OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> About Intel Pxa27x-processor And Usb-capabilities
ChrisZ
post Mar 21 2005, 04:22 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-December 04
From: Koblenz, Germany
Member No.: 5,837



Hi!

I've just read in the Intel PXA27x-specification. And there are some interesting things about the USB-capabilities of the processor:

USB-client: USB 1.1 with max. 12 Mbps

USB-host: USB 1.1 with max. 12 Mbps. The host provides 3.3 V to clients but the normally necessary 5 V for HDD or something "bus-powered" are not provided. And, the 3.3 V output is combined with a max. current of 25 mA and therefore 82.5 mW. That's much too less for a harddisk. According to Toshiba, Hitachi, Seagate and Fujitsu, current 1.8 inch harddisks need at least 1.2 W for spin-up.

Intel (see ftp://download.intel.com/design/pca/appli...als/2800002.pdf and ftp://download.intel.com/design/pca/appli.../28000502.pdf):
QUOTE
The +5 V VBUS source from USB host controller, which must be available for bus-powered peripherals, must be supplied from an external source, but it is not part of the PXA27x processor silicon.


I don't think Sharp added some additional USB functions which were not provided by the PXA270.

It's too bad, I really thought I could use an external HDD without power supply.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
barbjfox2000
post Mar 22 2005, 09:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 30-January 05
Member No.: 6,357



Chris,

Thanks for illuminating. Since I don't speak Japanese, it's been a bit of an adventure finding out what the "true" capabilities of my marvelous new device actually are!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Mar 22 2005, 10:16 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



If you look around, wasn't there something mentioned about a io port? I also saw something suggesting that there was a serial port in this io port. My io port (C860) has a VCC output... But this of course will only be 3.3volts... wouldn't advise using a step-up convertor, unless you were going to take from the battery directly...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 22 2005, 11:02 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



It shouldn't surprise you that a desktop HDD's power consumption is not supported by the Zaurus. The Z itself is considered a power hog and attaching a hard drive will kill it quick. Think of it this way. The old IBM microdrives generate more heat than the new Hitachi. The old ibm microdrives impact the Z's battery life considerably. Now feel the heat generated by your desktop's hard drive.

If you were thinking about using it while powering the Z externally, then maybe it would be easier to get a beefier transformer with two outputs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ChrisZ
post Mar 22 2005, 12:33 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-December 04
From: Koblenz, Germany
Member No.: 5,837



QUOTE(bluedevils @ Mar 22 2005, 07:02 PM)
It shouldn't surprise you that a desktop HDD's power consumption is not supported by the Zaurus...


@bluedevils: You're right. But I thought it could be possible to power an external 1.8 inch harddrive with the Zaurus, not a desktop HDD. Remember: current 1.8 inch drives need only 1.2 W for operation. That's really not much and compared to the Hitachi Microdrive 3K4 which needs already about 1.0 W, 1.2 W is really impressive!

@omega: I didn't see anything with 5 V. But I 've just looked at the processor's specs.

One more thought: Some drives, e. g. Toshiba MK3006GAL, need just 3.3 V and about 1.2 W. Perhaps they can be powered with an other power source from the Z, e. g. the IO-port. but I don't know what max. current is provided by it.

By the way, I've decided to buy an external 2.5 inch drive with an external power source. That works without any problems. It can be powered with the same external power supply which I use for the Z. I think that's a good solution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 22 2005, 12:42 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



My error. I did not realize the 1.8 inch's power requirements were much less than a normal desktop's HDD.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ChrisZ
post Mar 22 2005, 12:49 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-December 04
From: Koblenz, Germany
Member No.: 5,837



Errors everywhere:

I've taken my Z and meassured the USB bus-power. And ... 5 V.

That means: the PXA27x doesn't provide 5 V. But if someone (Sharp) uses the processor and wants to use USB in a device, one must take the 5 V from an other source. Sharp found such a source :-)

But that doesn't answer the question how much max. current is on the USB bus. Perhaps some 1.8 inch devices work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Mar 22 2005, 01:00 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



Did you measure that with the Z plugged in or when it is using battery power? I ask this because external power is 5v, but my 760's and 6000's batteries are 3.7v (is the 3000 different?).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ChrisZ
post Mar 22 2005, 01:04 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 8-December 04
From: Koblenz, Germany
Member No.: 5,837



Without power supply.

The battery is 3.7 V too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 06:20 PM