OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Japanese And Underclocking, Can I have Japanese and Underclocking
ezeerb
post Aug 8 2006, 10:20 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Sapporo, JPN
Member No.: 10,677



On my C3100, I have not been able to figure out a way to get the battery application in Cacko working on the Sharp Rom or Japanese input running on Cacko 1.23.

I have read comments about how the Sharp Rom is faster than Cacko. If that is true, the Sharp Rom would be my preference. But I want to be able to underclock to extened the battery life when listening to music. Batter Plus (Tetsu) doesn't seem to be able to do that. Also the battery information is very 'about'.

I like Cacko's ability to underclock and give more accurate battery readings. But the closest I can get to getting Japanese is to hand write the Japanese and not use the keyboard. That happens when I use japanese-support-c3100jaen_1.23_arm.ipk.

japanese-support-c3100_1.23_arm.ipk has issues, that combined with my response, turned by Zaurus into a paperweight for a day and a half. Now happily recovered.

Any help would be most appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Aug 9 2006, 03:43 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



If you install the tetsu kernel on the sharp rom then you will get the ability to under/overclock, the standard sharp kernel doesn't offer that.

What "Japanese" do you want that the Japanese support ipk doesn't offer? If you search the forums for "Japanese" you will find an upgrade for the japanese-support-c3100.ipk, or you can try using the c1000 version of the Japanese-support ipk.

The reason for the dodgy Japanese supprt on the C3100 is that I didn't have access to a C3100 and had to extract the files from a C3100 Nand image - I pretty sure on of the input applets got corrupted - hence the reboot cycle.

If you can tar up the /usr/QtPalmtop.rom directory on your Sharp Rom, I can try to "fix" the ipk - if you can't find the fixed version nad are willing to be a guinea-pig

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezeerb
post Aug 9 2006, 05:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Sapporo, JPN
Member No.: 10,677



QUOTE(Stubear @ Aug 9 2006, 08:43 PM)
If you install the tetsu kernel on the sharp rom then you will get the ability to under/overclock, the standard sharp kernel doesn't offer that.

What "Japanese" do you want that the Japanese support ipk doesn't offer? If you search the forums for "Japanese" you will find an upgrade for the japanese-support-c3100.ipk, or you can try using the c1000 version of the Japanese-support ipk.

The reason for the dodgy Japanese supprt on the C3100 is that I didn't have access to a C3100 and had to extract the files from a C3100 Nand image - I pretty sure on of the input applets got corrupted - hence the reboot cycle.

If you can tar up the /usr/QtPalmtop.rom directory on your Sharp Rom, I can try to "fix" the ipk - if you can't find the fixed version nad are willing to be a guinea-pig

Stu
*

Stu,

I have installed Tetsu's kernel. I have also installed his batteryplus 1.1.5. Tetsu's kernel by it self seemed to do nothing noticable, other than put a circle around the penquin at startup from a reboot. On the batteryplus, a I understand it, it starts at normal mode and goes up from there. When i installed Cacko I got a real over/underclock option. Am I mission something? I would like to get it down the level Cacko allows.

I have tried the japanese-support-c3100.ipk as well as the japanese-support_c3100.ipk (underline and hypen being the only difference. Both go into the boot recycle, just like qtopia-combbattery or close from Meanie's site.

I am happy to be a guinea-pig, but aything but a linux master, I will need some heavy 'hand holding' in the process. The main thing I would like is input capability as well as the fonts etc. for proper display.

Do you know about the speed difference between Cacko and Sharp's roms which some folk alude to?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Aug 9 2006, 06:49 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



The under/overclock option from Cacko can be taken to the Sharp Rom by copying the batteryapplet from Cacko and installing it on the Sharp Rom.

Most of the fonts are already there in the Cacko rom, but it seems that all you want from cacko is the underclock option, which can also be done from the command line, I'll have to play around and get back to you with the settings.

Cacko is somewhat slower in opening apps as it stores the /usr/*.rom files and directories in a cramfs image. This allows you to save space, but gives a minor performance hit when opening files. If they are apps ypu use all the time then you can "fast start" them so that they stay running in the bakground - uses up memory though.

I never really had a problem with the load times, I just went back to the Sharp Rom after trying out OZ again and haven't gone back to Cacko yet cause I have my C1000 doing what I want it to.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezeerb
post Aug 9 2006, 03:52 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Sapporo, JPN
Member No.: 10,677



QUOTE(Stubear @ Aug 9 2006, 11:49 PM)
The under/overclock option from Cacko can be taken to the Sharp Rom by copying the batteryapplet from Cacko and installing it on the Sharp Rom.
Stu
*

I tried a couple of different versions of the copied batteryapplet. Actually probably the same, but one with a hyphen and the other with an underline. They do the reboot cycling which I can't get out of, shy reformating and starting from scratch.
How does one copy the applet from Cacko. I like the convenience of selecting an option rather than going to the command line.
Iam starting to suspect that my Tetsu kernel isn't doing what it is supposed to. In Kino2 I should be able to select a slower speed under preferences, but nothing shows up. I think it is suppose to when I have Tetsu's kernel installed. I used zImage-v18h-C3100.bin and Tetsu's installer.sh (with the .3100 removed from the initial file name of 'updater.sh.3100'. I did the reset, OK+On, Update, SD. I got no error messages and several success messages.
How can I know if it really is installed? It looks like he has the clock patch and core voltage patch included in the version.
-mark-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Aug 10 2006, 01:23 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



I've got the tetsu kernel installed on my C1000, you should have a folder called zaurus in /proc and you can see the current values of CCCR and VCore by typing
cat /proc/zaurus/CCCR
or
cat /proc/zaurus/VCORE
in a terminal window.

I get 0x02000210 and 0x1A respectively in standard mode.

To copy the Cacko battery applet you need to copy the file libcombbatteryapplet.so.1.0.6 from /usr/QtPalmtop.rom/plugins/applets on Cacko to /home/QtPalmtop/plugins/applets on the Sharp Rom. To avoid the rebooting cycle make sure you delete the libbatteryapplet.so* from /home/QtPlamtop/plugins/applets.

You will also need to create symlinks from the libcombbatteryapplet.so.1.0.6 to libcombbatteryapplet.so.1.0, libcombbatteryapplet.so.1, & libcombbatteryapplet.so
(ln -s libcombbatteryapplet.so.1.0.6 libcombbatteryapplet.so.1.0 will do that, but you need to be root and in the /home/QtPalmtop/plugins/applets directory

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezeerb
post Aug 10 2006, 06:41 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Sapporo, JPN
Member No.: 10,677



Thanks Stu!
When I get a bit of free time later this evening, I will give it a try.

-mark-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ezeerb
post Aug 11 2006, 06:00 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Sapporo, JPN
Member No.: 10,677



I finally got it.

I never had Tetsu's special kernel installed. I had changed the name to zImage.bin and not zimage.

Now I think I am getting places. Now the proc/zaurus directory shows.

From here I went o Meanies sight downloaded qtopia-combbattery... and IT WORKS!

Thanks much.

-mark-
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Aug 12 2006, 03:24 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



Yay,

Glad to here that you got it working

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st November 2014 - 03:59 AM