OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I guess I'm the first on ZUG to have a SL-6000L
v8esprit
post Mar 27 2004, 05:10 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



I got it. Its in my hot little hand. I got lots of information for the list to read and I'll take a ton of high res pics of it. I'll also post all the docs and drivers on the CD. There is a little bomb I'll drop right now before I go off to a party....

I know there are a lot of people who are looking to buy the Sl-6000 with the Wireless and Bluetooth. Well, the manual and the CD that I got is for the SL-6000N/Sl-6000L. There is nothing anyware that mentions the Sl-6000W. So that might shed light on the fact that its really not ready since the docs aren't even ready for it. Some might say that the "W" version is significantly different to justify its own manual and CD, you might be right. But it seems like its not ready for primetime.

I did get a bunch of Quick start guides and a fold out map of what the buttons do and what not. This implies to me that its a consumer product. Probably no serious advertising, but it definately is provided in its box as a product for any Tom, Dick, and Harry.

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Mar 27 2004, 05:47 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Congratulations.

I'd like to see the output of 'cat /proc/cpuinfo' and 'dmesg'.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mpak
post Mar 27 2004, 06:50 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 17-February 04
Member No.: 1,901



Congratulations.
Is anyway of extracting your ROM to try to use it to our 5600's?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Mar 27 2004, 07:02 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



yeah, please post `dmesg`...
Congrats on your purchase!
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dz
post Mar 27 2004, 07:15 PM
Post #5


~


Group: Admin
Posts: 596
Joined: 2-February 04
From: Cape Canaveral, FL
Member No.: 1,667



nicccee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mizzle
post Mar 27 2004, 07:35 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 23-May 03
Member No.: 24



Wow!! Is it for sale already?

mizzle
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Mar 27 2004, 09:58 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



Ok,

Here is an update.

I've taken the digital pics. And I figured that I'd have all the pics and the manuals up tonight but I have been fighting my 6000 for about an hour. The unit comes with a USB cable that fits into the back of the docking station. Well the unit itself also has a very similar opening (Male). For the life of me, I cannot get the cable to go into the unit itself. I also have a connector for my digital camera, Sony DSC-P7. Both of these are female. They both fit into the docking station, but they will not fit into the 6000. I'm all beaten up over this. I would hate to have to RMA it for this reason. To you 5500, 5600 guys, does that cable fit into the unit? I read the manual and it says, "Enables connection to specified SHARP products through the USB. The Zaurus is the host when it is connected." So two things, mine socket is not the right size or deformed or SOMETHING?? or its a proprietary thing and anyone with hopes of connecting a 200GB external HD to it is going to be disappointed. I won't RMA this thing until atleast someone else gets one and can confirm this.

I'm happy to do anything you guys ask, but you must realize this is my first Zaurus. I'm not a Linux expert, but I would say I'm proficient with Linux.

The base software that comes with the unit is really basic. I mean you get the calender and the opera browser, but for the most part that's about it. The software itself, I don't think justifies the $700 price tag. Though there are some apps on the CD that I will install later. I have serious plans to put on the Open Zaurus stuff and really start using this thing as a Linux host, instead of a Sharp PDA. So here comes my questions...

Can I install Open Zaurus without a Flash or SD disk?
You want me to read these files, well, I can't find the terminal program. I can't get to the prompt.
If/when I go to Open Zaurus, can I still sync/transfer files with the PC over the USB cable?
If I go to OpenZaurus, can I still restore the product back to the way it is? (There is a chance with the 6000, that I won't be able to use 5600 files...this thing could be a lot different on the inside.

Everything else about it is great. The screen is very nice. I hope I show this off in the pics that I post.

I read more of the manual and they talk about a pc link by USB. I'm feeling more like my USB jack is screwed.
Speaking of expansion, remember all the talk of the expansion card or something like that. Well, when you read all the docs that are provided...its conveniently disregarded. There is a lid on the bottom of the device with a fingernail handle to open it. Its not easy to open and I was very careful and it needed quite a bit of effort to take it off. Nothing broke...and ever since its been easier to remove. Its clearly there to allow expansion, and it says so. I know that no such expansion card is available for purchase yet, so lets hope it works out that way.

