OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zaurus Screen -- Spare Part, sl6000l defective screen
seed
post Oct 10 2005, 09:13 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,156



hey guys long time
ok my sl-6000l screen does a problem, it seem that the touch screen doesnt response anymore... but i can clear see the display but it look like the glass over it ( the sensitive touch screen)have a problem... i want too know if there a somewhere where i can get spare part for my zaurus model ... my z is stillunder warranty but i dont have the receipt so the warranty is not aplyable....
thank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Oct 10 2005, 11:49 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi seed,

i think it's better to search for the receipt or to contact
the people were you purchased the Zaurus.
Like all displays, there's only the complete unit available
(including LCD, touchscreen and backlight).
We made a display repair for an SL-6000 and i just checked
the part and price:

Part# : VVLS040V7DD01 LCD UNIT
Price : 300.00 EUR (roughly $360)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seed
post Oct 10 2005, 01:57 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,156



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Oct 10 2005, 07:49 PM)
Hi seed,

i think it's better to search for the receipt or to contact
the people were you purchased the Zaurus.
Like all displays, there's only the complete unit available
(including LCD, touchscreen and backlight).
We made a display repair for an SL-6000 and i just checked
the part and price:

Part# : VVLS040V7DD01  LCD UNIT
Price : 300.00 EUR (roughly $360)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


wow.... at this price i thing i better get a new c1000, but can it be possible to get a defective sl-6000l with a working screen ....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mjb
post Oct 10 2005, 02:11 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-July 04
Member No.: 4,163



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Oct 10 2005, 07:49 PM)
Hi seed,

i think it's better to search for the receipt or to contact
the people were you purchased the Zaurus.
Like all displays, there's only the complete unit available
(including LCD, touchscreen and backlight).
We made a display repair for an SL-6000 and i just checked
the part and price:

Part# : VVLS040V7DD01  LCD UNIT
Price : 300.00 EUR (roughly $360)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


Another option, or at least a temporary workaround, is to use a usb mouse. On my stock 6000, it 'just worked' when plugged in and provided most of the functionality of the touch screen. I use the touch screen instead of the mouse because there is a refresh problem with some software, but I could use the mouse for 90+ percent of the things I do with my Zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seed
post Oct 10 2005, 08:41 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 8-January 05
Member No.: 6,156



good idea... but i think i would a litle hard to use the mouse when i will be outside.... if u know what i mean lol
also do domeone have already been replace his screen by sharp to see hw much do they charge.... and for the screen i read somewhere that for the sony clie (i not sure ) the do sell screen and the sensitive touch part separatly... some say 70 $US for the sensitive part.... can some one confirm ??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Oct 10 2005, 11:42 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Seed,

getting a defective SL-6000 with a working screen is an idea.
But alternatively you should also look for the "original" device.
The SL-6000 screen was NOT made for the Zaurus, it was made
for the famous RZ-N100R (link).

So a defective RZ-N100R would do also.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 11 2005, 03:11 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



try an ipaq hx4700 which IIRC has the same screen. it's kinda mainstream so you may easily find spares.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 25 2005, 11:35 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(mjb @ Oct 10 2005, 11:11 PM)
Another option, or at least a temporary workaround, is to use a usb mouse. On my stock 6000, it 'just worked' when plugged in and provided most of the functionality of the touch screen. I use the touch screen instead of the mouse because there is a refresh problem with some software, but I could use the mouse for 90+ percent of the things I do with my Zaurus.
*


I have a mini trackball which is like a keyring; it's ideal when controlling a laptop and u don't have space to rest a real mouse. Mine is ps/2, and cost GBP8 (about US$12) but I'll betcha there's a usb version.

FX: clickety click

http://www.novitatech.org.au/product.asp?p=247&id=1847

Actually, this is a great idea for operating the Z whilst in docking cradle! Alternatively there's mini keyboards with built-in trackballs:
http://www.fentek-ind.com/wireless.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 06:25 AM