OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Instructions For Adding Bluetooth To Sl6000
DrWowe
post Nov 5 2005, 03:08 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(neuroshock @ Nov 3 2005, 07:46 PM)
So originally it looks like it could have been populated with four chips instead of two.  I'm not sure of how they originally planned to integrate the memory chips

If you read the original announcement of the SL-6000, there were 4 models planned. One of them was the SL-6000D with 128 megs of flash, but I don't think it was ever released.

But I think that explains the extra sockets in the design.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 5 2005, 06:43 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(DrWowe @ Nov 5 2005, 06:08 PM)
QUOTE(neuroshock @ Nov 3 2005, 07:46 PM)
So originally it looks like it could have been populated with four chips instead of two.  I'm not sure of how they originally planned to integrate the memory chips

If you read the original announcement of the SL-6000, there were 4 models planned. One of them was the SL-6000D with 128 megs of flash, but I don't think it was ever released.

But I think that explains the extra sockets in the design.
*



Actually it was released. At least one person on these forums has gotten ahold of a real one (not hacked to 128mb). See this post here

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DrWowe
post Nov 5 2005, 09:20 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,468



QUOTE(loc4me @ Nov 5 2005, 08:43 PM)
Actually it was released. At least one person on these forums has gotten ahold of a real one (not hacked to 128mb). See this post here

Not to nitpick, but the poster in that thread pretty clearly said it was pre-release model. Of course there were a few prototypes, but I still don't think it was ever released.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 6 2005, 09:05 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(DrWowe @ Nov 6 2005, 12:20 AM)
QUOTE(loc4me @ Nov 5 2005, 08:43 PM)
Actually it was released. At least one person on these forums has gotten ahold of a real one (not hacked to 128mb). See this post here

Not to nitpick, but the poster in that thread pretty clearly said it was pre-release model. Of course there were a few prototypes, but I still don't think it was ever released.
*



Okay fine. I will give you that, but some one has one. Wether or not it was offically released i have no idea.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 16 2005, 05:36 AM
Post #35





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(loc4me @ Nov 5 2005, 11:58 PM)
Regarding the  WML-C09-AHR chip that Guylhem recomened. Does anyone (DIRK) know if that chip is able to just be mounted/soldered and go. Will it work with out the voltage regulators and such. Or does it even need them.

Guylhem implied in his original post that it was pin-for-pin compatible. Hopefully he can confirm this.
QUOTE
I have also contacted segor.de about the WML-C09-AHR chip. They are very good about replying to my emails which is great b/c i cant read there website. Shipping is very expensive to the US though. i am thinking about shipping to the UK where my mother is visiting for couple weeks then have here bring it back for me.
*


me too.
I am willing to be a conduit to buy a bunch of these if people are interested, as I could probably get a small discount for, say, five. However, since these AFAIK are parts from Japan, there must be a US-based distributor for Mitsumi? who has them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dirk
post Nov 16 2005, 11:20 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 13-April 05
Member No.: 6,870



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 16 2005, 02:36 PM)
me too.
I am willing to be a conduit to buy a bunch of these if people are interested, as I could probably get a  small discount for, say, five. However, since these AFAIK are parts from Japan, there must be a US-based distributor for Mitsumi? who has them.
*


For an US- based distributor have a look at this site:

US distributor

Dirk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 16 2005, 02:49 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Nov 16 2005, 08:36 AM)
QUOTE(loc4me @ Nov 5 2005, 11:58 PM)
Regarding the  WML-C09-AHR chip that Guylhem recomened. Does anyone (DIRK) know if that chip is able to just be mounted/soldered and go. Will it work with out the voltage regulators and such. Or does it even need them.

Guylhem implied in his original post that it was pin-for-pin compatible. Hopefully he can confirm this.
QUOTE
I have also contacted segor.de about the WML-C09-AHR chip. They are very good about replying to my emails which is great b/c i cant read there website. Shipping is very expensive to the US though. i am thinking about shipping to the UK where my mother is visiting for couple weeks then have here bring it back for me.
*


me too.
I am willing to be a conduit to buy a bunch of these if people are interested, as I could probably get a small discount for, say, five. However, since these AFAIK are parts from Japan, there must be a US-based distributor for Mitsumi? who has them.
*



I would be willing to go in on a bundle of chips. I have a couple of Zaurii that i would like to mod with the BT hack. My only concern is that the voltage regulators will need to be installed. I have asked Dirk about them but i still dont understand why they are needed. It seems to work with out them. i gather that they are need to shut it off and supply PROPER voltage to it.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 17 2005, 03:09 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

Regarding dirk issues with power, I think he just can't power off the module ie it's always draining the battery. but it eats so little power than it should be neglibigle. If you use a WML AHR C09, you will not have that problem as it'll work just like in a standard Zaurus.

