OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help With C3200 Hdd Restore
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 08:06 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



i have the hard drive partitioned and i have the files i need to copy onto the partitions. i just dont know how to copy the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files from the trisoft site to the partitions.

please help me

matthew mongan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 26 2007, 08:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



---- there's another thread discussing this now, please don't post here ----
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
powertowin
post Apr 18 2007, 12:35 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-April 06
Member No.: 9,670



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 26 2007, 12:53 PM)
---- there's another thread discussing this now, please don't post here ----
*


Where is the thread? I can't find it...

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 18 2007, 09:23 AM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



first mount and make sure you know where the hardrive is with df or mount.
----------------------------------------
mount /dev/hda1 /hdd1
mount /dev/hda2 /hdd2

or

mount /dev/hdc1 /hdd1
mount /dev/hdc2 /hdd2
----------------------------------------


then cd /hdd1 cd /hdd2 and make a directory in each
----------------------------------------
mkdir .sys
----------------------------------------

then
----------------------------------------
cp /mnt/cf/hdd1sys/* /hdd1/.sys
cp /mnt/cf/hdd2sys/* /hdd2/.sys
----------------------------------------
after you are done, cd into the directory and see if you can see the files that each hdd1sys and hdd2sys making sure if its in there. sometimes you may need to play with it cuz its a bit buggy. I'm not sure if it's me or my commands or what. but you will struggle a bit. if you cd int /hdd1 and hdd2, you will find lost and found but make sure you see .sys files(remember directory is invisible.) if you still cant get the files going, su at the start even though your already root.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
powertowin
post Apr 18 2007, 01:08 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-April 06
Member No.: 9,670



Thanks a lot!!! It worked. I will work on a post with detailed instructions for newbies like myself...eheheh
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post Jun 8 2007, 07:30 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



I am trying to do the same thing but cannot figure out from this thread how it is done?

I have just installed pdaXii3 but I want to go back to the SharpROM. Where do you write those lines/commands?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jun 8 2007, 08:33 AM
Post #7





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



load up the files used to flash the pdaxii3 rom. start it up as if you where going to flash it. now go into terminal mode. There is an option in there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post Jun 8 2007, 01:13 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



OK all done! Thanks.

I installed the Trisoft image though, and its a bit different from the one that came with mine. Is the image on the Trisoft site the latest SharpROM version?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jun 9 2007, 07:47 AM
Post #9





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



hmm..no its not. there is another version.

check your settings->system info->last tab.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post Jun 9 2007, 10:00 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



I actually just installed cacko in the end, and love it!! Exactly what I was looking for tbh a perfect balance between features and speed!! smile.gif

Thnaks for your help in this thread Cresho.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jun 9 2007, 03:41 PM
Post #11





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



just an update. look for my cf-refresh ipk here in the forums. it refreshes the cf slot when ever it takes a crap dive. it is very useful. Ill be updating it soon! also, dont overclock obove two steps in the 3200. and one step under. it is stable within this range.

the cf refresh just reinitiates the slots. when you have problems logging in wifi or bluetooth even though its seen by the system, click on the icon it created and it will refresh it. then it all works.


http://webpages.charter.net/cresho/cd-refresh.zip

This post has been edited by Cresho: Jun 9 2007, 03:50 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post Jun 10 2007, 07:57 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



Looks good I will definitely install that thanks Cresho! Also, in another thread someone said you created a patch that changes the 1gb SD card limit on Cacko do you have a link for that to?

Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jun 11 2007, 07:25 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(RLamb @ Jun 10 2007, 10:57 AM)
Looks good I will definitely install that thanks Cresho! Also, in another thread someone said you created a patch that changes the 1gb SD card limit on Cacko do you have a link for that to?

Thanks again.
*

I think this is it:

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?act=A...pe=post&id=2301
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jun 11 2007, 07:42 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



It is in this thread.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18523

The filename is.
zaurus_sd_driver_update_cxxxx_1.0_tetsu_arm.zip

Due to forum bug, it won't download properly.
Right click link and "save as" above filename
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post Jun 11 2007, 02:53 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



The wireless refresh package works perfectly thanks Cresho! And thanks for the linksCapt and Jon, got the patch installed and my SD woes are now over smile.gif

Thanks again guys, not just for this but for all the replies in all the threads... this community really has made my Zaurus purchase a real pleasure cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 01:41 PM