OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xmms Problem, won't play music
Lumune
post Jan 13 2006, 07:09 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 10-August 04
Member No.: 4,244



I just flashed beta 1, my first time using pdaxrom, which looks very nice biggrin.gif

but i ran into problem when i tried to play a mp3 file in xmms

it gave me an error when i play the file: "failed to open audiio output: eSound Output Plugin 1.2.10"

I have no idea what it means, and if i try to play the file again, xmms freeze

Could someone help me plz

Thx~
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Raul
post Aug 19 2006, 02:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 10-February 06
Member No.: 9,110



I have the same error with beta3. I saw earlier RC8 complains about that. And no one has any idea what to do with it whatsoever. In my case, only reboot helps.
I can't kill the esd process - it just changes the process number.

Kind regards,
Raul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Aug 20 2006, 07:36 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



I've had issues with xmms and esd too, usually when a suspend occurs unexpectedly (dpms has a nagging bug or two...)

Just killing esd won't help, as Xmms will spawn a new one. Usually killing both xmms and esd and restarting xmms can get things working again when they're wedged.

However, you can disable esd completely by going to the xmms preferences dialog and changing the output pluging from the eSound Output Plugin to the OSS one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Raul
post Aug 22 2006, 08:34 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 10-February 06
Member No.: 9,110



Yes, it's mostly after suspend. But when I changed the plugin to OSS I couldn't hear the music too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karlto
post Aug 22 2006, 12:12 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 3-October 05
From: NZ
Member No.: 8,243



QUOTE(Raul @ Aug 23 2006, 05:34 AM)
Yes, it's mostly after suspend. But when I changed the plugin to OSS I couldn't hear the music too.
*

Probably not with esd still running as it will have everything locked (and OSS needs direct access). Maybe try esdctl etc programs to get esd working again, or kill it completely so OSS will work...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gtJormungand
post Nov 30 2006, 09:33 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 21-September 04
Member No.: 4,682



With my 860, I am using the current 1.1.0r121. After a fresh install, I cannot get any sound to work with XMMS. Anyone know what the problem is?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
solighten
post Dec 1 2006, 04:03 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 16-September 04
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 4,604



QUOTE(gtJormungand @ Dec 1 2006, 05:33 AM)
With my 860, I am using the current 1.1.0r121.  After a fresh install, I cannot get any sound to work with XMMS.  Anyone know what the problem is?
*


Hi,

this has already been mentioned several times. Use alsamixer from shell
CODE
TERM=xterm-color
alsamixer

and unmute the channel (press "m" on the channel). There you can also set the volume. In XMMS I had to change the output device to alsa.

To get a nice running 1.1.0r121 I had to do several small fixes that I mostly found here. Now it is working well, including WPA/WEP, sound, gnumeric, kapi/kopi,...

Jan cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 05:38 AM