OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Which Window Manager & Browser (obsd) Zaurus, please tell me
dda71
post Apr 11 2006, 12:46 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 10-April 06
Member No.: 9,585



Hi,
I got my zaurus 3200 yesterday, it's amazing :-)

I installed the latest obsd snapshot, it's still amazing :-)) and even better.

I have a few questions:
1) which windowmanager are you using on your (openbsd) zaurus?
2) which www browser (beside lynx ;-) are you using on your (openbsd) zaurus?

thx a lot
didier
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Apr 11 2006, 12:49 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



xfce maybe?
and firefox?
iamasmith is the master here smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Apr 11 2006, 07:17 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



*gulp* I'm a little embarrassed to answer now.... nah not really tongue.gif

ok, for Browsers try www/konqueror-embedded and www/minimo, you mentioned lynx but try links+ since it has a nice fast graphical mode but is essentially a text browser. For x11 based browsers I suggest the first two mentioned.. Firefox is too darned big (runs at about 46Mb) and has some build issues that nobody can be bothered to sort out because it's too darned big. Mozilla suffers from the same problem as Firefox and therefore so does Epiphany since it is based upon Mozilla etc.etc.

As far as Windows Managers/Desktop environments etc..

xfce4 will give you a full desktop environment - be warned though it is a little memory hungry and you may wish to try all of the tunings that I suggest in the Performance tuning the 'Overburdened Zaurus' thread... it does take some time to build everything for this too. - Practically I have it built, run it from time to time but if I want to run anything meaningful on the Zaurus I quit it and use...

fvwm - yes the standard thing that comes with OpenBSD is actually pretty darned good with a mouse connected the only criticism really is when you get new Windows appearing that sometimes they appear with the top of the Window offscreen and it is awkward to move things around if you don't have a mouse connected which leads to the third suggestion...

ratpoison - for pure geeks that want X facilities but won't put up with the loss of resources on meaningless eye candy. ratpoison can be driven entirely from keyboard. it is a very powerful Window Manager, uses minimal resources and works very well for a variety of applications that you may want to run on the Zaurus.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dda71
post Apr 12 2006, 12:39 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 10-April 06
Member No.: 9,585



Thanks iamasmith!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TronDD
post May 6 2006, 10:30 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 6-January 05
Member No.: 6,137



I found wmii to be a very good window manager for me. It's along the same lines as ratpoison but has some other features that makes it more usable for me.

The latest wmii, version 3, isn't in ports but I installed the latest snapshot from the homepage: http://www.wmii.de

And for a web browser, links+ rocks.

EDIT:
If anyone happens to like wmii, I have a patch you'll probably want. The default mouse functionality doesn't work right on the Zaurus because the Z uses modifier keys to simulate button 2 and 3 clicks.

I made a few changes to how the mouse works so you can move and resize floating windows. If anyone want's it, ask. (I'd post the patch but wmii has some pretty rapid development right now and by the time anyone sees this it'll probaly be several versions later. And I don't expect a lot of people to be into this wm).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fquindos
post May 10 2006, 05:09 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 10-May 06
Member No.: 9,826



Well, I'm using wmii, and I'm interested. If you can post it, or email it to me, I would appreciate.

Thank you :-)

QUOTE(TronDD @ May 6 2006, 08:30 PM)
...

If anyone happens to like wmii, I have a patch you'll probably want.  The default mouse functionality doesn't work right on the Zaurus because the Z uses modifier keys to simulate button 2 and 3 clicks.

I made a few changes to how the mouse works so you can move and resize floating windows.  If anyone want's it, ask. (I'd post the patch but wmii has some pretty rapid development right now and by the time anyone sees this it'll probaly be several versions later.  And I don't expect a lot of people to be into this wm).
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bruce
post May 10 2006, 05:27 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-September 04
Member No.: 4,638



I was wondering about this 2 and 3 mouse button problem last night when I suddenly needed to access uxterm/xterm normally bound to control-mouse2 and control-mouse3.

Is there any way to bind mouse button events to keys without having to make custom configuration or code changes to every application wanting to use them?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bruce
post May 10 2006, 06:40 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 18-September 04
Member No.: 4,638



Hang on, after some more testing it seems control-mouse2 is working for me, it is just control-mouse3 that doesn't seem to be detected. Time for more testing...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TronDD
post May 11 2006, 05:27 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 6-January 05
Member No.: 6,137



QUOTE(fquindos @ May 11 2006, 01:09 AM)
Well, I'm using wmii, and I'm interested. If you can post it, or email it to me, I would appreciate.

Thank you :-)

*


Grab the file from:
http://www.think4me.com/zaurus_mouse.patch

The file to patch is in the wmii source under cmd/wm/event.c

# patch event.c zaurus_mouse.patch

should be all you need to do. Then recompile. This works on rc3 and rc4. Probably others but I don't know.

Here's what I changed:

The original functionality of wmii is:
MODKEY + mouse 1 = move window
MODKEY + mouse 2 = move window and do a swap if in column mode (Not too sure exactly what it does)
MODKEY + mouse 3 = resize window

I changed it to:
mouse 2 (no MODKEY) = move window
MODKEY + mouse 1 = resize window

the rest stay the same.

So hold down your wmii MODKEY to resize windows, hold down the function key to move them.

EDIT:
The patch for R5 is:
http://www.think4me.com/zaurus-mouse-r5.patch

06/17/06:
Patch for 3.1
zaurus_mouse-3.1.patch
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 04:56 AM