OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Gpsp Gba Emulator For Cacko/sharp Roms
tovarish
post Oct 21 2007, 09:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,233



Who wants a near full speed and very playable GBA emulator for the Sharp Roms. Suhami(is that his name?) compiled the original gpsp for pdaxrom and I ported it to the sharp rom (http://www.suhami.net/ez/?page_id=7).
It needed a compiler upgrade, the 2.95 gcc is not up to the task of compiling anything anymore.
Gpsp since it is made for the psp and then ported to gp2x has very good arm assembly optimisation for near full speed play. I have tried many games and most of them are very playable.
I am including the executable in this post as well as the script needed to play it in zemu frontend. I have modified Suhami's code to change the key bindings to
(L,R,Down,Up,Left,Right,Start,Select,B,A) => (SDLK_a,SDLK_s,SDLK_DOWN,SDLK_UP,SDLK_LEFT,SDLK_RIGHT,SDLK_q,SDLK_w,SDLK_z,SDLK_
)
If you dont like these keys suhami aslo mentions in his website and i checked his code that you can use the environment variable GPSPKEYS as shown below to use your favorite keys.

GPSPKEYS= L,R,Down,Up,Left,Right,Start,Select,B,A
$ export GPSPKEYS=303,120,274,273,276,275,13,32,306,308

I am sorry not to ipk it but maybe someone can do it for me... and oh yes you need libsdl for it.

tovarish
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Oct 31 2007, 08:50 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



hi, i'm very interested by this emulator, from where this executable for cacko can be downloaded?
thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tovarish
post Oct 31 2007, 09:55 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,233



strange someone deleted the attachment i had there but i see that the porter himself has compiled it for sharp roms. you can get it from here
http://www.suhami.net/zaurus/gpsp/gpsp-qt_0.9-SDL-3_arm.ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Nov 1 2007, 05:24 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



thanks !!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Nov 1 2007, 10:12 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



hi, bad news, on a C1000 with cacko 1.23, and after copying the gba-bios.bin file on the same directory than the rom directory, gpsp just freeze the zaurus (reset needed).

Any hint?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sidmoraes
post Nov 1 2007, 11:39 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 25-July 05
From: Brazil
Member No.: 7,691



QUOTE(bolbit @ Nov 1 2007, 10:12 AM) *
hi, bad news, on a C1000 with cacko 1.23, and after copying the gba-bios.bin file on the same directory than the rom directory, gpsp just freeze the zaurus (reset needed).

Any hint?


I have a c1000 and a c3100 with cacko, working. I beleive you need another version of libsdl, with bvdd support. Package from feed don't work.

Get from this address: http://piro.sytes.net/~piro/pukiwiki/pukiw...vdd%CD%D1libSDL

Give to us your feedback.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Nov 2 2007, 06:05 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



thanks, that was that!.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Nov 2 2007, 08:04 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



gpsp-qt_0.9-SDL-3_arm.ipk places "gpsp" here:
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/gpsp
I placed my "gba_bios.bin" in the same directory, but when run from a console, I get:
CODE
gba_bios.bin not found

Where does the bios file need to be placed?
If I put it where I have my game stored, I know it won't be found there either. I tried that and got the same result.
My gba games are all here:
/hdd3/Documents/application/Game_Roms/gba/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Nov 2 2007, 01:26 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I figured that gba_bios.bin needed to be placed in /home/zaurus/
I tried it and my Z locked up. (SL-C3100 with Cacko 1.23)
So I downloaded libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-03_arm.ipk from this thread, and installed it after uninstalling libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-07-2
gpsp still locks up my Z.
tovarish, where is the script that allows this to be used in the zemu frontend?
I have Cresho's entire zemu package with all games working, including Turbografx CD games.
I would like to get Gpsp Gba Emulator working, but I don't want to break my current setup that uses the zemu frontend.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sidmoraes
post Nov 2 2007, 07:02 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 25-July 05
From: Brazil
Member No.: 7,691




QUOTE(Jon_J @ Nov 2 2007, 01:26 PM) *
I figured that gba_bios.bin needed to be placed in /home/zaurus/
I tried it and my Z locked up. (SL-C3100 with Cacko 1.23)
So I downloaded libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-03_arm.ipk from this thread, and installed it after uninstalling libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-07-2
gpsp still locks up my Z.
tovarish, where is the script that allows this to be used in the zemu frontend?
I have Cresho's entire zemu package with all games working, including Turbografx CD games.
I would like to get Gpsp Gba Emulator working, but I don't want to break my current setup that uses the zemu frontend.


