OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to get started? (please help)
benkrembs
post Apr 18 2004, 07:31 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-April 04
Member No.: 2,895



Hey all..

I needed a durable, wifi-ready PDA that ran Linux. $700 later, I got one.. but I'm having trouble getting started!

Are there any guides to getting started, that would apply to the 6000?

For instance, should I just be able to d/l and install most 5600 apps, or could that break something? I did try the SSH client, but it doesn't install.

And how do I go about getting GCC installed? Is it correct that, once I get that installed, I should just be able to compile any programs?

And should I install X as one of the first steps? Or can the existing window manager handle most things?

Sorry for the dumb questions.. but I can't find the answers anywhere..

-Ben
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
boosalis
post Apr 18 2004, 07:49 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 28-January 04
From: clovis CA USA
Member No.: 1,580



All 5600 apps should run. The only thing that you will notice different is that they will come up in QVGA mode, instead of VGA mode. For instance the Terminal app runs just fine but will display at 320x240. This causes a small delay in the start up as the screen must change from VGA to QVGA.

For things to come up in VGA mode it looks like there must be a line explicitly set in the desktop resource file (Qtopia/apps/Applications directory). That is it must have line like :
Display=640x480/144dpi,480x640/144dpi

And of course any pixmaps it uses must be stored in the pics144 subdirectory

As you probable found out, VNC for the 5600 will not work you have to get the VGA version available from SDGSystems.

Hardware things that will no longer work are:

AirCable:
Installing the Aircable bluetooth unit prevents the keyboard from opening.

Serial Cable
From Serial I/O no longer fit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
benkrembs
post Apr 18 2004, 08:35 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-April 04
Member No.: 2,895



Thanks for the reply!

I don't know if I'm a total moron, but I can't install any apps. Here's what I tried..

I downloaded a .ipk file, and moved it into the ..../Install_Files/ directory. I then tried starting up the provided package install tool, but it didn't list anything I could install.

I then tried manually going to the directory, and running 'ipkg install PROGRAM.ipk' -- which gave me the following error: "mkdir: Cannot create dorectory '//home/tmp/ipkg/ssh': Permission denied"

This is so frustrating. Did I break something? Or am I doing something totally wrong?

And finally, how did you guys all get to be pros at this stuff?

sad.gif
Ben
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 18 2004, 09:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



You may need to use 'su' to beccome the superuser (root) which will allow you to write to anywhere.

Just a guess though.


Si

P.S. Practice ;-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
benkrembs
post Apr 18 2004, 11:02 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-April 04
Member No.: 2,895



I see.. well, I finally fixed the problem by rebooting. I don't know why that would work on a linux box.. but oh well.

2 more questions..

What if I try some crazy stuff and royally screw up the device -- Is there a way to get it back to the original state it shipped in?

And finally, what are some good sites to find software for the Zaurus?

-Ben
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ethereal
post Apr 18 2004, 11:24 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-February 04
From: Gainesville, FL
Member No.: 1,914



QUOTE
What if I try some crazy stuff and royally screw up the device -- Is there a way to get it back to the original state it shipped in?
-Ben


OK, this is based on the 5600, so YMMV. If you screw up anything other than:

[list]

[*]"flashing" a new ROM component--kernel (zImage) or read-only filesystem (initrd.img)

[*]manually altering the readonly filesystem by remounting it read-write
[list]

you should be able to restore the device to its "factory fresh" state by performing a FORMAT operation from the update menu, which is entered by hard-resetting the device (button in battery compartment) and then turning it on while holding the OK button.

If there's a ROM image on the CD distributed with the device, you can completely restore the device to its pristine state by reflashing the stock ROM image and reformatting the read-write filesystem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netmonger
post Apr 20 2004, 05:36 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-April 04
From: Webster NY USA
Member No.: 2,724



Im a brand new user of a Zaurus - just got it last night. I had the same issues with installing stuff as well. I tried copying over .ipk files to Install_Files on both the internal flash and my SD card but when I ran the package manager, nothing showed up in the list! I'll try the reboot thing tonight. Also - how do I get to a shell prompt?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Apr 20 2004, 06:35 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE
What if I try some crazy stuff and royally screw up the device -- Is there a way to get it back to the original state it shipped in?


Backups, Backups, Backups. Use the Sharp Supplied tool (Backup Restore) it will get you out of most trouble.

I use it all the time when I am about to install something without the Add/Remove Software app. Don't like the way things turned out, just Restore from you back up!

I hope this helps,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coolass
post Apr 20 2004, 06:38 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,852



Netmonger, you get a shell prompt by installing the terminal app on the cd and after that search Zaurus software index for Konsole which is much nicer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Apr 20 2004, 06:39 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE
Im a brand new user of a Zaurus - just got it last night.  I had the same issues with installing stuff as well.  I tried copying over .ipk files to Install_Files on both the internal flash and my SD card but when I ran the package manager, nothing showed up in the list!  I'll try the reboot thing tonight.  Also - how do I get to a shell prompt?


Congratulations on getting a SL-6000.

I would recommend rather than running the Add/Remove Software app, use the last tab (the Documents Tab) and navigate your way to the IPK you want to install. Then just tap on it. It will start the Add/Remove Software app with your IPK all ready to install. Must faster way of installing packages, and you can put the IPKs whereever you want.

Look on the CD that came with the SL-6000, you should find a terminal program there. Although I have found QKonsole to be a better implementation (scroll bar and multiple sessions).

Have fun!

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Apr 20 2004, 06:42 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



There's another thread about packages not showing up in the installer:

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/index.php?n...iewtopic&t=3403
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netmonger
post Apr 20 2004, 04:29 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-April 04
From: Webster NY USA
Member No.: 2,724



I had alot more time tonight to play, and quickly realized that the files I was attempting to install last night were not .ipk files! :oops: I checked the CD, 'copied the terminal and file-manager application .ipk files over, and they showed right up under the package manager. Its pretty cool typing at a bash prompt on a PDA! My next step is to learn how to set up a development environment. Ive seen some links here and there on this but if anyone else has any pointers to add, let me know! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post Apr 22 2004, 11:37 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



Netmonger,

I presume that you are experienced Unix user. Here is the link to set up gcc and qt development environment:
http://s91215199.onlinehome.us/zaurus/

Please feedback to share your experience.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
palugeek
post Apr 23 2004, 11:14 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 19-February 04
Member No.: 1,918



I have been keeping an eye on the sl-6000 and monitoring this site since October. I really wanted a 6000W but I finally gave up and ordered a 6000L which is due to arrive next week.

I have already received the Socket Communications Bluetooth CF card but now I see conflicting posts; some say it is the preferred card and some say it does not work at all. Before I open the package and can still send it back without a restocking fee, does it work or not?

If it does work, I am sure it will need some software, where can I go to get it. If it doesn't, what should I order?

Thanks for any help I can get.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ethereal
post Apr 24 2004, 06:34 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-February 04
From: Gainesville, FL
Member No.: 1,914



[url=http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=3087&postdays=0&postorder=asc]The last I heard about this, model) would work, the newer Socket cards don't.

However, since the [url=http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=3455&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0]kernel source is now available, this problem may be near a solution.

Tumnus?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 05:04 AM