OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No Angstrom Loopback For Ipaq H5400 But, Techy Installl..
iTux
post May 2 2010, 10:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



I have been looking at some webposts about installing Angstrom on my old iPAq H5400. But, there is no loopback install for amateurs like me. I have used some linux distros in the past on my PC, & even used the command line often. I still don't see myself as skilled as i have required web support in this area. Anyway, since I don't have a loopback install, I am interested in doing a more techy install. I found a couple of pages that are somewhat instructive in this area: This one & this one . I have downloaded BootBlaster & bootloader but, I am only using Windows ATM. I have bought a CF card on eBay, & am waiting for it to arrive. I already have the jacket for it... My main concern is for using ymodem. My understsanding is I use ymodem through a command prompt to connect to my iPAQ hardware, & I am thinking it would be done through Linux. I have a serial port connection to my iPAQ but, I am thinking I will need to use a linux distro. I am thinking I will use a live disc, such as Knoppix or Ubuntu. Is there any advice I need on my plan?

Thanks in advance :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iTux
post May 3 2010, 10:22 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



QUOTE(iTux @ May 3 2010, 04:05 AM) *
I have been looking at some webposts about installing Angstrom on my old iPAq H5400. But, there is no loopback install for amateurs like me. I have used some linux distros in the past on my PC, & even used the command line often. I still don't see myself as skilled as i have required web support in this area. Anyway, since I don't have a loopback install, I am interested in doing a more techy install. I found a couple of pages that are somewhat instructive in this area: This one & this one . I have downloaded BootBlaster & bootloader but, I am only using Windows ATM. I have bought a CF card on eBay, & am waiting for it to arrive. I already have the jacket for it... My main concern is for using ymodem. My understsanding is I use ymodem through a command prompt to connect to my iPAQ hardware, & I am thinking it would be done through Linux. I have a serial port connection to my iPAQ but, I am thinking I will need to use a linux distro. I am thinking I will use a live disc, such as Knoppix or Ubuntu. Is there any advice I need on my plan?

Thanks in advance :-)


I have googled some more & I think I know a bit more about ymodem. I understand it as a protocol used in the Linux shell commend line - A way of connecting to another device and giving commands. I think it can be done through windows but, I think with this method I should do it through a Linux PC. So, through this installation process I will speak to Linux on my iPaq from a Linux PC via my serial port, & give the relevant commands & uploading I need. Does this sound correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post May 3 2010, 10:36 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE(iTux @ May 4 2010, 08:22 AM) *
I have googled some more & I think I know a bit more about ymodem. I understand it as a protocol used in the Linux shell commend line - A way of connecting to another device and giving commands. I think it can be done through windows but, I think with this method I should do it through a Linux PC. So, through this installation process I will speak to Linux on my iPaq from a Linux PC via my serial port, & give the relevant commands & uploading I need. Does this sound correct?

Ymodem is a file transfer protocol. You use it to transfer the Linux root file system to your iPAQ over the serial connection. But first you have to install the new bootloader. BootBlaster (a WinCE app, will be run on the iPAQ itself) will take care of this. You can do this using Windows as well, you only need a terminal emulator. I have used HyperTerminal to install Linux on my old iPAQ but there are other options as well.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iTux
post May 4 2010, 08:55 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



QUOTE(merlin1 @ May 4 2010, 04:36 PM) *
QUOTE(iTux @ May 4 2010, 08:22 AM) *
I have googled some more & I think I know a bit more about ymodem. I understand it as a protocol used in the Linux shell commend line - A way of connecting to another device and giving commands. I think it can be done through windows but, I think with this method I should do it through a Linux PC. So, through this installation process I will speak to Linux on my iPaq from a Linux PC via my serial port, & give the relevant commands & uploading I need. Does this sound correct?

Ymodem is a file transfer protocol. You use it to transfer the Linux root file system to your iPAQ over the serial connection. But first you have to install the new bootloader. BootBlaster (a WinCE app, will be run on the iPAQ itself) will take care of this. You can do this using Windows as well, you only need a terminal emulator. I have used HyperTerminal to install Linux on my old iPAQ but there are other options as well.


