OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't Install Programs On The Sd Card
dougeeebear
post Jul 23 2007, 07:46 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I have tried to install several programs on my 4 GB SD card, but I always get the following error message:

"Not enough storage memory for installation"

I have 2773MB available on the SD card, so I don't really understand the problem.
The only thing I can think of is the sharp installer doesn't want to install to a 4GB SD card.
The SD card is formatted as ext2.
I used the command "mke2fs -m 0 /dev/mmcda1" to format it so I wouldn't have the 5% overhead loss.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jul 23 2007, 08:58 AM
Post #2





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



i have the same issues. install programs using terminal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 23 2007, 01:16 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I'll give it a try, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 25 2007, 03:30 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Well, I can get the packages install to the SD card no problem, but I don't get an icon on the desktop.

CODE
# ipkg -d /mnt/card install packagename

I just can't seem to figure out the link command.

Also is there a command to restart qtopia (I don't have an icon for it)

Thanks,
Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 25 2007, 04:09 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



You can't install progs to SD or CF from the command line and run them effectively, since the ipkg doesn't ipkg link them after installing them to the SD. The qipkg does the linking for you.

You need to manually link the files then. Meanie has an xipkg script in his ipkg-tools package that does the linking. I have found it not to my liking. So I use this script:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
TEMP=/tmp
HDD=/mnt/card
for FILE in $*
do
   ipkg -d h install $FILE
   PROGRAM=`basename $FILE | sed 's/_.*//'`
   echo "Linking $PROGRAM files..."
   sed 's/\(^[^\/]\)/\/\1/' < $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/info/$PROGRAM.list > $TEMP/list1
   LIST=`cat $TEMP/list1`
   for LINE in $LIST
   do
       if [ -d $HDD$LINE ]
       then
           mkdir -p $LINE
       elif [ -f $HDD$LINE ]
       then
           if [ -e $LINE ]
           then
               rm $LINE
           fi
           ln -s $HDD$LINE $LINE
       elif [ -h $HDD$LINE ]
       then
           if [ -e $LINE ]
           then
               rm $LINE
           fi
           cp $HDD$LINE $LINE
       fi
   done
   sed 's/\(.*\)/\/hdd3\/installroot\1/' < $TEMP/list1 > $TEMP/list2
   cat $TEMP/list1 >> $TEMP/list2
   cp $TEMP/list2 /usr/lib/ipkg/info/$PROGRAM.list
   rm $TEMP/list1
   rm $TEMP/list2
   rm $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/info/$PROGRAM.list
   sed 's/\/hdd3\/installroot/\//' < $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/status >> /usr/lib/ipkg/status
   rm $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/status
   touch $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/status
   if [ -e $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/info/$PROGRAM.* ]
   then
       mv $HDD/usr/lib/ipkg/info/* /usr/lib/ipkg/info/
   fi
   echo "Done."
done

Run it as
CODE
sudo ipk the_ipkg_name
and it'll install the packages to sd and link them, so you can use them later.

Regarding the error with not enough space that you get, you need enough space in your internal memory to unpack the full ipk. So if you're installing something big, though to an SD, it unpacks it in Temp somewhere to internal memory. Check Meanie's site on how to set the TMP or TEMP variable, so it doesn't unpack to internal and you don't get the not-enough-storage-space error.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 25 2007, 10:46 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Sounds like a lot of work.
I'll see if I can figure it all out.
Thanks for the info.
Doug.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 26 2007, 12:29 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



CODE
sudo ipk the_ipkg_name
Running this command sounds like a lotta work to you? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 26 2007, 03:19 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Since you said I had to run "sudo ipk the_ipkg_name" I installed sudo_0.1_arm.ipk.
This is an old version I used to have on my SL-5500 ... I couldn't find a newer version in any of the feeds.

I copied the code you gave me to a file which I named "ipk" (because you said to run "sudo ipk") and made it executable.
In the terminal as root, I cd to /mnt/card where I have "ipk" and "amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" located for testing.
When I run "sudo ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" I get an error message something like "not found: sudo ipk".

So I must be doing something wrong.

Sorry to be such a pain, but I'm lost.

Thanks,
Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Drake01
post Jul 26 2007, 02:32 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 226
Joined: 29-March 06
Member No.: 9,483



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 26 2007, 06:19 AM)
I copied the code you gave me to a file which I named "ipk" (because you said to run "sudo ipk") and made it executable.
In the terminal as root, I cd to /mnt/card where I have "ipk" and "amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" located for testing.
When I run "sudo ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" I get an error message something like "not found: sudo ipk".
*

I'm going to guess that the directory you put the 'ipk' file into was not in your path, in which case you'd need to specify the path to the executable. If you're in the directory containing the executable, you could do:
sudo ./ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk

A better solution, if you're planning to use this script, would be to put it into a directory that is in your path. That could be /usr/bin or some other directory where you store executables.

BTW, you don't need to run sudo if you're logged in as root. The sudo command allows you to run commands with root privileges while you are logged in as a normal user. If you're root, just leave the sudo part off.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 26 2007, 02:54 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(Drake01 @ Jul 26 2007, 05:32 PM)
QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 26 2007, 06:19 AM)
I copied the code you gave me to a file which I named "ipk" (because you said to run "sudo ipk") and made it executable.
In the terminal as root, I cd to /mnt/card where I have "ipk" and "amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" located for testing.
When I run "sudo ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" I get an error message something like "not found: sudo ipk".
*

I'm going to guess that the directory you put the 'ipk' file into was not in your path, in which case you'd need to specify the path to the executable. If you're in the directory containing the executable, you could do:
sudo ./ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk

A better solution, if you're planning to use this script, would be to put it into a directory that is in your path. That could be /usr/bin or some other directory where you store executables.

BTW, you don't need to run sudo if you're logged in as root. The sudo command allows you to run commands with root privileges while you are logged in as a normal user. If you're root, just leave the sudo part off.
*


I've tried all combinations of the command and I can't get past the "not found" error.
I installed pdaXqtrom using Meanie's pdaXqtrom-install.sh script and didn't have any problem at all.

Thanks for the reply,
Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jul 26 2007, 03:06 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 27 2007, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE(Drake01 @ Jul 26 2007, 05:32 PM)
QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 26 2007, 06:19 AM)
I copied the code you gave me to a file which I named "ipk" (because you said to run "sudo ipk") and made it executable.
In the terminal as root, I cd to /mnt/card where I have "ipk" and "amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" located for testing.
When I run "sudo ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk" I get an error message something like "not found: sudo ipk".
*

I'm going to guess that the directory you put the 'ipk' file into was not in your path, in which case you'd need to specify the path to the executable. If you're in the directory containing the executable, you could do:
sudo ./ipk amortize_1.0.0_arm.ipk

A better solution, if you're planning to use this script, would be to put it into a directory that is in your path. That could be /usr/bin or some other directory where you store executables.

BTW, you don't need to run sudo if you're logged in as root. The sudo command allows you to run commands with root privileges while you are logged in as a normal user. If you're root, just leave the sudo part off.
*


I've tried all combinations of the command and I can't get past the "not found" error.
I installed pdaXqtrom using Meanie's pdaXqtrom-install.sh script and didn't have any problem at all.

Thanks for the reply,
Doug
*




he probably meant ipkg install and not just ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 05:46 AM