OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Needed With Wpa, c-1000 with Opie, need help with WPA
walts
post May 2 2007, 12:48 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 20-April 04
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 2,933



I have a c-1000 with Opie (Akita 3.5.4.1) and a Linksys wcf11 card which was working fine on my WEP network.

With the latest increased insecurity of WEP, I have switched the network over to WPA/PSK, and all of my other computers are working fine with it.

I have tried configuring the Z as described here http://wiki.openzaurus.org/HowTos/roaming_..._wpa_supplicant
I used the example wpa_supplicant.conf, changing this section:

# Only WPA-PSK is used. Any valid cipher combination is accepted.
network={
ssid="example"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
psk=06b4be19da289f475aa46a33cb793029d4ab3db7a23ee92382eb0106c72ac7bb
priority=2
}
putting my own information in for the ssid and psk lines, and leaving everything else in the file "as-is".
When I give the ifup command it says "Sending discover..." three times and forks to background since it can't get a lease. The card is active (LED blinking) and it works with Wellenreiter, so it seems the hardware is OK.

I need help troubleshooting this. Just some additional information about what went wrong - like the ssid was wrong, or the key was refused, or the card wasn't found....

Any help will be very much appreciated.

Walt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post May 2 2007, 01:09 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



check firmware of card (run 'hostap_diag wlan0') - it need STA 1.7.0 or later.

You can load firmware to ram of card with 'prism2_srec -r /etc/pcmcia/rf010804.hex wlan0' after card insert.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
walts
post May 21 2007, 06:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 20-April 04
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 2,933



QUOTE(Hrw @ May 2 2007, 09:09 PM)
check firmware of card (run 'hostap_diag wlan0') - it need STA 1.7.0 or later.

You can load firmware to ram of card with 'prism2_srec -r /etc/pcmcia/rf010804.hex wlan0' after card insert.
*


Thanks, Marcin! I'm glad that you are still active in the OE forum - from what I'm reading everything is going over to Angstrom, but when I installed it, nothing worked! The GUI network configuration seemed to work, but since my network is now WPA, I couldn't set it up. In the Console, ifconfig and his friends don't seem to be installed!

So I re-installed Open Zaurus Akita 3.5.4.1 and tried to follow your instructions. I do have an old firmware version, STA is 1.3.4, so I tried updating the firmware, and it replies:
'wlan0' not readable : No such file or directory
Parsing 'wlan0' failed.

Note that Wellenreiter still works, using wlan0 as the interface!

I'm happy to work with Angstrom, but at this stage it looks to me as if you need to be a fairly skilled Linux programmer to get anything to work - and I'm not that!

Walt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 01:43 AM