OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fn Button Is Messed Up In Runlevel 3 Console, is this a bug in Sharp 1.12 ROM?!
pelendur
post Jan 13 2005, 01:39 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,854



I recently noticed that the Fn button of my 6000L (Sharp 1.12 ROM) doesn't work properly in the run level 3 console, ie the one you get when you push the /? button after rebooting and then choosing option (a). I have been using this console in order to start up Pocketworkstation using the fbvnc viewer. The problem is that when I push the Fn button with any other key, it locks the keyboard into num-lock mode; pushing Fn again, or Fn- / does not release the num-lock. I finally accidentally discovered that pushing shift-Tab would release the num-lock mode. The Fn button works fine in Qtopia (eg in Qkonsole, the texteditor, etc). I've rebooted, soft-reset, hard-reset, and wiped the flash (in order to re-load the 1.12 ROM), none of which has solved the problem. I haven't flashed any other ROMs or kernels, and I'm bit unsure how any of the software that I've installed could have caused this.
Is it possible that this is a bug in the Sharp ROM? Has anyone else who has used the run level 3 console noticed this, or is my situation unique? I'd like to know before I attempt a NAND restore with the Sharp ROM. Any comments on this would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,
Patrick
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
selfabuse
post Jan 13 2005, 07:16 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 7-December 04
Member No.: 5,824



My keyboard definatley does not act properly in a console either. I switched to running pocketworkstation via X/Qt, so the console thing doesn't annoy me too much anymore, but my 6k definatley does it too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 18 2005, 10:40 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



I had some problem with the keyboard also, but not exactly your senario. Here is what i did

First, flashed to the ffpe-fast kernel. But I don't quite like it. I though I could go back by restoring the nand backup I created from the stock sharp kernel.

I thought the nand restore will completely wipe out the fast kernel, but I was wrong. I found except for the alphanumerical keys, all the other parts of my keyboards were all maped wrong. Other symptoms like reboot didn't work, neither from Qtopia nor from console. The styles in Appearance setting are missing. If I chose to rotate screen to the other orientatino in the Appearance, my z froze. All sorts of weird things. I have to flash it back to the stock kernel+rom to correct for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 11:06 PM