OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C3000 Usb Host: Auto Mount And Umount Usb Hdd
bam
post Jul 20 2005, 10:29 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



cant seem to get it to automount....I followed word for word, I can manually mount it but automount...forget it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jul 20 2005, 11:14 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(bam @ Jul 21 2005, 04:29 PM)
cant seem to get it to automount....I followed word for word, I can manually mount it but automount...forget it?
*


why dont you try my automounter package?
it can mount up to four disks if you have a usb hub
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jul 20 2005, 11:38 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jul 20 2005, 11:14 PM)
QUOTE(bam @ Jul 21 2005, 04:29 PM)
cant seem to get it to automount....I followed word for word, I can manually mount it but automount...forget it?
*


why dont you try my automounter package?
it can mount up to four disks if you have a usb hub
*



i tried you script too, I pm'ed you:)

edit: ok way wierd now it works....when will I quit being a pain in the arse? Although a nice explaination of your script would be nice, how it works, how the system knows to run it etc...(for those who want to learn this)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jul 22 2005, 10:45 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(bam @ Jul 21 2005, 05:38 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ Jul 20 2005, 11:14 PM)
QUOTE(bam @ Jul 21 2005, 04:29 PM)
cant seem to get it to automount....I followed word for word, I can manually mount it but automount...forget it?
*


why dont you try my automounter package?
it can mount up to four disks if you have a usb hub
*



i tried you script too, I pm'ed you:)

edit: ok way wierd now it works....when will I quit being a pain in the arse? Although a nice explaination of your script would be nice, how it works, how the system knows to run it etc...(for those who want to learn this)
*



well, actually, I am pretty new to linux myself. I've always been a Windoze user for the desktop and Solaris for servers. Most my linux knowledge comes from reading TLD project (the linux documentation) and googling webforums. I really recommend reading the online version of TLDP (www.tldp.org) or buying the paperback hardcopy. It's really worth a read.

Anyway, what you need to read up on is the hotplug mechanism in Linux. It's basically the way Linux handles plug'n'play. My script is just a hook into the hotplug mechanism which checks each the available scripts when it detects a device being plugged in and runs the associated script when it is unplugged. The script just needs to define a matching rule for what devices it needs to be run for and then does whatever is required to configure the device, in the case for a HDD, just mount it appropriately.

My script basically assumes there is the possibility to mount four harddrives so it checks for that and attempts to mount more drives when they are plugged in. It also checks that the drive is not already mounted before it attempts to mount a drive. Also, I have taken the two most common options that are used to partition and format harddisk so if the disk falls into that category, the script is able to mount it, but if its one of the rarer cases, then it will fail to automount it and you will need to manually mount the disk.

The two most common type of partitions that I use quite often are:

1. the disk has one partition which is the primary partition
2. the disk has one or more partitions which are secondary partitions on a primary partition.

For case 2, only the first partition is mounted. The remaining partitions need to be mounted manually if there are any.

Most USB memory sticks, etc. will most likely be 1 and some MP3 players are 2. but some are 1. as well. For USB harddisk, it depends how people partition them, but again, 1. and 2. are the most common options I have seen. I personally use 2. for my USB disks. This way the disk will not interfere with Windows drive mapping when they are plugged into a Windows system. Windows reshuffles the drive letters, all primary partitions get drive letters assigned first before secondary partitions. So if you have C: D: E: and E: being a secondary partitions, if you plug in a USB disk which has a primary partition, the USB disk becomes E: and your former E: is reassigned as F:. If the USB disk has a drive on a secondary partition, then the USB disk is assigned the drive letter F: and E: is undisturbed.

Also, the Z by default only recognises linux native (ext2/ext3) and FAT/FAT32 (vfat, fat32, dos). If your disk is formatted using a different filesystem type, then the Z won't be able to mount it unless you install drivers for those types. I have installed the ntfs drivers as well so I can read Windows 2000/XP NTFS partitions as well.

Use google. There is a lot of info about linux out there. That's how I learned it smile.gif I never had a Linux desktop before. My Z is my first linux desktop. well kinda. I think of it as a mini Laptop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cagilaba
post Oct 10 2005, 01:17 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 16-August 05
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 7,872



I just got a 4GB Sitecom Mini Memory Drive (MD-202) http://www.sitecom.com/products_info.php?p...id=323&grp_id=1 . It's a small 1" hard drive.

