OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bing Weirdness, Why?
poplav
post May 5 2006, 11:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-January 04
From: Lapeer County, Michigan USA
Member No.: 1,307



Here is the situation, my Z and my windows XP laptop are connected to at various times to a wireless router that has DHCP activated to get to the internet. If I want to telnet either way though I have to walk over to the XP machine and read the IP address. I would like to not need to do that.

So I installed BING on my Z. It sees the router (WRT54G), and the other Z, but not the laptop. Any ideas why?

I can telnet Z to Z no problem. BTW both are 6Ks, both Sharp 1.12, it seems that the variable is the laptop. All machine can see the internet fine.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post May 6 2006, 12:52 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



The IP address of the laptop would not normally change but to make sure it doesn't jsut set it a static IP address, it will always stay the same then.

You probably have Zone Alarm or some other thing going that prevents visibility from your network.

Mind you the main problem is obviously Micro$haft software. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
poplav
post May 6 2006, 01:46 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 1-January 04
From: Lapeer County, Michigan USA
Member No.: 1,307



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ May 6 2006, 12:52 AM)
Mind you the main problem is obviously Micro$haft software. smile.gif

*


I think you are right about that! :-)

However there isn't anything like zone alarm running. I checked it with a different XP laptop though and bing couldn't see that either. Do you know if the windows firewall blocks pings? That might cause it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post May 6 2006, 02:06 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(poplav @ May 6 2006, 10:46 PM)
QUOTE(Mjolinor @ May 6 2006, 12:52 AM)

Mind you the main problem is obviously Micro$haft software. smile.gif

*


I think you are right about that! :-)

However there isn't anything like zone alarm running. I checked it with a different XP laptop though and bing couldn't see that either. Do you know if the windows firewall blocks pings? That might cause it.
*



Don't really know but if it's typical Micro$haft it will stop everything except viruses. smile.gif

Just disable it and try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post May 6 2006, 05:59 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ May 6 2006, 05:06 PM)
QUOTE(poplav @ May 6 2006, 10:46 PM)
QUOTE(Mjolinor @ May 6 2006, 12:52 AM)

Mind you the main problem is obviously Micro$haft software. smile.gif

*


I think you are right about that! :-)

However there isn't anything like zone alarm running. I checked it with a different XP laptop though and bing couldn't see that either. Do you know if the windows firewall blocks pings? That might cause it.
*



Don't really know but if it's typical Micro$haft it will stop everything except viruses. smile.gif

Just disable it and try.
*


QUOTE
By default, the firewall will NOT respond to
any ICMP , incl. PING, from the Internet.
- from http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articles_...s/wxpmdfrw.html
Or from your internal network either, I'll wager.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 03:27 AM