OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 6000 Built-in Wireless Howto For 1.1.0beta1?
rrnwexec
post Jan 2 2006, 04:41 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 1-April 04
Member No.: 2,608



I've successfully flashed 1.1.0beta1 on my 6000

I attempted to use the internal wireless on an SL-6000 to connect to any access point (AP) as follows:

CODE
Under "System Tools", open "Lan & Wifi"
    on "Network settings" screen
    click "Create new"
    "Enter new profile name.." any then click OK
    for "Network type" choose "Wireless" (radio button)
    click on "Wireless" tab, ensure that "Use "any" ESSID" is checked
    click OK


Unfortunately this did not result in the expected result. No wireless link light and no connection.

Can someone who's sucessfully connected their 6000 to a wireless net please respond with a HOWTO?

Thanks in advance.
Randall.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eddiectc
post Jan 2 2006, 05:30 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,088



u need to manually start the wlan device by running as root:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
then use dhcp to get the ip or set it manually:
dhcpcd wlan0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doppiaemme
post Jan 3 2006, 09:07 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 22-January 05
Member No.: 6,288



I don't understand if hostap driver is available for the internal wireless interface...
iwconfig commands don't work even now, I'd like to know if it's a common and well-known bug or if it's related to the standard driver

any suggestion?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jcabrer
post Jan 3 2006, 02:05 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,429



QUOTE(doppiaemme @ Jan 3 2006, 10:07 AM)
I don't understand if hostap driver is available for the internal wireless interface...
iwconfig commands don't work even now, I'd like to know if it's a common  and well-known bug or if it's related to the standard driver

any suggestion?
*


The internal Wireless is USB, not PCMCIA/CF, so the iwconfig stuff wont work. Anyone that knows different, please correct me.

I've been looking at fixing the script for handling Networks on the 6000, but I've not been able to spend any time on the problem in the past month. Basically, the script needs to be made aware of USB devices.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Jan 3 2006, 02:41 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(jcabrer @ Jan 3 2006, 04:05 PM)
The internal Wireless is USB, not PCMCIA/CF, so the iwconfig stuff wont work.  Anyone that knows different, please correct me.

I've been looking at fixing the script for handling Networks on the 6000, but I've not been able to spend any time on the problem in the past month.  Basically, the script needs to be made aware of USB devices.
*


The hostap drivers don't currently work with USB at all. It would require an experienced kernel programmer to make it work. The 6000 wifi uses the wlan-ng driver, which uses a different kernel interface, so iwconfig doesn't work.

All wireless parameters are set using the wlancfg and wlanctl-ng commands instead.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnw
post Jan 24 2006, 02:21 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,083



QUOTE(eddiectc @ Jan 2 2006, 08:30 PM)
u need to manually start the wlan device by running as root:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
then use dhcp to get the ip or set it manually:
dhcpcd wlan0
*


This didn't work for me - well not completely.
The command:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
started my wireless light blinking on my 6000L, but the second command:
dhcpcd wlan0
ran & never returned.

Basically no wireless access still.

If anyone knows the answer to this problem please speak up. There are a lot of people here (including myself) who are not having any success with getting wireless to work in beta1 for their 6000.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eddiectc
post Jan 24 2006, 05:50 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,088



after running /etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start
the interface wlan0 should be avaliable

u can check this by ifconfig wlan0

do u have dhcp server running?
or u need to set the ip manually?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnw
post Jan 26 2006, 08:36 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,083



Thanks for your help. The wlan0 interface is definitely available after running "/etc/rc.d/init.d/wlan start". However, running the command "dhcpcd wlan0" has no effect for me. I was wrong in my earlier post saying dhcpcd didn't return. Eventually it does, but after running it still doesn't allow me to be able to issue a command such as "ping 192.168.1.1" or "ping www.yahoo.com" with a good result. The output from running "ifconfig wlan0" is the exact same after running dhcpcd as it was before running it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eddiectc
post Jan 26 2006, 10:21 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,088



maybe ur 6k has some problem accessing the dhcp server?
maybe u can try static ip first
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnw
post Jan 29 2006, 07:48 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,083



QUOTE(eddiectc @ Jan 27 2006, 01:21 AM)
maybe ur 6k has some problem accessing the dhcp server?
maybe u can try static ip first
*


I restored from NAND back to my Sharp ROM. I'll just wait till beta 3 or 4 to try it out again. Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 09:59 PM