OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems Installing Pdaxrom
Dr_Unvisible
post Feb 23 2006, 04:49 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 8,401



I'm having troubles installing pdaxrom, every time I try and install it I get "RO file system error while flashing".

I've tried checked the MD5's they are correct, tried two different SD cards and one CF card.

I have the 3100 and the Sharp ROM installed rigt now.

Anyone have any Ideas.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Feb 23 2006, 09:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(Dr_Unvisible @ Feb 23 2006, 06:49 PM)
I'm having troubles installing pdaxrom, every time I try and install it I get "RO file system error while flashing".

I've tried checked the MD5's they are correct, tried two different SD cards and one CF card.

I have the 3100 and the Sharp ROM installed rigt now.

Anyone have any Ideas.
*


I had the same d@mn problem when I was trying to flash RC12! Very frustrating.
I couldn't find a solution anywhere and nothing I tried fixed it.... Until Beta1 came out. Then it installed without a hitch.
If you're trying to install RC12, try Beta1.
If you're trying Beta1, try RC12, then try Beta1 again.
Hope that helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr_Unvisible
post Feb 24 2006, 03:26 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 8,401



I tried both RC12 and Beta1 both didnt work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 24 2006, 08:48 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



did you run the flash utilities to repartition your nand? you have unplug/reset/reboot, then to do this.... then unplug/reset/reboot and flash....the readme tells you how....

I had this problem too at first. It really pissed me off.... then I stooped to reading the documentation smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr_Unvisible
post Feb 25 2006, 08:18 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 8,401



Yes I did try and and it still didnt work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Feb 25 2006, 11:02 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(Dr_Unvisible @ Feb 25 2006, 05:18 PM)
Yes I did try and and it still didnt work.
*


Are the cards fat-formatted?

After repartitioning, did you let it really reboot, or did you press "OK" right away?
Just let it reboot until it stops, then battery out, back in and install pdaXrom.

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dr_Unvisible
post Feb 25 2006, 11:15 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 25-October 05
Member No.: 8,401



QUOTE(Chero @ Feb 25 2006, 02:02 PM)
Are the cards fat-formatted?

After repartitioning, did you let it really reboot, or did you press "OK" right away?
Just let it reboot until it stops, then battery out, back in and install pdaXrom.

Chero.
*



Yes it is fat formated and I left it reboot until it stoped.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zonyl
post Feb 26 2006, 08:03 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 5-March 04
Member No.: 2,173



QUOTE(Dr_Unvisible @ Feb 25 2006, 11:15 AM)
QUOTE(Chero @ Feb 25 2006, 02:02 PM)
Are the cards fat-formatted?

After repartitioning, did you let it really reboot, or did you press "OK" right away?
Just let it reboot until it stops, then battery out, back in and install pdaXrom.

Chero.
*



Yes it is fat formated and I left it reboot until it stoped.
*



Same problem on my C700.. I re-sized to 30MB, it rebooted into what appeared to be normal startup sequence (I saw kathrin in the header), had all sorts of errors during startup, logged in as root, shutdown.

Restart with 'ok' and flash, then "install new" and around 60% it gives a RO Filesystem: error

Followed all directions in DOC by the book as much as I could.


Sandisk 256MB fat
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Feb 26 2006, 10:13 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



I thought it needed a minimum size of 32MB?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madfitz
post Jun 17 2006, 02:20 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 6,309



I too am having problems installing pdaXrom. This was supposed to be installed on my Sharp Zaurus SL-3200 shipped from Japan. Oops, they forgot. So now I'm trying to do this on my own. I guess this is probably a very stupid question, however I haven't found the answer anywhere.

In the install instructions pdaXrom states to copy over the three files:
* Extract the 3 files - initrd.bin tools.tar updater.sh - to the root of your CF or SD/MMC card.

The download site:
* http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta4/Zaurus-Cxx00/
However after downloading all the files for the zaurus-cxx00 and extracting them, the three files do not exist in any of them. Am I missing something completely. It seems like so many people have successfully installed pdaXrom, all the tutorials for installing any rom on the zaurus seems to require these three files. So where are these files?

I have tried for several days to get pdaXrom to install without success. I had installed Cacko though I would prefer to have pdaXrom instead.

