OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Openzaurus For C1000 And C3000, First Open Source ROM for CXK released
Mickeyl
post Apr 30 2005, 05:06 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



is there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fastscirocco
post Apr 30 2005, 05:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 17-January 05
Member No.: 6,254



QUOTE(Mickeyl @ Apr 30 2005, 08:06 AM)
is there.
*


And now another rom for the C3000, I guess when it rains it pours?

OK, any reason to not install Cacko3k and use this one...hmmm?

Good work guys!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Apr 30 2005, 08:42 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Good work and congrats to Mickey and OZ crew! Please keep it coming...
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jh
post Apr 30 2005, 09:30 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 20-November 03
Member No.: 968



QUOTE(Mickeyl @ Apr 30 2005, 05:06 AM)
is there.
*


Awesome! Thanks!! C1000 gets here on Monday and I'll dive right in.

jason
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offroadgeek
post May 3 2005, 08:44 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,418
Joined: 18-May 03
From: St. Paul, MN
Member No.: 4



This is a great start mickeyl! It was nice to see OZ on my 1000... though I'll have to come back to OZ after the special keys are working (FN especially). A couple other small things I noticed:

1. the right Shift key doesn't work
2. the screen doesn't go blank after closing the lid (the settings were correct in the Light & Power app)

Looking forward to more progress!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post May 3 2005, 09:57 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(fastscirocco @ Apr 30 2005, 11:55 PM)
QUOTE(Mickeyl @ Apr 30 2005, 08:06 AM)
is there.
*


And now another rom for the C3000, I guess when it rains it pours?

OK, any reason to not install Cacko3k and use this one...hmmm?

Good work guys!
*



cause it's not based on the Sharp rom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
euroclie
post May 3 2005, 10:26 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 205
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 6,125



Congratulations, Mickey! This looks very promising!

The installation was smooth, the look & feel is impressive.

The on/off button didn't work on my 3000, I had to select the "Suspend" menu to switch off the device. Also, I ran a few games while I was in the doctor's waiting room so that my 4 years old boy kept quiet, and the key are definitely not adapted to the clamshell design (in Tetris, for instance). Didn't dig very much to know if these could be re-configured quickly, though... wink.gif

The home button didn't work either, which meant closing every app upon exit to get back to the launcher...

Some icons in various programs are really tiny (probably look great in 320x240, though, but not that impressive in 640x480), but that's a personal taste issue, nothing remotely close to a bug! wink.gif

All in all, a lot of minor bugs that I'm sure will be corrected easily, so I have great expectations for this ROM!

I had to reflash Cacko because I'm already sort of commited to beta testing it, but I'll sure have a look regularly to follow the progress of the OZ ROM! I'll certainly reflash it again as soon as it is more useable (because, despite the fact that I can't resist beta testing everything I can grab, I still need my Zaurus in the everyday life! wink.gif ).

Choice is great... biggrin.gif

Happy Zaurusing to you all!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madeddie
post May 3 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-April 05
From: Amsterdam
Member No.: 6,834



Is there an easy way to get back to the original Sharp Rom?
Booting with the OK key -> option 3 -> option 1 -> Yes does not work, I guess
it's because it tries to boot with the wrong kernel?

--
edwin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offroadgeek
post May 3 2005, 12:18 PM
Post #9





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,418
Joined: 18-May 03
From: St. Paul, MN
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(madeddie @ May 3 2005, 11:00 AM)
Is there an easy way to get back to the original Sharp Rom?
Booting with the OK key -> option 3 -> option 1 -> Yes does not work, I guess
it's because it tries to boot with the wrong kernel?

--
edwin
*


yes, there is. if you made a nand backup before flashing to OZ, then you can just do a nand restore. See trisoft's site for the necessary downloads (if you don't already have your own nand backup) and instructions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madeddie
post May 3 2005, 02:13 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-April 05
From: Amsterdam
Member No.: 6,834



QUOTE(offroadgeek @ May 3 2005, 10:18 PM)
yes, there is.  if you made a nand backup before flashing to OZ, then you can just do a nand restore.  See trisoft's site for the necessary downloads (if you don't already have your own nand backup) and instructions.
*


I'm not sure the NAND is messed up, It looks more like the kernel and data
on the internal harddrive, although a backup for those is downloadable too,
so, I'll be alright *rummages around for CF card writer* smile.gif

thanks

--edwin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post May 3 2005, 02:33 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



OZ/C3000 contains three parts: kernel (goes to special partition on NAND), bootstrap-image (goes to NAND), opie (harddisk) - which means you need to restore these three to get back to the SharpROM. You can do that with the updater.sh and the three files shipped in the C3000 OS update.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madeddie
post May 3 2005, 10:56 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-April 05
From: Amsterdam
Member No.: 6,834



I can boot to the emergency prompt without a problem, I guess that's another
kernel than the one that boots the ROMs.

Does the zero'ing procedure use this special kernel or the ROM starting one?

--edwin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w14
post May 4 2005, 12:11 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 180
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,049



Edwin,

I think you're missing the point a bit. The point ORG and Mickeyl are making is that the NAND contains the OS's three parts - the kernel, bootstrap image and the root filesystem.

So you're NAND is not messed up, as such. It has OZ on it. But the easiest way to get back to a stock Sharp image is to do as ORG suggests, get a NAND backup file, put it on a media card of some kind, and do a NAND restore.

Or you can do as Mickeyl suggests and reflash with the Sharp OS update files and updater.sh.

Good luck.

Mike.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madeddie
post May 4 2005, 12:43 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 10-April 05
From: Amsterdam
Member No.: 6,834



Thank you, but I didn't miss that point, I know the OZ kernel en bootstrap image are in the NAND (the opie image is in de hdimage.tar.gz file on /dev/hda1 though), but, what you seem to miss is that there's a fallback linux install somewhere else that doesn't seem to be affected by OZ (and it shouldn't as far as I can tell).

I was just wondering if that emergency linux install uses the same kernel as the standard bootproces (it doesn't seem to be, because this one shows the Sharp boot image) and if it's true that this emergency linux install uses a different kernel, I was wondering if that kernel is used by the zero'ing proces or the standard kernel.

It's quite a normal question IMHO, I'm not afraid to flash the NAND, i've done it before, I'm just wondering about how the proces works.

To clarify, by zero'ing proces I mean starting holding the OK button -> Opt 3 -> Opt 1 -> Y, so a factory default reset. It uses a hdimage file on /dev/hda1 _and_ a kernel, i'm wondering which kernel.

The emergency linux install is reached by booting holding D+B, that one seems to boot from an entirely different kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post May 4 2005, 01:38 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Since there are only two kernels on a Zaurus, I suspect the emergency kernel is zImage2 - the same as used when you are updating the device. When you zero the device there's probably no kernel running at all, since this seems to be completely implemented in diagnostics code.

Speaking about that... I'd really like to have that code released smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 08:08 AM