OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Trying To Flash, But 860 Just Reboots, trying to flash a zaurus with Cacko 1.22
variable
post Jun 21 2005, 07:21 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-June 05
Member No.: 7,383



I'm trying to flash my 860 with Cacko 1.22. I've never flashed a Zaurus before, so I may be misisng something. The istructions that came with the build say:

1. Extract the 3 files ...to the root of your CF or SD/MMC card.
2. Make sure that Zaurus isn't plugged into AC power.
3. Remove battery for at least 5 seconds.
4. Replace battery (replace battery cover, lock cover), plug in AC power.
5. Press and hold the "OK" button on the keyboard.
6. Turn the power on, you should see the Japanese service menu.
7. Now Plug in the Power Cord. (You will get an error if it isn't plugged in!)
8. Select option 4 (flash/update).

Except for me there is no option four. Sharp's ROM reboots normaly. I never see the Japanese service menu. I can read and write to the CF card I'm using, and I've an otherwise unaltered Zaurus 860 that I just bought used.

Secondly, it tells me to plug in AC twice. Is it telling me to do two separate things? Is it just being redundant, or giving a reminder?

Any ideas? Anything I'm missing?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w14
post Jun 21 2005, 11:44 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 180
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,049



Search the forums ... plenty of people have asked similar questions.

One sanity check comes to mind though, I presume you keep the OK button held down WHILE you turn the Zaurus on? Steps 5 and 6 are really one operation, in the same way <ctrl><alt><delete> are on your desktop PC.

Mike.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Jun 22 2005, 07:30 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



The easiest way to get to the service menu is

1. Click the Q menu (where the Start is on windows)
2. Click "reboot" - should be second from the bottom
3. Click "yes" to the pop-up window asking if you are sure (if your Z is in Japanese it's the left button)
4. Immediately after click "yes" above, hold down the "OK" key and wait till you see the Japanese Service menu.
5. If the AC adapter isn't already plugged in, plug it in now

This method has worked for me 100% of the time - it even works on the C1K model, no need to pull the battery out either.

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
variable
post Jun 22 2005, 09:19 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-June 05
Member No.: 7,383



QUOTE(Stubear @ Jun 22 2005, 08:30 AM)
The easiest way to get to the service menu is
<snip>
This method has worked for me 100% of the time - it even works on the C1K model, no need to pull the battery out either.

Stu
*


That was so simple! I love it, thank you!

w14, I did try searching the forums. For hours in fact. Aside from beign a rather weak search engine, I came up with many similar problems, but none with mine. Thanks for your advice, regardless.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 04:13 PM