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 17 2006, 05:09 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



QUOTE(madfitz @ Jun 18 2006, 06:20 AM)
I too am having problems installing pdaXrom. This was supposed to be installed on my Sharp Zaurus SL-3200 shipped from Japan. Oops, they forgot. So now I'm trying to do this on my own. I guess this is probably a very stupid question, however I haven't found the answer anywhere.

In the install instructions pdaXrom states to copy over the three files:
  * Extract the 3 files - initrd.bin tools.tar updater.sh - to the root of your CF or SD/MMC card.

The download site:
  * http://mail.pdaxrom.org/download/1.1.0beta4/Zaurus-Cxx00/
However after downloading all the files for the zaurus-cxx00 and extracting them, the three files do not exist in any of them. Am I missing something completely. It seems like so many people have successfully installed pdaXrom, all the tutorials for installing any rom on the zaurus seems to require these three files. So where are these files?

I have tried for several days to get pdaXrom to install without success. I had installed Cacko though I would prefer to have pdaXrom instead.

Thanks in advance.
*


I thought beta4 need the custom uboot thingie ... the very reason why I'm cringing and not really trying it out ... yet! ohmy.gif

And I still have not read any confirmation or replies to the question "Will the new uboot allow me to load Cacko or oz roms?" ... or will it be like the newer OpenSIMpad bootloader which will not load original Siemens rom. ie if you want to revert back to Sharp or Cacko or OZ rom, you need to flash back to the original bootloader?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jun 17 2006, 06:04 PM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE
"Will the new uboot allow me to load Cacko or oz roms?"


As of now... No... Cacko / OZ is built using the Stock Sharp Bootload, which in my opinion a more sensible boot loader due to all the other ROM's use the same... I dont know what Sash decided to switch over... maybe it is a compatiblity issue... I dont know...

You will need to have a NAND of anything rom using the Sharp Bootloader to switch back...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Sep 14 2006, 08:56 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(Antikx @ Feb 23 2006, 11:05 PM)
QUOTE(Dr_Unvisible @ Feb 23 2006, 06:49 PM)
I'm having troubles installing pdaxrom, every time I try and install it I get "RO file system error while flashing".

I've tried checked the MD5's they are correct, tried two different SD cards and one CF card.

I have the 3100 and the Sharp ROM installed rigt now.

Anyone have any Ideas.
*


I had the same d@mn problem when I was trying to flash RC12! Very frustrating.
I couldn't find a solution anywhere and nothing I tried fixed it.... Until Beta1 came out. Then it installed without a hitch.
If you're trying to install RC12, try Beta1.
If you're trying Beta1, try RC12, then try Beta1 again.
Hope that helps.
*



hmmm...
I've decided to try installing pdaXrom (Beta3) again, but am running up against this same problem.
I've tried 50, 53 and 121 sized partitions.
I've tried the >64MB fix.
I'm running out of ideas.
Do I need to factory restore my Zaurus? If so, can someone point me to some instructions so that I don't wreck my Zaurus? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Sep 14 2006, 11:30 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



trisoft has a nand backup and directions on how to use it. Try them?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Sep 14 2006, 11:38 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Well, I could provide an early NAND backup of my C3100-pdaXrom installation.
(I make NAND backups periodically during lettting my pdaXrom grow, so I can always restore the last good status when something fails badly).

If you want it, let me know. I'll then upload it to my homepage and give you the (secret) URL.

You'd not need to do any repartitioning, just go into the D+M menu and do a NAND flash restore.

These are the steps I did before creating this NAND backup:

flash PDAXROM 1.1.0beta3 (root partition size 121MB after patching Sharp loader)

Enable Fn-1, 2 3 and 4:
in file /usr/X11R6/bin/startx
defaultserverargs= append option "-kb"

Replace /etc/ipkg.conf

Install package zaurus-sd-driver-update-cxxxx_1.0+tetsu_arm.ipk for SD cards > 1GB
then modify /etc/sdcontrol:
SD_MODULE=mmc_pxa to
SD_MODULE=sharp_mmcsd_m

reboot

Adapt look and feel, new wallpaper etc.

executed:
ipkg update
which reads in all the feeds.



daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 12:49 AM