OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Lite Issues
etrigan
post Mar 8 2006, 08:07 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 8,003



after a few months of fooling around with the sharp rom on my 3100 (which seemed slow and bloated to me...) and, then, pdaxrom (which is great, but just too slow to use on a regular basis). i migrated to the cacko-lite 1.23 rom. it has been, in my experience, much faster than any of my other attempts. so much so, that i've been trying to use my 3100 in the original way i envisioned (as a portable companion to my laptops (1 powerbook + 1 thinkpad (dualbooting win.xp and mandriva.linux). however, a few problems have come up;

1) the internet connect wizard doesn't work at all (error msg indicates it is not installed) and the network utility will not allow me to resort my list of network connections.

2) my usb ethernet dongle does not work in cacko (with ALL usb software installed), while it DID work in the original sharp rom.

3) neither the sharp music, nor video player recognizes an external USB drive -- which IS recognized by tKc explorer/editor... guess i "could" test another media player. will try out the photo storage software this evening.

4) back to internet... i've been unable to connect to some wireless networks that require a password (e.g., my daughter's indoor soccer field) -- which is just a belkin router with password protection... noone seemed to know the 'flavor' of security, but, its just a 5-letter password. none of the encryption combinations in the cacko network settings allowed me access... i'll bring my laptop next monday to discover additional information.

5) any luck on running/compiling a decent mail program; e.g., sylpheed, for the zaurus? i like KO/Pi for my calendars -- easily updated by downloading my icals on ical.mac.com as 'resource' files ... but OM/Pi is not so handy (also slow...).

thanks for any thoughts,
i may just load cacko-full over the weekend and see if that resolves some of the issues....

cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Mar 8 2006, 09:06 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(etrigan @ Mar 8 2006, 08:07 AM)
1)  the internet connect wizard doesn't work at all (error msg indicates it is not installed) and the network utility will not allow me to resort my list of network connections.



This is a problem with cacko on the 3100 I think. Mine doesn't display connection info or show connection strength. I'm on cacko full though. There are a few other problems you are likely to encounter with cacko on your 3100. It's too bad no one seems to care much. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 8 2006, 10:44 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I'm sorry to butt in, but I wish someone would explain the "Complete" differences between Cacko 1.23 & Cacko 1.23 lite.
My previous thread went unanswered.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=17665

Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Mar 8 2006, 08:40 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



QUOTE(xamindar @ Mar 8 2006, 12:06 PM)
QUOTE(etrigan @ Mar 8 2006, 08:07 AM)

1)   the internet connect wizard doesn't work at all (error msg indicates it is not installed) and the network utility will not allow me to resort my list of network connections.



This is a problem with cacko on the 3100 I think. Mine doesn't display connection info or show connection strength. I'm on cacko full though. There are a few other problems you are likely to encounter with cacko on your 3100. It's too bad no one seems to care much. sad.gif
*


Is the internet-connect wizard available anywhere? It's not installed on my 860 either.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 8 2006, 09:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Cacko 1.23 full here on C3100. Internet-connect wizard not installed on my machine either.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 9 2006, 02:37 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Mar 9 2006, 03:26 PM)
Cacko 1.23 full here on C3100. Internet-connect wizard not installed on my machine either.
*


The internet wizard is a 100% japanese app, since cacko is 100% english, guess what happened to it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Mar 9 2006, 09:29 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(Meanie @ Mar 9 2006, 02:37 AM)
QUOTE(Jon_J @ Mar 9 2006, 03:26 PM)
Cacko 1.23 full here on C3100. Internet-connect wizard not installed on my machine either.
*


The internet wizard is a 100% japanese app, since cacko is 100% english, guess what happened to it smile.gif
*



I'm wondering if that is why the network app doesn't function properly now. I can still connect with it, I just wish it would tell me how strong the signal was.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etrigan
post Mar 10 2006, 06:28 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 8,003



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Mar 9 2006, 01:26 AM)
Cacko 1.23 full here on C3100. Internet-connect wizard not installed on my machine either.
*


are you able to use a usb ethernet dongle with cacko full?

if so, i will try to load the 'full' version this evening to see if all the other problems disappear...


btw. re: meanie's comments...
its been several months since i've had the original sharp rom running... but, i seem to recall several aspects of their internet wizard working in english... is my swiss-cheese memory acting up; or was their some kind of translation(?) involved. (just curious..)

thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etrigan
post Mar 10 2006, 08:49 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 8,003



QUOTE(etrigan @ Mar 8 2006, 12:07 PM)
[snip]

3) neither the sharp music, nor video player recognizes an external USB drive -- which IS recognized by tKc explorer/editor... guess i "could" test another media player.  will try out the photo storage software this evening.

[snip]
*


like many questions... this one is a real 'doh'...
after a bit of probing, it turns out that you have to manually 'update library' after adding the new usb resource...
after that, everything works fine.

on to the usb issues!
smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sy Ali
post Jun 30 2007, 03:57 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 14-June 06
Member No.: 10,168



QUOTE(etrigan @ Mar 8 2006, 12:07 PM)
1)  the internet connect wizard doesn't work at all (error msg indicates it is not installed) and the network utility will not allow me to resort my list of network connections.


Does anyone know what package needs to be installed to get the original Japanese wizard back?

Is there an English equivalent?


Maybe I don't need the wizard. It seems fairly simple to use the regular program..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 12:00 AM