For your friend, I suggest soldering a WML AHR C09 by wires. If you want to do it cheap, a Billionton module like the one used by AlbertR should be fine. I've purchased some and I'm testing them. I'll be happy to offer you one if you want, but I'd suggest you the WML AHR C09, if only for the power issues and my experience with it on the simpad (works like a charm! associates to cellphone, keyboards etc)

BTW, I finally started working on the dead 6000L I was offered. It is dead as can be. The motherboard sustained power damages IMHO, ie I can't test the memory upgrades I'll be doing and I've had no news from bfgh regarding the chip purchases.

Anyway, it's a first step. I'll try to purchase a 6000 with a broken screen for the motherboard.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 17 2005, 04:40 AM
Post #39





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



welcome back, Guylhem.

QUOTE(guylhem @ Nov 17 2005, 12:09 PM)
For your friend, I suggest soldering a WML AHR C09 by wires

do you mean that you can't just solder it in place, or is it simply safer to do it like that so it can be easily removed?

QUOTE
motherboard sustained power damages IMHO, ie I can't test the memory upgrades I'll be doing and I've had no news from bfgh regarding the chip purchases.


how easy would it be to remove the flash chip off that 6000 and try them in another one?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 17 2005, 10:21 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



simpler and safer - you can easily remove it.

removing the flash chip - quite complicated. I will have to ask a few local specialist, but it'll be hard. Having a dead motherboard to practice will make it easier however

But first I need the flash chips. No news on the order. I'll keep you informed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 17 2005, 12:43 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(guylhem @ Nov 17 2005, 06:09 AM)
Hello

Regarding dirk issues with power, I think he just can't power off the module ie it's always draining the battery. but it eats so little power than it should be neglibigle. If you use a WML AHR C09, you will not have that problem as it'll work just like in a standard Zaurus.

For your friend, I suggest soldering a WML AHR C09 by wires. If you want to do it cheap, a Billionton module like the one used by AlbertR should be fine.  I've purchased some and I'm testing them. I'll be happy to offer you one if you want, but I'd suggest you the WML AHR C09, if only for the power issues and my experience with it on the simpad (works like a charm! associates to cellphone, keyboards etc)

Guylhem
*


Guylhem,
Are you able to turn your blue tooth module on and off? If not, do you know how it is done on the ture 6000W? I would be interested in one of the Billionton modules. I do think i would go the wire way instead of soldering directly to the motherboard?

Also, this is a silly question but does you think outside Keyboard and mouse work with the module? what is the range?

Is there not away to turn off the chip my software like the internal wireless. Do you know how that is done??

Thanks for the Help.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 17 2005, 03:35 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



on and off - no problem, but I don't have a billionton. simply accessing the seral port turns it on or off.

the wire way is necessary for a billionton.

regarding range, I never tried a lot. 2 meters max, but maybe it could do more
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 17 2005, 05:46 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Nov 3 2005, 04:25 AM)
I'm off to Boston in two weeks, the company I work for are based there smile.gif

Anyway, if the connector you are talking about is similar to the screen connector for an Ipaq then you have 0 chance of repairing it, I have tried on numerous occasions and it never ever works. Once the locking bar is cracked it will not hold the ribbon tight enough no matter how careful you are. The only way I have found to fix it is to remove the connector completely and solder the ribbon to the motherboard. I have never replaced a connector because the tight gits wanted $30 for it and it's maybe $2 worth. I don't mind anyone making a profit but that was obscene.

Do not be tempted to try any kind of epoxy on the existing connector you will trash it.

Post a picture of it, I have a bazillion old laptops here and there may just be one, you never know.
*


OOps. I just also broke my LCD connector while trying to fix stuff in the dead 6000 - in fact 1 pin only, but it's grey screen :-/

It is a FF0251SS1 - the minimal order is for 3000 pieces at $3.40 each. Any help would be welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 17 2005, 06:08 PM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(guylhem @ Nov 17 2005, 06:35 PM)
on and off - no problem, but I don't have a billionton. simply accessing the seral port turns it on or off.

the wire way is necessary for a billionton.

regarding range, I never tried a lot. 2 meters max, but maybe it could do more
*


Guylhem,
I have been looking for the billionton modules. Is thiswhat you are talking about??

I guess i still dont understand how you turn it on and off. Is it buy software? you said by accessing the serial port? Also how integrated into you rom is it? Is it really easy to connect peripherials such as KB and mouse, cellphone?

Sorry to hear about your LCD but speaking of your bricked 6000. Is there a way i could buy one of the clear plastic covers for the led lights so i can add a light for the blue tooth at some point when i get it working?

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 18 2005, 11:06 AM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

Check albertr website for pics of the dongles that work. To turn on and off I've never done that with billionton- I guess by software it will be fine. It's quite integrated because I use a bt mouse and cellphone a lot.

Regarding the leds cover, I will try to get some for you. I have already extracted the plastic that neuroshock needed.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 05:23 PM