OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transcend 8gb
bam
post May 15 2006, 12:19 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetai...oductCode=83146

so how good of quality is the transcend line? I am considering replacing my 4gb md card for this. Would there be a performance increase over the md?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 17 2006, 12:31 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



there's been lots of discussion about this... seems everyone who's done it has been very pleased with results in both speed and battery life... the only issue is longevity of the flash!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post May 17 2006, 04:31 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



yea I have read the posts dealing with this, but not sure about the quality of transcend...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post May 18 2006, 12:58 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



Why you want to pay higher when
Seagate 8GB CF has proven working fine with Zaurus and cheaper.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post May 18 2006, 12:29 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



because a cf uses less current than the md.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 18 2006, 01:17 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



If your'e worried about quality, why not get a Lexar or Sandisk

http://store.lexar.com/index.cfm?category=...-40-380&bhjs=-1
http://www.lexar.com/digfilm/cf_pro.html
or
http://www.sandisk.com/Products/Item(1160)...tFlash_8GB.aspx
or
http://www.sandisk.com/Products/Item(1856)...tFlash_8GB.aspx
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HoloVector
post May 18 2006, 01:52 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 22-March 06
From: Winnipeg, Canada
Member No.: 9,420



Since SDs are trickier to engineer then CF; I figured I could chime in here with my experience.

I've been using Transcend 45X High Speed SD Cards (128MB and 256MB) for over a year now. First in my Palm Tungsten|T3 then in my Zaurus SL-C1000. Up until 2 days ago (when I got a deal on a PNY 2GB SD); I had also been exclusively using an Transcend 80X High Speed SD Card (1GB) in my Z since I got my Z at the end of March. They make a sturdy product for a reasonable price. These cards have been out in -40C temps in the winters and I haven't lost any data unlike my old Verbatim SD which needed a wipe after a cold winter day.

I hope this helps you out with your decision.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post May 18 2006, 07:01 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



QUOTE(bam @ May 18 2006, 12:29 PM)
because a cf uses less current than the md.
*



Seagate uses CF technnology too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chuckr
post May 24 2006, 03:34 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 30-January 04
From: Silver Spring, MD, USA
Member No.: 1,615



QUOTE(freizugheit @ May 18 2006, 12:58 AM)
Why you want to pay higher when
Seagate 8GB CF has proven working fine with Zaurus and cheaper.
*

I was just wondering about compatiblity .. you mean Seagate's ST68022CF, right?

I can't yet figure out how to get the hard drive off the Zaurus, there are 4 very tiny, very odd "y" headed screws on top of it, how did you handle those?. Because of this, I'm not sure, if the Hitachi has a CF interface, has it? I've ben wondering also, if it comes out soon enough (and i could wait that long) about Seagate's ST612712. It's very slightly smaller, but if the interface was compatible, I might consider unlibering my reliable Dremel tool, and see if I couldn't make it do, it uses about the same power.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th December 2014 - 08:04 AM