This is my script:
# cat /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/zemufeex_gba.sh
#!/bin/bash

cd "$1"
#GPSPKEYS=L,R,Down,Up,Left,Right,Start,Select,B,A
#export GPSPKEYS=105,111,122,119,97,115,109,110,107,106
#export GPSPKEYS=111,112,304,113,9,97,13,32,107,108
#export GPSPKEYS=303,120,274,273,276,275,13,32,306,308
#export GPSPKEYS=97,115,274,273,276,275,13,32,122,120
#Sidao
export GPSPKEYS=115,97,276,275,273,274,13,32,120,122

gpsp "$2"

#VisualBoyAdvance --auto-frameskip --rom-size16 "$2"

exit 0
#

I tried some keys combination, and I like my "joystick" in my zaurus keyborad.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Nov 3 2007, 03:04 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



Jon_J, you need to place the gba_bios.bin in the same directory as the gba rom directory, and launch gpsp from that directory.
about the sdl lib, i have downloaded the v6 : http://piro.sytes.net/~piro/zaurus/SDL/lib...bvdd-06_arm.ipk and it works for gpsp.
This sdl lib breaks the cresho setup for the other emulators : the arrow key are inverted in snes. do not know how to correct this yet (did not tried the GPSPKEY setup above...)
I have done quite the same scrip than above to run gpsp from qt. Note that you need to un-check the "run in magnified screen" box to have the arrow keys not inverted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Nov 3 2007, 06:54 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Here's what I have tried so far:
1. I tried this emulator in pdaxii13 and discovered that I needed to launch it in a console after I navigate to the directory that gpsp and gpsp_bios.bin are located. It launched in a very small size and the controls are backwards.

2. So I tried the same method in Cacko, and my machine froze up.

3. Next, I tried my 2nd console that I have set up for Turbografx CD games. This console has "run in magnified screen" checked. This stopped the game from freezing. I still have to navigate to the directory to launch the emulator. The controls are reversed here. Running this emulator this way is similar to to running psxforall, in that you navigate your file system in a text console, and the emu options are available.
Next, I need to use the script that I use in turbografx, but modify it to make the controls work and make it recognize gba games, which takes me to the last thing I did.

4. I copied sidmoraes script, placed it into /opt/QtPalmtop/bin and launched Zemu. When I selected the game ROM in Zemu's file browser, it looks like it starts to load, but throws me back to the file browser. So I think I need to make a new script that has part of the above script and some of the turbografx script. As I recall, all the different emus in Cresho's package have similar named scripts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sidmoraes
post Nov 3 2007, 10:40 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 25-July 05
From: Brazil
Member No.: 7,691



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Nov 3 2007, 06:54 AM) *
Here's what I have tried so far:
1. I tried this emulator in pdaxii13 and discovered that I needed to launch it in a console after I navigate to the directory that gpsp and gpsp_bios.bin are located. It launched in a very small size and the controls are backwards.

2. So I tried the same method in Cacko, and my machine froze up.

3. Next, I tried my 2nd console that I have set up for Turbografx CD games. This console has "run in magnified screen" checked. This stopped the game from freezing. I still have to navigate to the directory to launch the emulator. The controls are reversed here. Running this emulator this way is similar to to running psxforall, in that you navigate your file system in a text console, and the emu options are available.
Next, I need to use the script that I use in turbografx, but modify it to make the controls work and make it recognize gba games, which takes me to the last thing I did.

4. I copied sidmoraes script, placed it into /opt/QtPalmtop/bin and launched Zemu. When I selected the game ROM in Zemu's file browser, it looks like it starts to load, but throws me back to the file browser. So I think I need to make a new script that has part of the above script and some of the turbografx script. As I recall, all the different emus in Cresho's package have similar named scripts.


First: Take a look at the executables, or, make shure zaurus can execute: chmod +x "/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/zemufeex_gba.sh" and "chmod /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/gpsp", as I can remember, I make this litle trick.

Second: We have a linux machine, you can have diferent versions of libs and load the proper one. Change the script, in the line "gpsp $2", change to 'LD_PRELOAD=<where are the right lib is> gpsp "$2"', like this:
LD_PRELOAD=/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libsdl.so.0.7.2 gpsp "$2"
You can see what file is from what version with "ipkg files <package>"
Remember to copy the files from the least used libs to another place, and use this version only when required.


Give to us your feedback
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Nov 3 2007, 02:07 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I chmod +x /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/zemufeex_gba.sh and gpsp

I tried these 3 libsdl IPKs, none of them have libsdl.so.0.7.2
libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-03_arm.ipk
libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-06_arm.ipk
libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-07-2_arm.ipk

So I tried loading it with
LD_PRELOAD=/opt/QtPalmtop/lib/libsdl.so.0.0.7
All the above IPKs have these same files.
libsdl.so
libsdl.1.2.so.0
libsdl.1.2.so.0.0.5
libsdl.1.2.so.0.0.7

zemu didn't launch the game, it just tried and went back to the file browser.
When I tried launching gpsp in a console, after CD-ing to /opt/QtPalmtop/bin, my Z would just freeze up.
I tried launching it in a console with each of the above SDL libs installed seperately.
The GUI installer won't let you install a different version without un-installing the previous one.

The only method that has worked for me so far, is to open a console that has "run in magnified screen" checked.
This is the only way I can launch gpsp without it freezing up my Zaurus.
This launches gpsp front end where you can change settings, or load a game through a text type file browser.
However, the controls are backwards.
I have a 2nd copy of qkonsole binary renamed to qkonsole2, just for turbografx CD games.
It behaves separately from the original QKonsole and has it's own .desktop file.
I don't remember how the turbografx CD games are handled in this console,
I'll have to look up my instructions for launching TG-CD games, since I have removed them from my hard drive on this Zaurus.
The controls for those games were correct.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sidmoraes
post Nov 3 2007, 06:07 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 25-July 05
From: Brazil
Member No.: 7,691



We need to investigate this case with anther aproach...

Give to me the results of this comand:
ldd /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/gpsp

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 07:35 PM