OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Less than 64M RAM available?, on 5500 w/ cacko 64-0 and new kernel
javamatte
post Oct 29 2004, 06:58 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 15-October 04
Member No.: 5,029



I reflashed my 5500 for the first time last night, and everything went fairly
smoothly (once I realized that my first SD card would be faster if I set it
on fire blink.gif )

I am using the Cacko/Crow 64-0 ROM (for sl-5500) and the updated Cacko kernel.
Everything seems to be running great, but when I pull up the System Info app,
it shows the Total Memory as 46280k.

Shouldn't this be much closer to 64000k?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpetroni
post Jan 25 2007, 04:23 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 5-June 05
Member No.: 7,271



QUOTE(javamatte @ Oct 29 2004, 12:58 PM)
I reflashed my 5500 for the first time last night, and everything went fairly
smoothly (once I realized that my first SD card would be faster if I set it
on fire  blink.gif )

I am using the Cacko/Crow 64-0 ROM (for sl-5500) and the updated Cacko kernel.
Everything seems to be running great, but when I pull up the System Info app,
it shows the Total Memory as 46280k.

Shouldn't this be much closer to 64000k?
*


Old question with no reply but recently flashed Cacko/Crow and was surprised to see the same behaviour. Why?

Any clues?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jan 26 2007, 02:12 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Is the missing memory allocated as a ram-disk in the same way the original Sharp images worked?

what does 'cat /proc/meminfo' show?

I'd expect a small amount of memory to be missing in an OZ image to mount things like /tmp, /var in a tmpfs (though I don't know whether Cacko does this), but certainly not 17Mb straight after boot (I assume that's where you are). If you've actually been doing things, and do have a tmpfs, then (on OZ at least) it's allowed to grow up to half the available memory, so you might want to check this too.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 07:48 AM