OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

25 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stuffing Serial Bluetooth Module Inside C1k Casing, share your success stories ...
albertr
post Sep 2 2005, 11:48 AM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Ugh... In case you will be looking for a Class 2 dongle, I have a small writeup on Billionton Class 2 dongle here: http://www.iral.com/~albertr/billionton/

-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 2 2005, 12:38 PM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



Sorry, Albert, i don't know why but i can't open your site. While connection is istablished serves doesn't response anything util timeout occurs.

9:05 PM: Successfully opened your link through the proxy.

This post has been edited by 2x4ever: Sep 2 2005, 01:07 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 2 2005, 12:58 PM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



I've bought the same billionton class 1 dongle as that which i've used before and but it's completely different inside. It is based on BlueCore3-ROM chip and doesn't have UART traced on PCB. Image follows.
http://2x4ever-vpn.compot.ru/zaurus/pics/dongles.jpg

Don't worry, i bought it a long time ago smile.gif.

This post has been edited by 2x4ever: Sep 2 2005, 01:11 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Sep 2 2005, 01:12 PM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Yeah, BC2-Ext are getting hard to come by, since it's older and more expensive than BC3-Rom. Manufacturers (Billionton including) using different revisions based on parts availibility and costs. That's the reason I did that writeup on Class 2 dongles from Billionton.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 2 2005, 01:27 PM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



QUOTE(albertr @ Sep 2 2005, 09:12 PM)
Yeah, BC2-Ext are getting hard to come by, since it's older and more expensive than BC3-Rom. Manufacturers (Billionton including) using different revisions based on parts availibility and costs. That's the reason I did that writeup on Class 2 dongles from Billionton.
-albertr
*

Thank's Albert. I'll consider the information from your write up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 05:47 AM
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



I've just bought a new NONAME dongle. I was unable to find an old revision Billionton. Only v1.2. But it's seems that this noname dongle have the same design as billionton has.
Photos:
http://2x4ever-vpn.compot.ru/zaurus/pics/noname_dongle/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Sep 3 2005, 07:53 AM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



It looks close to BC2-Ext reference design, but not exactly it. I think I had some problems with this design awhile ago switching it into UART mode. Were you able to switch it?
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 07:55 AM
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



QUOTE(albertr @ Sep 3 2005, 03:53 PM)
It looks close to BC2-Ext reference design, but not exactly it. I think I had some problems with this design awhile ago switching it into UART mode. Were you able to switch it?
-albertr
*

Yes, i've switched it into UART mode without problems. The only problem was is to suggest UART pins since its placed in different place but oscilloscope is allways with me smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 08:05 AM
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



I have another porblem. After switching it to BCSP mode i can't access its pskeys anymore. BTW i've upgraded its firmware to 16.4, can this be a problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Sep 3 2005, 08:36 AM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



QUOTE(2x4ever @ Sep 3 2005, 10:55 AM)
Yes, i've switched it into UART mode without problems. The only problem was is to suggest UART pins since its placed in different place but oscilloscope is allways with me smile.gif


Ahh, that was it, now I remember. I don't have an o'scope, so that was a real problem for me.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Sep 3 2005, 08:44 AM
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



QUOTE(2x4ever @ Sep 3 2005, 11:05 AM)
I have another porblem. After switching it to BCSP mode i can't access its pskeys anymore. BTW i've upgraded its firmware to 16.4, can this be a problem?


Do you mean 16.14? If so, I don't think it should be a problem, at least I don;t rememeber seeing anything like this in the bugs list/release notes for this version.

You don't use a ram persistent store to temporary test your ps keys, do you? What I do here is writing new ps keys into ram and then rebooting the module to test it out. Once I'm satisfied with everything, I write it into flash to make permanent change.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 08:50 AM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



QUOTE(albertr @ Sep 3 2005, 04:44 PM)
Do you mean 16.14? If so, I don't think it should be a problem, at least I don;t rememeber seeing anything like this in the bugs list/release notes for this version.
Yes 16.14.

QUOTE(albertr @ Sep 3 2005, 04:44 PM)
You don't use a ram persistent store to temporary test your ps keys, do you? What I do here is writing new ps keys into ram and then rebooting the module to test it out. Once I'm satisfied with everything, I write it into flash to make permanent change.
-albertr
No i don't. I'm to lazy to write my own code for changin pskeys. So i'm using pskey provided by Fabrizio Gennari and it can't use a ram persistent store. Or maybe i had totaly mislooked something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Sep 3 2005, 09:42 AM
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



I don't use pskeys, but I believe it could be changed to use RAM store. Take a look at documentation available @ csrsupport.com.

On a side note, I recently acquired a DELL Trumobile 350 bluetooth module. It has a BC4-Ext w/ 8Mb flash inside and supports BT 2.0 specs with enhanced data rate (upto 3Mb/s). Even with slower uart speeds, the radio is supposed to transmit for shorted periods of time when communicating with other BT 2.0 devices, thus better power consumption. It also small in size, so could be a good fit inside the Zaurus. However, I have a problem with locating its pinout (it has a 10 pin connector and six additional soldering pads on the back). The module is manufactured by USI for DELL, but all design is done by CSR itself, so I'm sure it could be switched to uart mode. Here in the US, it's just a slightly more expensive than usb dongles, I think I paid approx. $20 for this module. Can you find one in Russia at reasonable price?
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 10:43 AM
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



QUOTE(albertr @ Sep 3 2005, 05:42 PM)
I don't use pskeys, but I believe it could be changed to use RAM store. Take a look at documentation available @ csrsupport.com.

On a side note, I recently acquired a DELL Trumobile 350 bluetooth module. It has a BC4-Ext w/ 8Mb flash inside and supports BT 2.0 specs with enhanced data rate (upto 3Mb/s). Even with slower uart speeds, the radio is supposed to transmit for shorted periods of time when communicating with other BT 2.0 devices, thus better power consumption.  It also small in size, so could be a good fit inside the Zaurus. However, I have a problem with locating its pinout (it has a 10 pin connector and six additional soldering pads on the back). The module is manufactured by USI for DELL, but all design is done by CSR itself, so I'm sure it could be switched to uart mode. Here in the US, it's just a slightly more expensive than usb dongles, I think I paid approx. $20 for this module. Can you find one in Russia at reasonable price?
-albertr
*

I'm not fully understading what module a you tallking about. Is it a module use in Dell's notebooks? I'll take a look at prices. Can you post some images of it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2x4ever
post Sep 3 2005, 10:54 AM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 31-October 04
From: Moscow,Russia
Member No.: 5,286



Ok. I figured out. At the first look (internet sites) there is no available modules for sale now. I'll try to call to a companies selling dell's notebooks and ask.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

25 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th July 2014 - 05:15 AM