Thanks! I have googled so much I am somewhat confused. I am trying to find the latest BootBlaster & bootloader: I currently have downloaded BootBlaster3900-2.6 & bootldr-pxa-2.21.11.bin - I think these are the ones I need. Can anyone confirm this?

:-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iTux
post May 6 2010, 04:53 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



Things are more clearer to me now. I have found some great instructions for installing Angstrom here http://undefined.org.ua/blog/2008/04/13/pp...gstrom/?lang=en I also have the right boot loader & Boot Blaster. I am running Windows 7 so I had to download terminal client, since Win 7 doesn't have it (neither Win Vista). I am thinking of running the install off of a CF card. Not sure if this is a good option though.

:-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iTux
post May 8 2010, 02:04 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



After 2 attempts I got Angstrom loaded on to my iPaq H5450. I followed this instruction but, there are some things to note. As my first attempt ended having this error , I was fortunate that I could still access Win CE. Although, I couldn't restore it in any way. The boot loader was still there but, I decided to go for a different boot loader. The one linked in this instruction wasn't the one displayed the screen shots. The one linked is bootldr-pxa-2.21.11.bin.gz but the better one is bootldr-pxa-2.21.12.bin.gz. So, I used BootBlaster to backup & program the new one.

I ran into an issue using Hyper Terminal. I could connect to my iPaq but no prompt was coming up. I soon realized why. You have to have Flow Control set to 'None'. So, then I could instruct boot loader & things started to move forward, until I got the error... But I was ready to go for the second attempt. Another thing, since I downloaded Hyper Terminal and ran it within Win 7, it was a bit unstable. While sending the image over Ymodem, it froze up. I had to start again and walk away from the computer, making sure it wasn't going to be busy doing other things in the background. I disconnected the internet ect...

Overall, a big learning curve for me. I find Angstrom sluggish & several things, like wifi, SD, Bluetooth, don't work. One major thing is when I suspend it goes to a black screen with a cursor blinking in the corner. The screen doesn't switch off. I have to take the battery off to turn it off, then reset it to turn it on. My settings are then all gone except passwords. I just have to work out how to connect to the web via USB & update it. Maybe this will change things. Just more googling & another learning curve for me.

Thanks for your help! It is sort of bloggish now though.

:-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iTux
post May 8 2010, 04:15 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



QUOTE(iTux @ May 8 2010, 08:04 PM) *
After 2 attempts I got Angstrom loaded on to my iPaq H5450. I followed this instruction but, there are some things to note. As my first attempt ended having this error , I was fortunate that I could still access Win CE. Although, I couldn't restore it in any way. The boot loader was still there but, I decided to go for a different boot loader. The one linked in this instruction wasn't the one displayed the screen shots. The one linked is bootldr-pxa-2.21.11.bin.gz but the better one is bootldr-pxa-2.21.12.bin.gz. So, I used BootBlaster to backup & program the new one.

I ran into an issue using Hyper Terminal. I could connect to my iPaq but no prompt was coming up. I soon realized why. You have to have Flow Control set to 'None'. So, then I could instruct boot loader & things started to move forward, until I got the error... But I was ready to go for the second attempt. Another thing, since I downloaded Hyper Terminal and ran it within Win 7, it was a bit unstable. While sending the image over Ymodem, it froze up. I had to start again and walk away from the computer, making sure it wasn't going to be busy doing other things in the background. I disconnected the internet ect...

Overall, a big learning curve for me. I find Angstrom sluggish & several things, like wifi, SD, Bluetooth, don't work. One major thing is when I suspend it goes to a black screen with a cursor blinking in the corner. The screen doesn't switch off. I have to take the battery off to turn it off, then reset it to turn it on. My settings are then all gone except passwords. I just have to work out how to connect to the web via USB & update it. Maybe this will change things. Just more googling & another learning curve for me.

Thanks for your help! It is sort of bloggish now though.

:-)



Ps. This lack of connectivity is really annoying. I can't get connected via USB. I think I installed something a bit too basic. No calendar, contacts... I might have a go at building one at http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/narcissus/ . I might then get some other connectivity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd August 2014 - 12:38 AM