these units seem to be very few and far between.

If all else fails, you may get a reasonable offer on ebay from somebody who has toasted the cpu but has a working backlight.

Again, this is a rare problem so advice will be hard to find.

Peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daffy2405
post Jul 18 2004, 01:21 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,121



QUOTE(jchung @ May 4 2004, 02:43 PM)
I have no idea what I can do w/ my C700 now..  I still dont know what's causing the problem..

I dont know of any places that sell spare parts otherwise I could buy replacement parts if necessary..


:cry:


hello, (I'm french,sorry for my very bad english wink.gif )

I have a same problem with my zaurus(SL-C860). I unscrew the panel , and there have been no problems.the display work,but no backlight !!

jchung>Your Zaurus it is repaired ?

Thanks,
daf smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sebastien79
post Feb 27 2005, 02:15 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Niort(FRANCE)
Member No.: 6,527



QUOTE(daffy2405 @ Jul 18 2004, 10:21 AM)
QUOTE(jchung @ May 4 2004, 02:43 PM)
I have no idea what I can do w/ my C700 now..  I still dont know what's causing the problem..

I dont know of any places that sell spare parts otherwise I could buy replacement parts if necessary..


:cry:


hello, (I'm french,sorry for my very bad english wink.gif )

I have a same problem with my zaurus(SL-C860). I unscrew the panel , and there have been no problems.the display work,but no backlight !!

jchung>Your Zaurus it is repaired ?

Thanks,
daf smile.gif
*



Hello, (my old name is daffy2405,my new sebastien79)

I finally repaired (after 6 month !!)my zaurus.The problem came from one defect component (self or fuser ?)
My english is not good thus I will not explain more.
I put a picture.
Attached File  Image9c.jpg ( 50.36K ) Number of downloads: 344


Sebastien79 biggrin.gif (thanks Gilles) biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nightwing
post Jul 6 2005, 05:45 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-September 04
From: Aurora, Colorado -- In the Rocky Mountains, beside Denver
Member No.: 4,765



QUOTE(sebastien79 @ Feb 27 2005, 10:15 AM)
Hello, (my old name is daffy2405,my new sebastien79)

I finally repaired (after 6 month !!)my zaurus.The problem came from one defect component (self or fuser ?)
My english is not good thus I will not explain more.
I put a picture.
Attached File  Image9c.jpg ( 50.36K ) Number of downloads: 344


Sebastien79  biggrin.gif (thanks Gilles) biggrin.gif
*


Hi, just wanted to express my thanks. I had to take the display on my 760 apart to get the old screen protector off (installed by the vendor). Once I was done, I had the same problem -- no more backlight. ohmy.gif After I saw your post, I tried connecting the two points with a screwdriver and the light was back. Long story short, my 760 now has a jumper in the display.

Many thanks for sharing your fix and picture! You helped get me back on my Zaurus and the price was definately right! biggrin.gif

All the best,
alan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sebastien79
post Jul 12 2005, 04:22 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Niort(FRANCE)
Member No.: 6,527



QUOTE(Nightwing @ Jul 7 2005, 02:45 AM)
QUOTE(sebastien79 @ Feb 27 2005, 10:15 AM)
Hello, (my old name is daffy2405,my new sebastien79)

I finally repaired (after 6 month !!)my zaurus.The problem came from one defect component (self or fuser ?)
My english is not good thus I will not explain more.
I put a picture.
Attached File  Image9c.jpg ( 50.36K ) Number of downloads: 344


Sebastien79  biggrin.gif (thanks Gilles) biggrin.gif
*


Hi, just wanted to express my thanks. I had to take the display on my 760 apart to get the old screen protector off (installed by the vendor). Once I was done, I had the same problem -- no more backlight. ohmy.gif After I saw your post, I tried connecting the two points with a screwdriver and the light was back. Long story short, my 760 now has a jumper in the display.

Many thanks for sharing your fix and picture! You helped get me back on my Zaurus and the price was definately right! biggrin.gif

All the best,
alan
*




Thank you very much! wink.gif

My repaired zaurus always functions very well since February ! No problem with backlight ! smile.gif

it is a pleasure of seeing your zaurus repaired!

Thanks,
Seb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jchung
post Sep 2 2005, 04:46 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 5-June 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 97



Wow.. i'm glad someone found a fix to this! I havent check this thread in so long.

I'm going to try this fix this weekend to see if it works! Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 12:27 PM