The release notes stated that the unit supported a SD and two Compact Flash devices. Well, there is only one CF slot and the only way you'd get another is with that expansion slot.

I'm gonna start installing the Windows tools...I'll update later.

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Mar 27 2004, 11:16 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



Here is the info you requested
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Mar 28 2004, 12:19 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



If you'd like to take a look at the pics I took, check them out:

http://www.profitsource.us/zaurus/SL6000pics.zip

its a big size file for your hih res enjoyment. If you want me to take other pics, let me know. If you post these on other website or websites of your own, reference me, "Lox Thomson".

-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Mar 28 2004, 03:41 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Thanks v8esprit. The dmesg doesn't show the booting though - I think it's probably because of the limited circular buffer. Could you post us a 'dmesg' right after a reboot if you have the chance please?

I'll answer your questions in the next post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Mar 28 2004, 03:50 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



>Can I install Open Zaurus without a Flash or SD disk?

No. You need a CompactFlash or a SD disk. Besides that, you can't install OpenZaurus anyway, because there isn't a version of OpenZaurus compatible with the SL-6000. The Zaurii are different enough so that each one needs some slight adaptions.

(I hope to get sponsored by the community to port OpenZaurus to the SL-6000, because I won't buy yet another Zaurus for my personal use.)

>If/when I go to Open Zaurus, can I still sync/transfer files with the PC over the USB cable?

Yes.

>If I go to OpenZaurus, can I still restore the product back to the way it is? (There is a chance with the 6000, that I won't be able to use 5600 files...this thing could be a lot different on the inside.

Yes. Not now (because of the aforementioned things), but before you flash OpenZaurus you can do a complete backup of the contents of your SL-6000.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Mar 28 2004, 09:09 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



Looks like a well built PDA. Good to see they've stuck to kernel 2.4.18 at least for compatibility.

With regards to the USB connector, I couldn't see a good shot of the socket on the bottom of the 6000, but it may well be that it isn't intended to link up your PC directly to your 6000. The USB cable doesn't even detach from the 5x00 cradle.

Don't go trying other ROMs. While many ROMs are similar, there are enough subtle differences between all models that mean a ROM must be made for a specific model (The only exception I think being the C760 and C860).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anonuk
post Mar 28 2004, 09:16 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 24-December 03
Member No.: 1,271



I must say, it looks very well built - I am almost tempted to order one, but i think that clamshell is the better option for me so i'll stick with my 860 for the moment :-)

Strange that they didn't put in a jogweel though, i find that extremely useful on the 7x0 and would miss it on a another model.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clivel
post Mar 28 2004, 11:26 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 3-October 03
From: Vancouver, BC
Member No.: 560



QUOTE
Ok,

I've taken the digital pics.  And I figured that I'd have all the pics and the manuals up tonight but I have been fighting my 6000 for about an hour.  The unit comes with a USB cable that fits into the back of the docking station.  Well the unit itself also has a very similar opening (Male).  For the life of me, I cannot get the cable to go into the unit itself.  I also have a connector for my digital camera, Sony DSC-P7.  Both of these are female.  They both fit into the docking station, but they will not fit into the 6000.  I'm all beaten up over this.  I would hate to have to RMA it for this reason.  To you 5500, 5600 guys, does that cable fit into the unit?  I read the manual and it says, "Enables connection to specified SHARP products through the USB. The Zaurus is the host when it is connected."  So two things, mine socket is not the right size or deformed or SOMETHING?? or its a proprietary thing and anyone with hopes of connecting a 200GB external HD to it is going to be disappointed. 


It is hard too see from the pictures that you posted, but perhaps it is a USB Mini-B connector. Take a look at:
http://www.national-tech.com/specs/10um-02103bl.htm where you can see a regular USB plug next to a Mini-B.

Regards,
Clive
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
metal9966
post Mar 28 2004, 11:42 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 11-November 03
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 898



I only have dial up I guess I am out of luck of viewing the pictures? are they on a web page yet?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 04:59 AM