OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sl-c1000 Questions
Irongeek
post Oct 19 2005, 08:29 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 21-January 04
Member No.: 1,498



I've been looking at the specs and am still a little confused and I just wanted to make sure. As some of you know, I run a website on using the Zaurus as a pen-test device:

http://irongeek.com/i.php?submenu=zaurus/z...urus/zaurusmain

Well, I fucked up and fried my old 5500 and am thinking of getting a sl-c1000. Here are my questions:

1. Can I still use my old 5500 charger on the c1000? I want to have a charger at work and at home so I was going to reuse the old one.

2. If I understand right, the c1000 had 128MB or ROM where it stores the OS and apps I can install. It also has 64MB ram besides that. Is that correct? I use to alwats run out of space on root on my 5500 (16MB ROM for root I think) and had to ipgk-link everything to RAM, is that less of a problem now?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Oct 19 2005, 08:38 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



QUOTE(Irongeek @ Oct 19 2005, 11:29 AM)
1. Can I still use my old 5500 charger on the c1000? I want to have a charger at work and at home so I was going to reuse the old one.

2. If I understand right, the c1000 had 128MB or ROM where it stores the OS and apps I can install. It also has 64MB ram besides that. Is that correct?
*


1. The C1000 has a charger which is the same as a Sony PSP charger. If the 5500 is also the same as the PSP charger, then yes the 5500 and the C1000 have the same charger.

2. Yes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jh
post Oct 19 2005, 09:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 20-November 03
Member No.: 968



QUOTE(Irongeek @ Oct 19 2005, 08:29 AM)
1. Can I still use my old 5500 charger on the c1000? I want to have a charger at work and at home so I was going to reuse the old one.
*


I use my 5500 charger on my C1k without any problems.

jason
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chiark
post Oct 19 2005, 10:07 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 28-August 05
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 7,969



As above, you can use the 5500 charger and yes you have 128MB ROM and 64MB RAM.

The C-1000 comes with a Japanese-only 100V charger that isn't supposed to be used outside of Japan, but has been reported as working in the USA by some people. As I'm in England, I had to buy the PSP charger for it... Or you could use a PSP sync/charge USB cable which is even more handy - I did that as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merli
post Oct 19 2005, 11:48 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,008



QUOTE(chiark @ Oct 19 2005, 08:07 PM)
As above, you can use the 5500 charger and yes you have 128MB ROM and 64MB RAM.

The C-1000 comes with a Japanese-only 100V charger that isn't supposed to be used outside of Japan, but has been reported as working in the USA by some people.  As I'm in England, I had to buy the PSP charger for it...  Or you could use a PSP sync/charge USB cable which is even more handy - I did that as well.
*


Mine C1000 I bought from www.pulster.de came with EA75 adapter which is Input 100-240V 50-60Hz Output 5V 1A.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chiark
post Oct 20 2005, 12:47 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 28-August 05
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 7,969



OK, to clear up any confusion:

As I understand it, if you buy an SL-C1000 from Japan, or from PriceJapan, you will get a tiny PSU which is the EA-72 (100V, 50/60Hz, 11VA input, 5.0V, 1.0A output). This has plugs suitable for the Japanese market, apparently, and is rated at 100V. I don't know if it's suitable for use in the USA, but the previous owner of my 1000 did use it in the USA with an adaptor.

If you buy an SL-C1000 from any reseller such as Conics, Dynamism, Figlabs, Pulster, ShirtPocket, Streamline, Trisoft or anyone else who knows what they're doing and understands their obligations, you will get a worldwide PSU suitable for use anywhere in the word when used with appropriate converter plugs. Figlabs provide the Sony PSP charger and have taken the 1000/PSP charger through CE mark certification, most others to the best of my knowledge provides a Sharp EA-70 - Trisoft have taken the EA-70/SL-Cxx00 through CE mark certification.

The EA-70s is a lump which needs a "figure of 8" lead from the plug socket to the PSU. The rating is 100-240v input, 50/60Hz, with 5.0V DC 2.0A output.

The EA-75 is the charger that comes with the 3100. This is a charger with japanese-style plug moulded into it, so for use in other markets I think you need a plug adaptor. Interestingly, it is only rated for 1.0A output rather than 2.0A.

Sorry to give such a long answer to a simple question, but I'm trying to get to the bottom of what is supplied in the box with every model. I hope it helps somewhat.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Oct 20 2005, 04:32 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



QUOTE(chiark @ Oct 20 2005, 03:47 AM)
The EA-75 is the charger that comes with the 3100.  This is a charger with japanese-style plug moulded into it, so for use in other markets I think you need a plug adaptor.  Interestingly, it is only rated for 1.0A output rather than 2.0A.


*


The adaptor I got with the C3100 (purchased from PriceJapan) is an international one ( 100-240V) and it works great (without any plug adaptor) in Canada...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chiark
post Oct 20 2005, 06:34 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 28-August 05
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 7,969



Oh cool, cheers for that. Do you happen to know if the Canadian socket is the same as the Japanese one? I guess the answer is yes...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sna
post Oct 23 2005, 04:16 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 21-June 04
Member No.: 3,773



The 3100 model is special
this is the only one (with some 6000) with an international charger in the box basically

i've bought mine in japan and i had an international charger in the box, and this is the only model i've received this smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 03:27 PM