Had some problems to start with -- for one thing it wouldn't spin up on battery power (only worked connected to a powered USB hub -- though I didn't try with Zaurus on external power). Then for the C1000 to actually mount it and write to it properly I had to eventually reformat the drive according to these useful instructions: http://oesf.org/index.php?title=Formating_..._Simultaneously

Seems to be working fine... not sure how long it will last, with its tiny mechanical parts...

Anyway, it automounts to /mnt/usbhdd now. But when my Zaurus suspends, the drive unmounts (in fact, when I resume the Z, the drive doesn't even show as connected when I do fdisk -l). Is there any way to avoid this? Is it bad for the drive? Can it cause data corruption / data loss (other than if the drive is in the middle of writing).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mac
post Oct 13 2005, 07:09 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-October 05
Member No.: 8,228



Hi Meanie, I installed your app automounter-c3000_0.4.1_arm.ipk on a C300 but it doesn't work for me, the usb-stick I tried is recognised but doesn't automount. I can manually mount them without a problem...

I also tried the usb-storage script, same thing, the USB-stick does not automount under the files tab... any idea ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bkudria
post Oct 15 2005, 09:43 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 29-October 04
Member No.: 5,269



I am unfortunately having the same problem on my 3100...the drive is recognized, but not mounted. I can mount it with mount /mnt/usbhdd, but it will not mount manually? It does seems to work for some people, but not for others...any help is appreciated!

QUOTE(Mac @ Oct 13 2005, 03:09 PM)
Hi  Meanie, I installed your app  automounter-c3000_0.4.1_arm.ipk on a  C300 but it doesn't work for me, the usb-stick I tried is recognised but doesn't automount. I can manually mount them without a problem...

I also tried the usb-storage script, same thing, the USB-stick does not automount under the files tab... any idea ?
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bkudria
post Oct 21 2005, 04:27 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 29-October 04
Member No.: 5,269



I emailed Meanie, and he recommends installing the 0.4.2 ipk. He is right, it now works great! The ipk is here:

http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/stu...0_0.4.2_arm.zip

Unzip, install, and it should work!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mac
post Oct 22 2005, 12:44 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-October 05
Member No.: 8,228



I installed the 0.4.2 ipk, and for my C3000 the situation isn't any better (actually is worse). The light on my usb stick keeps blinking so it looks like it's in a loop trying to mount it (and no icon shows up under the files tab...).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
glennfoster
post Feb 21 2006, 02:37 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-February 06
Member No.: 9,192



Does this page help?

Cant Mount iPod Error

smile.gif

G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mac
post Feb 21 2006, 10:42 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-October 05
Member No.: 8,228



Nice try Glennfoster, but your link has nothing to do with the problem, and I don't think anyone will appreciate it that you spam the board with your link, trying to sell this "email"...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mac
post Feb 24 2006, 04:14 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-October 05
Member No.: 8,228



this is solved for me by installing the automounter-C3000 version 0.4.6. , USB sticks are mounted OK now.

one question, is it possible to unmount using the GUI or do I have to unmount using the CLI?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
glennfoster
post Mar 4 2006, 06:34 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-February 06
Member No.: 9,192



QUOTE(Mac @ Feb 21 2006, 10:42 AM)
Nice try Glennfoster, but your link has nothing to do with the problem, and I don't think anyone will appreciate it that you spam the board with your link, trying to sell this "email"...
*


I didnt spam the board, simply i moved it from free hosting to paid for hosting so i can build up information about iPods!

doh!

Oh, and thats what that email pays for, my hosting.

And yes my method does work providing your iPod isnt broken.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mac
post Mar 4 2006, 08:42 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 1-October 05
Member No.: 8,228



if you read the thread you'll notice that it has nothing to do with iPods...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Apr 27 2006, 06:54 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Can anyone tell me how I gain access to a storage device attached to the USB port.

Storage tab in System Info identifies the card reader as
Vendor:
Product: USB OHCI Root Hub
Class: HUB
ID: 0000/0000
Driver: hub

And the SD card as

Product: CS8819A2
Class: Mass Storage
ID: 04cf/8819
Driver usb-storage

But I can't access them via any file explorer.

Does this mean they are not mounted or it does not have the correct drivers to access them.

Any help would be apreciated as I want to use the new functions now that I have upgraded from a C760 to C3200.


Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 08:02 AM